We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definitely met our expecations”
Review of Glenview Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glenview Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our first experience in a camper cabin. Very clean facilities and great service. Camper cabin was just as described on their website and very affordable. We would definitely stop there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Glenview Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 79 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Glenview cottages are a great place to stay while visiting Sault Ste. Marie. We stayed with our children in a 2-bedroom cottage that was fully equipped with everything we needed. The staff was very knowledgeable and polite and the accommodations were impressively clean. I would absolutely recommend these cottages to anyone travelling the area.

Room Tip: Don't miss the Agawa Canyon Train Tour!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a 3-day weekend at Glenview Cottages, and have nothing but great things to say about it. It's only a short drive from Sault Ste. Marie (about 8 - 10 minutes from downtown), the cottage was really nice, and the scenery is beautiful.

The cottage was small, but not too small. It was very comfortable and cozy, and was perfect for a fun (and romantic) getaway. It had a comfortable queen-sized bed, rustic/country style furniture, a stove, refrigerator, dishes and utensils, and a fireplace, and a picnic table outside.

Canadians are quite friendly and easy going, and the staff there is no exception. They were also very helpful and knowledgeable of the area, and suggested plenty of great things to do and see in the area (at our request). They brought clean towels and restocked the coffee and tea every day.

There's a pond right behind the cottages with stunning views of the hills and a few hiking trails through the woods. They have a laundry facility, an outdoor pool, and a sauna.

The cottages are right on Highway 17/Great Northern Road, which is part of the Trans-Canada highway, so there is some traffic noise during the day, but it's not particularly noticeable and you can't hear it from inside the cottages.

A few things to note...

For safety reasons, you can only burn manufactured/compressed logs in the fireplace. In the summer, they can be hard to find, so you may want to get one before your vacation so you'll be prepared.

If you plan on hiking the trails behind the cottages, or any trails in the summer months really, bring mosquito repellant. We both had citronella bracelets and they weren't enough - ended up buying a can of DEET spray at Walmart.

All in all, I had a great time and would stay at Glenview again in the future.

Room Tip: West end of the park has less road noise. Some of the one-bedroom cottages have fireplaces but not a...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillDaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly P, Manager at Glenview Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Ten of our one bedroom units have fireplaces. Due to insurance regulations we can only allow the manufactured logs to be burnt. In the winter we have these available to guests, usually they are provided in the nightly rate. We don't charge extra for the fireplace units in the summer (therefore don't supply the logs). I definitely agree with you that bug repellent is a must here in the early summer season if you want to be comfortable outside!
Our convenient location directly on the TransCanada Highway does mean a lot of traffic goes by (mostly during the daytime). We've done a lot to ensure that does not disturb guests and have found that high quality windows in the cottages have really helped to reduce the outside noise and provide that quiet comfort that folks seem to enjoy. Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I and my wife's sister and husband shared a two bedroom cabin. It was clean, comfortable, and quiet. I went for a brisk swim in the pool--also clean--and the others enjoyed a walk. Great value for the price.

Room Tip: We were given a cabin farther back from the highway--I'd recommend that.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiamandOonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Recently returned from Glenview. I stayed in a one-bedroom cottage along with my husband and our 20 month old daughter. Having stayed in a few Northern Ontario hotels I can say that this place is great value.

It's not upscale at all but like the title says its cute, cozy and convenient. Nice and clean. A few bugs here and there but its Northern Ontario so that's to be expected.  The cottages have most of the amenities you would need. Dishes, linens, appliances and so forth. Bed was decent. Bathroom was clean if a little dingy. Cottage had white painted panel walls and was carpeted throughout.

Beefs?  Only a 4 cup coffee maker with one of those round packets of hotel coffee. Come on guys!  You have a full kitchen, I'm buying groceries anyway so at least provide a regular coffee maker!

Also, the couch is absolutely the most uncomfortable couch I've ever sat on. Seriously, no exaggeration. Worst couch ever.

The staff was very helpful over the phone although once we arrived they were moderately gracious.

The grounds were lovely and really practical for us. Nice walking trail, big open courtyard that my daughter could run in without having to hold hands the whole time. Very nice. Unfortunately it was a bit cold to try out the pool.

One major bonus. It's literally 10 minutes out of the Sault so hitting up Tim Horton's and getting groceries is a breeze.

All in all I would go back.  Great value for most everything you need though It it is hard to ignore how little effort and money it would take to turn these little cottages into something spectacular.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeeSchneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly P, Manager at Glenview Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for your review. Our full kitchens, outdoor amenities, convenient location and value are some of the best features of our motel and we are happy you enjoyed them.

Well I'm not aware of another complaint about the size of our coffee makers, we have attempted to get larger ones in the past (mainly for the two bedroom units), however we cannot find a supplier that provides the pre-packaged coffee in the larger size. It had been a few years since I tried and your review prompted us to search again, again with no success. So we stick to the smaller size because that's what we are able to provide pre-package coffee/filters for. While you say you wouldn't mind grocery-shopping for coffee grounds, most of our guests prefer to have all the coffee supplies provided. And if they want more coffee, they just make another pot. Housekeeping will provide extra coffee at no additional fee.
The staff were saddened you found them to be only "moderately gracious", and I'm not even sure what that means, so I have nothing to say on that regard.
Glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to play outside safely with your young child. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in one of the cottages three nights in mid-June. The cabin was very clean, had a separate bedrooom and living room-kitchen (full sized refrigerator and a basic set of dishes and implements) We were able to make simple meals here and save money. Though only 5-10 minutes by car from strip malls and supermarkets, and less than 15 minutes from the center of town, this is a lovely setting on the edge of town. No neon lights or shops across the road -- mostly woods. It is just off the Trans-Canada highway, but has its own pond (wildflowers and mosquitos) and nature trails (an hour walk - map available in the office). There were few guests during our mid-week stay, so it was very quiet. We enjoyed getting up at 2:30 AM and walking to an area away from floodlights and seeing the brilliant stars with minimal light pollution. A great jumping off point for day hikes or visits to the area to the north -
Pancake Bay Provincial Park and the southern end of Lake Superior Provincial Park.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtaba285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here twice, both at the beginning and end of our driving tour. The cabins are light wood in the interior, very sunny , and airy. Everything is spotlessly clean. The fridge and stove, although not new, look brand new due to their cleanliness. Each cabin is separate from their neighbour with its own picnic table. We ate our meals out on our private little sitting area. There are nice walking paths on the property plus a pool which is a very good size. There are loads of services not usually offerred by cabin accommodation including: dog sitting, daily maid service, book library and exchange, games to borrow, etc. The staff is very helpful. The first time we checked in we noticed that the screen in the bedroom was not airtight .We reported this at 9:00 in the evening - the next morning bright and early it was repaired. The only minor complaint is that the kitchen supplies are limited. For example, there is not one large bowl , no drain rack, and no cutlery tray . It is only ten minutes to the city which has a very good grocery. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toronto_CanadaSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kpow33, Manager at Glenview Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the clean cottages. I will pass on your kind words to the housekeeping staff, who are all long-term staff who really take pride in the work they do. Just so you know for a future stay, we do have some extra kitchen supplies available for guests if they need them such as cookie sheets, large mixing bowls, broiler pans, wine glasses, etc. If there is something you'd like, just ask at the Front Desk - we probably have it! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
4.9 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
598 reviews
6.7 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
500 reviews
4.6 mi away
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suite...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
447 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
293 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenview Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Cottages

Address: 2611 Great Northern Rd, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 5K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: $82 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glenview Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Great Northern Road (Highway 17 North) 15 minutes from downtown Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario (North end of city). Cottage accommodations for nightly, weekly or extended stay rentals. Glenview's 30 one and two bedroom cottages have all the amenities of a quality chain motel - plus all feature fully equipped kitchens (fridge, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, basic utensils), park at your door, wireless internet access, enjoy our outdoor pool (summer) and indoor sauna. Outdoor activities including hiking trails, volleyball, horseshoes. Pets welcome in some cottages, please advise upon booking, fees apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Glenview Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenview Cottages Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing