We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its OK”

Giovanni's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Its OK”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Was there 2 times this week (not by choice), and the food was considered "average" at best. It was overly expensive, they charge for each pop refill (it costs them pennies, so this is ridiculous as far as I am concerned), ordered the ravioli as a side for $2 extra, and I got 3 ravioli... quality of the food was average, the service sucked, so have go give it a thumbs down. This restaurant is way over priced for what you get. I am surprised how many people actually like this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SaultDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    132
    53
    31
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“our supper in the Sault”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

wonderful wonderful wonderful truly Italian experience. For the pasta and the sauce was heavenly a must visit place

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaëtane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow-brutal”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I'm a chef/culinary instructor- the food is brutal. I suspect that all food in the Sault is terrible since this place is well liked by the locals. $100 for 2 people and it was laughable.Thankfully I have a good sense of humour .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dailleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Supper”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The salad and bread were delicious but I was a little disappointed in the lasagna. My husband had spaghetti and meatballs which he enjoyed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Have had several meals here. Always good food,pastas great sauce, ribs great,veal Roma is excellent . Service very good.always pleasant staff. Nice atmosphere .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Restaurant also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Giovanni's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing