We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable hi hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Sault Ste Marie ON
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night with a family and had no regrets on booking it.

Friendly staff, clean rooms, free wi-fi and breakfast - what else do you need?!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kot79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

879 - 885 of 942 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were on a trip to Schrieber and needed a hotel along the way. We were quite pleased with the cleanliness and comfort of the room we stayed in. Enjoyed it so much we rebooted for the trip home.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Director of Sales at Super 8 Sault Ste Marie ON, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear David: Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. We were glad to hear that you were happy with the cleanliness and comfort of your room and so much so that you re-booked with us for your return trip home. No greater compliment than this. We do hope you come and stay with us again during your next trip thru Sault Ste. Marie. Hope you have a great day and a good summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I was visiting this hotel very often within the last years, never having a bad experience. But this time was unsatisfactory. The staff was just doing business, no friendly word, no personal interest. But even worse: the room was dirty, the bath-room not clean at all. The breakfast on the next morning was quite well, even though it was very noisy.
This time the stay was not worth the moeny.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gspla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Good Morning,

Thanks a million for writing us a review. As we approach our busy season it seems our staff feel the heat when it comes to being consistent with getting their work done while still providing an over the top guest experience. I thank-you for bringing this to my attention, and assure you it will be addressed. We do consistently try to arrange staff gatherings outside of work to allow staff to relax and let loose, it's definitely time for an outting! I am extremely suprised to hear of a room that is not 110% satisfactory when it comes to cleanliness. We have recently appointed a Quality Assurance Rep ontop of our regular inspectors. This means our rooms our cleaned by a Housekeeper, stripped and lightly inspected by our Quality Assurance Rep checking for damage, or areas that required maintenance and providing an extra set of eyes, and finally inspected by our Head Housekeeper. Our team here are extremely sorry if your room was not 110%. We wish you would have mentioned it to our Guest Services Representative and we would have done what was needed to rectify the situation immediately. We have appreciated working with you in the past and hope to continue building our relationship in the future. Thank-you very much for your review, we will use it to continually improve our service and value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

8th annual stay at this location and 1st time not 110% happy. Room itself was great, recently redone, but being near lobby and outside exit, it was NOISY! (Even last room on hall by rear door was not close to being this bad!!!) Will stay here again but be more specific in room location request.
Most of the front desk staff were great, but one lady who worked the evening/night shift could use a refresher in customer service. I returned around midnight one night after spending the evening with local friends to discover that the housekeeper had neglected to leave me any coffee packets. Went to the front desk to request a couple and was grudgingly provided with one. (Similar situation had happened in previous years and was always CHEERFULLY given 2 or 3 packets.)
Location is very convenient. Grocery store, restaurants, Cambrian Mall, Wal-Mart are all within a few blocks. Downtown shopping district, Station Mall, and Algoma Tour Train are only a 5 minute drive.

Room Tip: middle to rear of property on south side are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgdrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Good Morning!

I hope your summer is going great so far. I have posted your review on our information board for our Guest Service Agents to review. We really appreciate your feedback as we want to continue providing excellent value for your dollar. Our team strives to provide a "Run of the House" atmosphere. This means once you pay your initial bill, everything we have to offer is complimentary and included. As you know, there has been many changes in the last year or so, and we will continue to build and grow. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review. Noise issues is one of the hardest issues to control within the hotel, as we have minimal control. Our agents try extremely hard to assign rooms in a controlled manor, taking into account stairwells, ice machines, and group locations. I am sorry about the noise near the entrance, and if you would like to give me a call I will ensure to put a note under your name in our system ensuring you are in a specific area that seems to be the most quite every time you come. Have a great start to your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Our family was very pleased with the room, the large size, very comfortable beds and continental breakfast. All were very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinoNorthernAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Director of Sales at Super 8 Sault Ste Marie ON, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thanks for the great review. We're glad that you found the beds to be comfortable. Sounds like everything was good with your stay. We hope that you come back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We usually stay right downtown but thought we'd give the super 8 a try as they are one of only a few pet-friendly hotels in SSM. Front desk clerk was friendly and helpful and we appreciated the large room with mini-fridge and table/chairs in the corner. Breakfast was standard for a chain hotel but was more than adequate. My only "criticism" is the hallway carpet on the main floor. While rooms have been upgraded and are quite pleasant, the carpet in the hall was very worn and dirty-looking and it's a glaring contrast.
Despite this, I would still stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenmountaingirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSuper8SSM, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste Marie ON, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Good Morning,
Hope you are seeing sun this morning were you are! We have been getting much needed rain here in the Sault, but the fire ban has finally been lifted. The team here at Super 8 Sault wanted to thank-you for taking the time to write a review of our property. It is interesting you commented on the hallway carpet as we have just recently been focusing our shampoo efforts on this area, which seems to pull up some oil marks which last for several days each time we shampoo the carpet. Our maintenance department will continue to work at it, and hopefully we can eliminate the common oil stains that seem to build up over time. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and really hope to work with you again in the near future! Have an awsome summer, Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

stayed at this hotel several times during trips across the country. The last time here my wife and I booked the king suite with the fireplace and jacuzzi tub. Very nice and spacious room. The bed was very comfortable and the room very quiet. It was a pleasant surprise after a long day of driving!!!! Will make a point of staying there again when I travel through the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinjspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSuper8SSM, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste Marie ON, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Good Morning!

We are extremely excited to have read your review about one of our suites. This room is used mainly for special occasions or upgrades, however it makes for an extremely affordable getaway experience for the every day traveler. Thanks a million for writing the review, hope you are enjoying your summer and we would love to work with you again in the future. Have a safe and happy summer season from the team at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
774 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#10 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
146 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
288 reviews
1.7 mi away
Delta Hotels Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels Sault Ste. Marie Wa...
#3 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Sault Ste Marie ON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Sault Ste Marie ON

Address: 184 Great Northern Rd | Hwy 17 North, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#3 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: $71 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Sault Ste Marie ON 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Sault Ste Marie ON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Super Eight Sault Ste. Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Super Eight
Sault Ste. Marie Super 8
Super 8 Sault Ste Marie ON Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing