We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sault ste Marie Boardwalk

Sault ste Marie Boardwalk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The boardwalk is very nice (not very long) and it has a great view of the Canadian side of the locks.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Josephjody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    102
    32
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Boardwalk experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great place to walk at any time. Beautifull view of the river and the ships travelling upward and downward bound. Easily accessable and walk as far as you like. Friendly people and there's always fishermen trying their luck. Nice place to relax or ease daily stress. Walk it as much as I can. Even in the rain just sitting there looking out over the water is very calming. Excellent way to spend some time, with or without company.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Majsto66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Easy walking boardwalk along the waterfront”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The boardwalk runs along the waterfront on the Candian side, and is easily accessible along various points. I parked at the city park near the library. After being couped up in the car, both my dog and I were looking forward to getting out.

You can see barges as well as the International Bridge, and there are plenty of places for great pictures. The boardwalk is basically just a wide wooden walkway. There's no fee, and we stayed longer than we thought we would. Actually got some food take-out, and brought it back to eat in the park, with nice water views.

Relaxing, and thank you Sault Ste. Marie for making this area so accessible! We tried to access the waterfront on the American side, but all those parks prohibit dogs and the waterfront is set up for tourism. The Canadian boardwalk is the way to go, if you want to feel like a visitor rather than a tourist.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssm
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Boardwalk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great evening stroll or morning walk..Ducks in the water and you can walk to the locks and watch the boats going through.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank olsense1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Boardwalk happiness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This attraction is such a pleasant way to unwind from a busy day, power walk or just enjoy the sights. There is no commercial cluttering of the site and you can go for as long or as short as you like. Plenty of spots to sit and relax as well as continuing over to Whitefish Island to get a close up of the rapids. Very clean and if you should desire a cold drink, the outside bar of the Delta is available.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sault ste Marie Boardwalk also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Sault ste Marie Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing