We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrigley's Field Sports Bar & Grill in the Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I actually didn't stay at this hotel. I was in St Catharines for a tournament and stayed at the Holiday Inn due to Priority Club, but we came to this restaurant for something to eat. The food was very good and the service was even better. Melissa O(waitress) was extremely pleasant, always smiling and was always around if we needed something. This was my second time to this restaurant in the past month and both times my experience was amazing and the food was just as good. We had asked for some suggestions from Melissa O from the menu and everything that she suggested that we ordered was great. Jimmy G came and spoke to us as well and he made us feel like we were amongst good friends and family. I know Melissa O is part time due to her young family, I strongly suggest trying to talk her into coming in for more hours because she was one of the main reasons for us to come back to this restaurant and I'm sure others would agree and do the same as we did. Mind you, the food helped as well..lol. I strongly suggest everybody give this place a try(especially their wings, they actually let us make our sauces which they might put on their menu in the near future) even if your not staying there. I know from now on, everytime I'm in or passing through St Catharine's I will be stopping at Wringley's Field for some wings and a cold Stella. Maybe even a glass of Black Velvet Caramel or one of Jimmy's famous scrammbled brain shots..lol. Melissa O and Jimmy G need a good pat on the back for the way they treat people because its not often you go to a restaurant that almost feels like home. Thanks Melissa O and Jimmy G, you 2 are special people!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, Manager at Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of our Wrigley's Sports Bar. We pride ourselves on superior service and going that extra mile for each and every guest. Wrigley's Sports Bar relocated to the Best Western in November 2011 with an new and improved look and feel with the same great service. We are also known throughout the Niagara Region as the best "Wing" joint around. Look out for our daily specials and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
There are newer reviews for Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 489 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank AMARDEEP G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adrian N, Manager at Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel right off the QEW in St. Catharines on NYE. We went to celebrate and rang in the New Year in Niagara Falls which was only a 15 min. drive from the hotel. Rather than paying the much higher rates right in Niagara Falls on NYE, we decided to try this hotel with more reasonable rates and it worked out great.

We stayed in the Executive wing which had a King size bed and great guest amenities included in the room such as bottled water and granola bars. Our executive room also came with a flat panel TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, a modern coffee maker, work desk and lounge seating. The bathroom amenities were great especially the lightly scented soaps!

We noticed this hotel has an outdoor pool, indoor pool, hot tub and full large fitness centre. There is a sports restaurant and lounge, inviting lobby and elevator.

Our check-in experience was great and was greeted by Kyle. When it rains, it pours. When we arrived, it seemed that 10 other guests did too. Kyle took care of us and paged a colleague for back-up right away so we could all get checked in a timely manner. We spoke with Tami, the Guest Services Manager and she was very friendly and welcoming and really made us feel at home! She has a lot of great energy and her smile is contagious!

We only had a few minutes to get ready before heading out for our NYE dinner with a friend. As we were driving to the Falls, I called the hotel back and happened to speak with Kyle at Front Desk. I asked if we could order a bottle of red wine for our room for when we return from the Falls (as kind of a reward for the designated driver) :) Kyle took care of everything and called me back on my cell phone to confirm all was taken care of. The restaurant suggested the Ostin Merlot which is local Niagara-on-the-Lake VQA. What a great suggestion. We like to support local flavours and this really hit the spot. So, it was nice to return to the room and have our wine and well suited wine glasses waiting for us!

The hotel and room was clean and we had a great sleep. What was nice was that the hotel was very quiet even though the hotel parking lot looked fairly full for NYE. I think there were many families and couples staying at the hotel and not so much the "party crowd" which made our stay that much more comfortable and the right choice for us.

This stay really worked well for us. Happy New Year!

Room Tip: Executive room great for the business traveller or couples.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingSpirit2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, General Manager at Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor. We're glad you had a chance to experience our Executive Wing and it's added amenities. Look forward to seeing you again when visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stay here because it's close to our family in St. Catharines. The service is always excellent, the rooms are clean & comfortable, the staff are friendly and helpful. We had an unscheduled visit to the local hospital this trip and the staff was very kind in accommodating us. An excellent hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, General Manager at Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for your recent feedback and comments on Trip Advisor. We look forward to hosting your hospitality needs in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Unbelievable. Our room overlooked the pool so it had a strong chlorine smell but the worst part was the fact that music from the pool started blaring at 06h00. The only person in the in the pool area was one staff member clearly oblivious to the fact that guests might still be sleeping. I tried calling the front desk 3 times over 10 minutes to complain but no answer. On the 4th try I finally got someone who said he'd check into it and the music was finally turned down but by then I was unable to fall back asleep. Seriously, they need to be informed that loud music blaring for staff's enjoyment at 06h00 might be disturbing to sleeping guests? The room was also very cold even with the heater set at 78. With only two thin sheets as covers we were cold all night. Unfortunately housekeeping had handed out all of their blankets by 8:30 p.m. the night of our stay so others must have been cold also.
I stay at a lot of Best Westerns all over Canada and generally find them reliable for both service and quality. This one was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katesaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, General Manager at Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our property on Tripadvisor. On behalf of management and all of the staff I sincerely apologize that your stay was not to your satisfaction. It is our goal to ensure that each and every guest leaves our property with the ability to say that we met or exceeded their expectations and we clearly failed to achieve that during your visit. If you could please contact me directly at 905-934-8000 or via email at adrian.nitso@honhotels.com to discuss your issues in detail I would more than appreciate that so we can resolve the issue to your satisfaction.
Regards,
Adrian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank JANE L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adrian N, General Manager at Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

There are only two rooms with two beds and a sofa (we want to sit comfortably after a long day of sightseeing). The room was fine, a bit dated but that was the only complaint about the room. Our main problem was the noise. One of the pools was directly beneath our room and the hotel rents it out for loud birthday parties and every morning a group exercises in the pool at 7 a.m. It's impossible to sleep in because of the chatter and (even singing one morning.) One hears every sound in the hallway too. They also rent rooms to soccer teams so weekend nights the noise level is high with slamming doors and loud talking and yelling. If you're a senior citizen and are looking for a quiet place, this isn't it. We were told when we booked the room that breakfast was included. It wasn't but after our complaint about the loud birthday party, the manager gave us comp breakfasts, which we appreciated. The free Internet was down for three days. In fairness to the staff, they tried to improve the situation but at the end of the day, this hotel just wasn't for us. We stayed in Toronto and in Niagara Falls at Marriotts without one single complaint. The Marriott in Toronto was the same price as this hotel and the superiority of it to this was astounding. One really bright note was the breakfast every morning - it was great! I would recommend this place only for the very hard of hearing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, General Manager at Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. On behalf of myself and all of the staff I sincerely apologize that your stay was not to your satisfaction. It is our goal to ensure that each and every guest leaves our property with the ability to say that we met or exceeded their expectations and we clearly failed to achieve that during your visit. We try to accommodate all guests by located teams or large groups on specific floors or hallways in order to avoid noise complaints. Please note that we've created an Executive Floor which is key accessible only for guests staying in that wing. Typically, this floor is reserved for corporate travel and couples. Please email me directly at adrian.nitso@honhotels.com and I would be more than happy to assist you in selecting a room that meets your travel needs. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Catharines
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in St. Catharines
108 reviews
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview - Facer
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
#5 of 7 in St. Catharines
136 reviews
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 2 North Service Rd., St. Catharines, Ontario L2N 4G9, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN St Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > St. Catharines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
Price Range: $106 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On your St. Catharines-Niagara Falls vacation getaway, visit the Best Western St Catharines hotel for your Niagara Falls vacation or business trip. Centrally located only ten minutes from the Niagara Falls as well as close to area businesses and Niagara-area attractions and wineries. Corporate guests can easily get to area meetings in St. Catharines, Ontario thanks to our hotel's location near General Motors, Welland Canal, Niagara College and Brock University. We make it easy to do business by providing free Wi-Fi Internet access, rooms designed for business guests and meeting rooms with over 4,000 sq. ft. of flexible space and full catering services. Few hotels offer the friendly service our staff provides to every guest and your pets. Families love us because our hotel's location is near Niagara Falls and area attractions, including Old Port Dalhousie, the Shaw Festival, Skylon Tower and Niagara wineries. Our hotel's guests can easily enjoy local tours, golf courses, shopping and museums in St. Catharines, Niagara-on-the-lake and Niagara Falls, Ontario. The BEST WESTERN St. Catharines Hotel and Conference Centre's amenities are the region's best. You can enjoy both an indoor and a seasonal, outdoor pool. Reflexions fitness centre is available on site, and includes daily water aerobics for adults, as well as steam rooms. Enjoy the private courtyard area which is great for kids as they love our mini-golf course. Relax after a long work day at Wrigley's Sports Bar for bite to eat or catch a game on anyone of over 20 flat screen TVs that surround the restaurant. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St. Catharines Hotel St. Catharines
Holiday Inn St Catharines
St. Catharines Holiday Inn
Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing