We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go here ....” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Presto Pizza & Family

Presto Pizza & Family
Ranked #120 of 180 Restaurants in Sault Ste. Marie
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Canadian, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't go here ....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Went to Presto's as I've been there before for breakfast and it was delicious. The parking lot was empty and there was only one other table in the restaurant. That should have been our first sign to get out. The menu had pictures of unappetizing food, I ordered the ribs, and a garden salad. The salad came out with lettuce that had gone bad, lettuce, and cucumbers. The salad dressing was clearly store bought. The salad came out with stale bread and butter too cold to spread.

The ribs were the worst I've ever had, and I'm a man who enjoys ribs. They were burned on the outside, and not cooked on the inside! I took one bight and had to spit it out in fear of being sick. The waitress asked why I haven't touched the ribs and I told her they were awful, she wasn't surprised. She didn't seem surprised and left the table to go speak with the 'cook'.

We had both finished so went to the front to pay and overheard the cook who I figure is the owner or manager and our waitress yelling at each other. The waitress returned to say "the chef said there's nothing wrong with the ribs he had just taken them out of the freezer and you have to pay for them".

I paid without a fuss, will not be returning. Will be calling the algoma health unit.

Someone should contact restaurant nightmares about this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    7
    2
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disgusting and rude...prepare for a stomach ache.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I we're starving and bored, so we decided to go out for dinner. Most of the big restaurants were packed because there was an event in the city at the time. We decided to here with my reccomendation. As a kid, my parents always ordered from here and I loved it. Bad bad bad mistake.

We walked in to a dead restaurant with all of two other tables seated. The waitress decided to put my boyfriend and I right BESIDE a family of 5 even though there was an entire restaurant full of tables to pick from.

From here I noticed that there were a bunch of filthy tables that nobody seemed to care about cleaning. I mean plates stacked and little bits of food all over. The restaurant was dead, why was nobody cleaning up?

From where I was sitting, I noticed a floor radiator caked in food and grease. Fire hazard much? In fact the whole floor was disgusting. The pictures in the menu was less than apetizing.

My boyfriend ordered a bottle of beer and I didn't order anything to drink. I figured if the front was that filthy, one can imagine what the kitchen looks like. His beer was completely flat. It made you sick just smelling it. I told him I wanted to leave, and I would not touch anything from this restaurant.

He brought his beer to the front and told the waitress it was flat. She replied 'no its not I just got it from the fridge'. And asked if he wanted another one. We declined and left.


For the sake of your health, please do not eat here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jennifer_m_parsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Sainte Marie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food : )”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I love going to Presto's, my family and I go there often. The food is delicious and reasonably priced. The staff are always so friendly no matter how busy it gets. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
407 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Reasonable Breakfast!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We often stop on our way through Sault Ste. Marie, for an early morning breakfast! Good coffee, average breakfast. The major problem is the bathrooms are down the basement! Not terribly pleasant! Clean and service staff very pleasant, a hearty breakfast for all tastes and ages!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MASH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible Disaster”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Should have known when pulling into the parking lot at 7pm on a Sunday night that it was not a good sign. However, I am from the area and have been wanting to try some new restaurants I have yet to try... thinking maybe I would find a hidden gem. Well, let me tell you that wasn't the story here.

An Italian lady greeted us when we walked in, which was nice. Other than that, it was horrible. We ordered. Took them about 10 minutes to bring our drinks even though it was just us and one other solo person dining. Then they brought the salad, only we had no cutlery to eat it. She came back about another 10 minutes later and we told her we needed cutlery to eat. Not that I really wanted to eat my salad, since it was supposed to be a "garden salad", which apparently means brown iceberg lettuce, unripened tomatoes and some cucumber. No thanks. The bread was stale.

Dinner came. I had ordered the special - Chicken Parmigiana with Gnocchi. I do not eat red meat. The gnocchi came with meat sauce, which i shrugged off since I have never had it before and thought maybe this is the norm and it was the side dish anyway. Too bad it didn't get any better - the "Parmesan" on the chicken was indeed mozzarella, and the sauce between the cheese and chicken was ANOTHER layer of meat sauce. Chicken parmigiana is supposed to be made with plain tomato sauce, not have hamburger meat in it. I asked the server if it indeed was meat sauce and she said yes. I told her I just wouldn't eat it and would scrape it off.... I didn't end up eating it as I shared some of my moms roasted chicken instead.

She said her chicken and ribs were good, so at least she enjoyed her food. I wasn't offered any substitutions or anything to "make it right".

Waited for our waitress to return (by this time we were the only ones in the restaurant) so we could ask for my dinner to go to bring home to my red-meat-eating husband, but she never came. I had to approach the cash counter where no one was, and wait another 5 minutes for her to appear. She gave me a to-go container and then we had to return to get our bill from her - guess she couldn't be bothered to walk over to our table.

Anyway, I will never be going here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank firepixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Presto Pizza & Family also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Presto Pizza & Family? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing