We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best risotto!”
Review of Solo Trattoria

Solo Trattoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best risotto!”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Excellent food. The salad was so fresh. Refined and homy food.
We loved the Risotto so much that the chef came to our table and told us how he does it. Very friendly staff. We had a late lunch at 2.30 PM, and there was no problem at all. One of the best restaurant in Sault Ste Marie, would rank it in the top 3 restaurant in town!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dania K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    61
    17
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Elk Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise in Sault, Ontario”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Having spent most of my life in Sault Ste. Marie, MI, I have never thought of anyplace remotely near it as a fine dining destination. Pleasantly enough, my beliefs about the twin saults were challenged when I had the opportunity to dine with family at Solo Trattoria over the holidays. The area is progressing, however slowly, in creating a higher food culture. Everytime I come home, the supermarkets have stocked more and more organic food items than before. Increasingly, gourmet foods are available there. I have to say that I wish all of that was there when I was growing up.

Walking into Solo Trattoria felt different than walking into any other restaurant in the area. The place exuded a modern and hip vibe. It seemed like a place one would find in a major city, rather than in Sault, Ontario. The food tasted equally wonderful.

This restaurant is something that the area has needed for a very long time.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank autumn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great dinner spot”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Nicely decorated and easy walking distance to downtown hotels. The food is very good but not authentic Italian. The servings are large, including the appitizers. Draught selection is limited. The dining area is small but there are two other dining rooms available for larger groups. The prices are resonable for the food quality and serving size. Expect to spends $100 minimum for two.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OTRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Straightforward food, good service, pleasant ambiance”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Excellent service, unfussy food, which was exactly what we were looking for. We both chose simple pasta dishes, so I don't have a view on the wider menu, but we liked our choices. Surprisingly pleasant venue too -- many of the other places around seemed dated, but Solo looked newly designed and furnished, in a modern, relaxed stye.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very nice local establishment”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Thumbs up! We had a quick trip across the bridge for a look around. We would recommend this place for lunch. Too bad we aren't staying for dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crawford2234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solo Trattoria also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Solo Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing