We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Capri Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capri Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
Certificate of Excellence
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
358 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We are moving to St Catharines and booked a 3 day stay prior to getting our house. We booked this place based on the very positive reviews on TripAdvisor. Imagine our surprise when we drove up to a 60's style motel right beside a 6 lane very busy freeway.

However, first impressions can be very deceiving. Check-in was easy and very friendly. The couple taking care of the place could not have been nicer and more accommodating. The room we got faced the river and while you could see traffic on the bridge, you could not hear it. The rooms appear to be completely sound-proof. Instead of thin walls you get concrete cinder blocks. The room has been updated with all amenities including flat.screen tv with cable, in-room safe, easy chair, etc. In summary, a very quiet and comfortable stay at a very reasonable price with exceptionally friendly and helpful hosts

Only small complaint - almost pointless to serve prepackaged muffins in the morning. However, lots of places to have coffee and breakfast nearby.

Will recommend this place to friends

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    140
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
117
177
39
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

this motel is immaculately clean rooms are generous in size and all you would expect from a top hotel receptionist was polite informitive and friendly
only downside is that the inn is well out of st catherines town centre but never the less would not hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaylena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you're looking for somewhere to stay that's close to highway access, this is your hotel. It's not bad, but it's not great. All in all, the customer service is good and it's clean. It's also just down the road from loads of bars and restaurants, actually, the restaurant across the street is an exceptional steak house.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

When We entered our room there was a very distinct odor that did not give us a good first impression. We quickly came to realize the shower curtain had a very strong mildew smell that left us with the impression the washroom had not been cleaned well.

The simple task of replacing the shower curtains on a regular basis would greatly enhance the impression of your guests.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capriinn, Front Office Manager at Capri Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. Your opinion is always appreciated in order to improve our services. I am so sorry to hear that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. This is not the usual standard for our hotel. I have notified housekeeping about this issue so that room preparation is consistently spotless and thorough. We hope that you could give us another chance in the future so that we can show you the true quality of the Capri Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Capri Inn excels in everything! The customer service could not be more gracious, thanks to Mary and Teddy! The rooms are ‘absolutely’ spotless thanks to Estelita. There is not a thread out of place in their beautifully decorated rooms. Everything is immaculate. The toilets and tubs gleam. The price is unbelievably reasonable. What a hidden “gem” in St. Catherines!

Room Tip: Obtain a "River View" if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary7315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here last year, based on the positive Trip Advisor reviews. This year we stayed twice in August, as a midway point to Algonquin Park. My husband and I think this is the perfect modestly priced motel, very clean, quiet and convenient for many travelers with various Canadian destinations.

Teddy and Mary provide the best customer service! I was so surprised when Mary said she remembered that we really liked our room last year, and she saved the SAME room for us this year! Now, that's what makes customers return again and again!

I do believe there is new furniture and carpet this year in our room, so Teddy and Mary do try to keep the place up. Although the motel is at a busy QEW exit, it's surprisingly quiet. Totally recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimsydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Great value. The drive to Niagara Falls is only about 15 minutes (parking at the falls is plentiful - I paid $5 to park all day at a municipal lot). This motel is literally right off the QEW, so it is very easy to get to and depart from. Very quiet location. It was very nice to get away from the commotion of Niagara falls to a more quiet location. Very clean, and it appears that the family owning the motel takes pride in maintaining their facility. I generally do not stay at budget motels, but lodging in the heart of Toronto for a few nights busted my budget. However, I was pleasantly surprised. So, unless you absolutely want a falls-view hotel room, you may want to look outside Niagara Falls and stay at this location.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TGW810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Catharines
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in St. Catharines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview - Facer
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
#5 of 7 in St. Catharines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Inn

Property: Capri Inn
Address: 391 Ontario St, St. Catharines, Ontario L2R 5L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > St. Catharines
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Capri Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Niagara home away from home. Capri Inn, Hotel located in St Catharines, Ontario. Capri Inn will make every effort to make your stay with us pleasant, enjoyable and comfortable. All room 100% non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Capri Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel St. Catharines
Capri Inn St. Catharines, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing