We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time around”
Review of Capri Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capri Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
Certificate of Excellence
Port Perry, Ont
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2nd time around”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was the second time I've stayed here based on tripadvisor's rating. It is always a good buy with the only downside of maybe it's too close to the highway but I find that the river tends to filter out most highway traffic noise. It's perfectly located to reach vineland or niagara wine region, niagara on the lake, take the highways to port colbourne or niagara falls.
You won't find many places that offer free wi-fi, have windows that open and offer a fridge in your room for a budget friendly price.
It is caa approved but don't ask for the member discount because they intentionally keep the prices lower so that everyone can enjoy the same price whether they are a caa member or not.
If you value a hotel that has quiet rooms without sport teams running up and down the hall all night then this is the hotel for you. All rooms have a cinder block soundproofing between them, but the only noise you might get will be from the neighbours bathroom.
Only other drawback would be that I'd like a hot water dispenser for making a cup of tea instead of using a coffee maker or going to tim hortons down the road (there are 2 of them..1 left, 1 right of the hotel). The right one has better parking.
Will be going back next year, same time, same place.

Room Tip: Non smoking rooms face the river. Lower floor windows open all the way, upper floor open only partly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank temora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    149
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
119
184
41
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on July 27 /13 while attending a 50th wedding anniversary party. Check in was easy and the people at the front desk were very nice. The rooms (we had 2 rooms as there were 4 of us) were extremely clean. Even though we faced the parking lot and highway, there was no noise issue whatsoever. There is juice and packaged pastries available in the morning for those that want it. All in all, it was a nice stay and we would book this inn again when staying in St. Catharines .

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank markhamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We only stayed for one night in the middle of a road trip, but we found the Capri Inn to be very comfortable and extremely clean. It was very spacious with 2 queen beds, a nice flat screen TV and a mini fridge. We had a nice view of the river. They have juice and some packaged pastries for breakfast but you have to make coffee in the room (we just went down the road to the Tim Hortons). The front desk attendant (I think she was the owner) was very friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay here again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Capri Inn is a quiet, clean and comfortable oasis off the QEW Highway in St. Catherine's Ontario. Although it is located 12 miles north of Niagara Falls and Niagara-By-The-Lake where we were doing the tourist thing, the hotel is only a short hassle-free drive to either town.
Our room was spacious with a comfortable queen bed, a sofa and living area, extra shelves for storage and a clean bathroom. Located towards the back of the property away from the QEW and along the river, our room was very quiet and relaxing. The only disruption was the noisy shower next door that started up in the morning.
The staff is kind and courteous and housekeeping keeps the place very clean. The Capri Inn also has a nice picnic area with healthy trees shading the area and plenty of tables. It was especially nice in the morning with singing birds and a good cup of coffee.
In short, the Capri Inn offered everything we needed at an affordable price.

Room Tip: Rooms back by the river quieter and away from QEW Highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I attended a family Anniversary Party last weekend in St. Catharine's,Ontario. I stayed at the Capri Inn on the Saturday night and was very satisfied with my room and the amenities. The room had two luxurious queen size beds,a flat screen TV, air conditioning (important when it's been as hot as it has this summer),full bath with lots of towels, coffee maker in the room and an In-Room safe.
They had information about the surrounding area available in the room and at Reception. In the morning on Sunday, they had muffins and pastries available for you to have with your coffee. We(my cousin stayed with me) were very pleased with the accommodation and its' cleanliness. I would recommend this hotel/Inn to anyone - particularly if you are travelling through Ontario. It's right off the highway and close to several points of interest.
I would stay at this hotel again if I had the chance. Really enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at the Capri Inn in late May 2013. We had a wonderful stay. The look of the place and the room was typical motel, but it was immaculately clean. We had a lower floor room overlooking the lake, which was nice. The room as very quiet because of the cinderblock walls. Our room had a queen bed, couch, coffee table, desk, and chair. Very roomy for this type of room. I would highly recommend the Capri. The price was affordable, and the location was fantastic for us. It is within minutes of the wineries and an easy drive to Niagara Falls and Toronto. An unexpected bonus for us was the close proximity of Port Dalhousie, which is a beautiful place to see Lake Ontario.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallstead Pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We just got home from staying at the Capri and it was great, room was nice, very clean, Mary at the front desk was also great, will go back again.
The beds were great slept like we were in our own bed at home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raggety2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Catharines
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in St. Catharines
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview - Facer
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
#5 of 7 in St. Catharines
124 reviews
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Inn

Property: Capri Inn
Address: 391 Ontario St, St. Catharines, Ontario L2R 5L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > St. Catharines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Capri Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Niagara home away from home. Capri Inn, Hotel located in St Catharines, Ontario. Capri Inn will make every effort to make your stay with us pleasant, enjoyable and comfortable. All room 100% non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Capri Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel St. Catharines
Capri Inn St. Catharines, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing