We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the BEST place to eat! AMAZING!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gliss Steak & Seafood

Gliss Steak & Seafood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $75
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“This is the BEST place to eat! AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We went to Gliss for a Christmas Party. The food was amazing and the service was great the ambiance was impeciable! I had Rib eye with shrimp & shitake....my mouth waters just talking about it, it was so good. The portions HUGE and the food full of flavor! The staff friendly and very attentive! Even though the were packed we felt like we were the only table there! This is the BEST restaurant in SSM.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LSJNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    42
    9
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“meh so so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

the food was great the services was so so. My sever kylee was more intrested in conversation with other staff then our table. On more then one occasion i had to wave her down or signal her in our direction. I feel we were not her priority and for the ammount of money we spent we should have been. We did enjoy the food we will be back but hopefully we will have another server.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“how much does it cost to wash a fork?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is the third visit to this establishment for dinner. The food is never an issue, always beautifully presented and portioned perfectly for my liking, with a good selection to choose from. The chef is obviously very talented. I must however, comment on the service. In each case the waitress was friendly and attentive but should have paid more attention to the cleanliness of glasses and utensils for dirt and smudges. It's easy to have something missed during the rinse cycle of the dishwasher, and that happens to all of us, but in the better restaurants, soiled cutlery or glasses never make it to the table. As well, if the prices reflect a higher quality restaurant then the patrons should not be asked to "keep their forks" for the next course. Surely you can supply a clean fork with each course. Overall the restaurant is well worth visiting. With a little more attention to the little things, this restaurant has the potential to be in the top 3 best places to eat in the area. I hope the owner sees this review.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vonnie3314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Fish is excellent with interesting condiments. Value is good for lunch.
We found dinner to be expensive. We are not interested in huge servings but would like more attention to variety and presentation at those prices.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NormaKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't judge but the exterior”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great food. HUGE portions. We had beef tartlettes and a cheese appetizer. Both were very good and lotsto share between 4 people. Meals included a starter salad which was very generous. I had the local whitefish. It was pan fried and perfectly cooked. It was served with grilled veggies and choice of starch. I had the risotto cakes. Everyone else had steak, also perfectly cooked. They cut their own beef in house. attentive and friendly service. I would definitely go back. The restaurant is located in a nondescript building but don'tbe put off by this.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gliss Steak & Seafood also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Gliss Steak & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing