We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kingston, Canada
1 review
“hotel experience”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

really enjoyed staying here. excellent service and amenties. staff were very accomodating and helpful. rooms were awesome. we stayed in the executive suite and enjoyed it very much. restaurant had good food and room service. pool area, hot tub was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, General Manager at Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor! We're glad you enjoyed all the features and amenities our hotel has to offer. Hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    144
    99
    32
    28
See reviews for
183
119
24
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

(Short story: This is our third hotel to check out the area due to us moving down here and staying in hotels until our house is done.)

We booked here as it was pet friendly and with a cat and three guinea pigs it was required. When we got here, they said they had no available rooms for pets but knowing we travelled a bit away as well as we had email confirmation they put us in a better room imo. I was quite happy about it!

Lobby was much better and well received than prior location, we found staff front desk to be ok, no real issues and they attended promptly to any and all of our requests accordingly.

Housekeeping staff, friendly and helpful when asked extra requests and I would definitely say accommodating. Rooms are clean and updating. We all found the beds very comfortable and slept as well as anyone can in a hotel room. There is definitely enough space for a family of four, a big cage and a cat.

Pool area was nice, especially outdoor pool area. Only thing I have negative to say in regards to it, is the shared location with the gym members. If there was a class, good luck to using the pool and hot tub. With kids coming home from school looking forward to a swim this was rather daunting. Luckily the pool outdoors the weather is warm to accommodate. I did inquire about if we were able to use the pool and the one instructor was quite snooty saying of course we can but not really when the entire pool is occupied by 20 people doing aquafit and I will be honest if I was in that class as a paying member I would not want a kids jumping in and cannonballing either. I do not understand this shared gym and hotel member as this is the way it was in the other hotel we stayed in.

No real issues at all, we need to be back here next week and I will be looking to come back here for the final stay of hotels. No real special or outstanding customer service out of anyone that stands up but the lovely blonde who was pregnant dealing with the gym as she was very helping and letting me know all the fine things that this town has to offer a new resident.

Room Tip: Try to get the courtside rooms, they were lovely especially if its nice weather forecasted, wish I k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, General Manager at Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. Glad we could be your home until your new home is built! Look forward to seeing you next week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had reservations for 5 nights although we chose not to stay due to the horrendous smells in the rooms.The hotel is very basic and more like a hotel motel.the location is central though in the middle of downtown without any greenery or quiet.I would not recommend this to Henley Rowers as the quality is certainly inferior with very poor inconsiderate management.

Room Tip: Get a recommendation from a good source
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank verne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, General Manager at Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. On behalf of everyone at the hotel, we apologize for not meeting and exceeding your expectations during your stay with us. Please contact me directly adrian.nitso@honhotels.com to discuss your stay further as I would like to investigate the room with odors you speak of. We are conveniently located within walking distance to over 8 restaurants, Fairview Shopping Centre, Costco and much more. Our beautiful courtyard is a perfect quaint retreat full of trees and greenery for our guests to enjoy and its many reasons why guests return over and over again. We hope you would consider us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Catharines hotels

Spring
2 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Booked the hotel through Hotwire and it stated it was a 3 star hotel. This is more of a motel 2 star situation. We are usually OK with 2 or 3 stars as long as it is CLEAN. We found dried up pee stain on the toilet and when we told the supervisor (Brenda) from the front desk, she was unapologetic and stated we got you a different room and there is nothing we can do about it. Very unprofessional.

We purchased Lysol to disinfect the room and felt very uncomfortable. When we told the Supervisor, she only state this is your own option. No offering of anything for their lack of professionalism or cleanliness.

STAY AWAY, with unprofessional supervisor, the hotel will only degrade from here.

On a positive note, the floor staffs were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: You may want to look at the quality of the room before you check-in !!! Very dirty, especially the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpringTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, General Manager at Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor. On behalf of management and staff, we are truly sorry for not meeting and exceeding your expectations during your stay. Currently, we are not sure if you are a registered guest with our hotel since we do not have anyone on staff by the name of Brenda? We strive on our friendly service, and cleanliness is a very important part of our business. Each room is inspected by not only housekeeping supervisors, but also senior management and Manager on Duty. Please contact me directly at adrian.nitso@honhotels.com, as I would love to speak to you directly if you were a guests at our hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel is less than 15 minutes from Niagara Falls. But unlike most Niagara Falls hotels offers free Internet, free parking and is walkable to many many affordable shopping and dining options without the tourist trap over pricing. Hotel staff were not very knowledgable On the hotel product or local area, but thanks to free Internet access was able to answer many of my own questions. Very easy access to QEW highway and Niagara on the Lake as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on second floor and facing indoor pool area to eliminate security concerns of first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpertTravelCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, General Manager at Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review. Glad you've enjoyed all our features and amenities. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed twice in August this year while traveling with my folks to Niagara Falls. Property doesn't look like much from the outside, but the hotel is actually quite good, with a great staff.

From the outside, the hotel looks old and dated, and it does have an older feel to it. As opposed to a high-rise, it has only two floors, with some long hallways. However, the rooms are great, and the amenities are what make this hotel a great choice. Of our two stays, I enjoyed the first more, and a good portion of that had to do with the great staff who was working that weekend. Very friendly and very helpful.

Rooms themselves were great, and quite comfortable. If I remember correctly, each room had a fridge and microwave, as well as a great shower in the bathroom.

The hotel is also home to a small health club, with great facilities including an indoor pool. The club is open to both hotel guests and members. This club in and of itself impressed my parents, and is one of the reasons they wanted to return to this hotel!

Location is great, being just off of the QEW, near a mall, and only 15-20 minutes from Niagara Falls.

I would definitely suggest this hotel for travel in that area, including trips to Niagara Falls!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sxl95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, General Manager at Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. Our regulars and staff are what make this hotel so enjoyable to work at. Our Reflexions Fitness Centre is a huge hit with our hotel guests and members. Thank you and hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a great stay here, room was large and breakfast included in package was very good. They were setting up for Sunday brunch and it looked great also.
The beds were really comfortable and rooms clean. We overlooked a parking lot but didn't matter to us.
Also loved the Timothy's in the Lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, General Manager at Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Catharines
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
444 reviews
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in St. Catharines
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview - Facer
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
#5 of 7 in St. Catharines
118 reviews
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 2 North Service Rd., St. Catharines, Ontario L2N 4G9, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN St Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > St. Catharines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On your St. Catharines-Niagara Falls vacation getaway, visit the Best Western St Catharines hotel for your Niagara Falls vacation or business trip. Centrally located only ten minutes from the Niagara Falls as well as close to area businesses and Niagara-area attractions and wineries. Corporate guests can easily get to area meetings in St. Catharines, Ontario thanks to our hotel's location near General Motors, Welland Canal, Niagara College and Brock University. We make it easy to do business by providing free Wi-Fi Internet access, rooms designed for business guests and meeting rooms with over 4,000 sq. ft. of flexible space and full catering services. Few hotels offer the friendly service our staff provides to every guest and your pets. Families love us because our hotel's location is near Niagara Falls and area attractions, including Old Port Dalhousie, the Shaw Festival, Skylon Tower and Niagara wineries. Our hotel's guests can easily enjoy local tours, golf courses, shopping and museums in St. Catharines, Niagara-on-the-lake and Niagara Falls, Ontario. The BEST WESTERN St. Catharines Hotel and Conference Centre's amenities are the region's best. You can enjoy both an indoor and a seasonal, outdoor pool. Reflexions fitness centre is available on site, and includes daily water aerobics for adults, as well as steam rooms. Enjoy the private courtyard area which is great for kids as they love our mini-golf course. Relax after a long work day at Wrigley's Sports Bar for bite to eat or catch a game on anyone of over 20 flat screen TVs that surround the restaurant. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Best Western, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St. Catharines Hotel St. Catharines
Holiday Inn St Catharines
St. Catharines Holiday Inn
Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing