We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special day. Valentines dinner.”

Gliss Steak & Seafood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $80
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Special day. Valentines dinner.”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a five o'clock reservation and by seven still hadn't had dinner. The appetizers didn't come til almost six, salads by twenty after and by seven i had to leave to catch a play. they stated after we complained that these services often take two and a half to.three hours to.complete. We were charged twenty dollars each so eighty dollars for salad and a small appetizer platter. I would not go to a special dinner there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mzsativa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    46
    11
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I went there recently for my birthday, we went with another couple. I found it a nice quiet place where you cannot overhear other people in the restaurant. The server was there just enough. The FOH manager DAVE was amazing. Made us feel at home and checked on our food to make sure everything was good. Food was amazing!!! The only thing is I found it really bright in the dining room.

Helpful?
Thank Bradbearpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wow awesome atmosphere and food was amazing!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Recently had a staff Christmas party here and was blown away. I never knew the food was so good here and cant wait to return. We had an option for our main courses and everyone seem pleased with each choice. Appetizers were also very tasty. The only complaint would be the overpriced and very strong drinks. I would suggest new drinks or at least holding off the amount of alcohol they put in them.

All in all though the best staff party I have been to and my new favourite restaurant in the Soo

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roadwearytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
“was treated like they knew us.”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

WOW. just had gliss resto bar host our christmas party for the second year in a row.spent about four hours there chatting and having dinner and drinks with the other agents from our office.
to accomodate us the owner let us rearrange the front of the restaurant so we could all fit together.Was very impressed.about 23 of us so we were very imposing.
Kristi did a great job.
will definatley look at Gliss resto bar for any future events or just to stop in for a good quality meal at great prices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie
1 review
“Excellent Experience at Gliss for Staff Christmas Party”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was the second year in a row that our Office had our Christmas Party at Gliss. It was absolutely wonderful. I cannot say enough about the Service, the Food and the Ambiance. We enjoyed four appetizers including beef tartletts, thai chicken bites, bruschetta and coconut shrimp. Everything came out hot and everyone enjoyed them. We also had a variety of the entrees including prime rib, stuffed chicken breast, blueberry salmon, ribs, and butternut squash ravioli. Dessert was amazing as well, cannot believe the large portion sizes everyone received, the entrees were accompanied by either garden or ceasar salads. Wine and cocktails were great as well. Kudos to Kristi and Derek the owner!!! Your staff is amazing, especially Dave!!! A wonderful evening had by all. We will be back for Year Three next year.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MistySSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gliss Steak & Seafood also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Gliss Steak & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing