We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is horrible.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Oakville, Canada
1 review
“This hotel is horrible.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just checked in to this place. booked it on line and it included was supposed to have a fridge in the room. No fridge when asked the front desk the answer was sorry all rooms with fridges are all ready taken. Could not care less.

The price included internet. Yes but not working in the room and it each page times out. Better at the hallway only have to reload 3 to 5 times. It has taken me 35 minutes so far to post this sitting out in the hallway...

Room Tip: Do not book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexSiamalekas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    32
    27
    64
    98
See reviews for
71
62
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
GORE BAY
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Not clean, in need of ronovations, no heat in room. The beds are sagging the carpet dirty, the stairs not good, to steep, garbage left piled in sveral spots outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank LYNN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SQUAMISH
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

no restaurants in area of hotel's location
doors slamming, loud voices
location and parking lot felt dodgy and unsafe
old, outdated furnishings, bathroom
windows painted shut
whole hotel run down

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank KK3_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUSKEGON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

The bathrooms looked clean but the building was such a mess outside and inside that it made us question everything and we cancelled a scheduled second night

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank EDWARD C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAYUGA
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

our room needed a really good cleaning. bathroom door would not close. the one chair had so many stains on it that we would not even put our bags on it. front entrance walking near the restrooms smelled. second night returning to the hotel the big sign at the front was not lighted so it was hard to see the entrance to the parking lot

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank LORRAINE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAULT STE. MARIE
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights & found it most unsuitable for persons who are visiting Sault on work. Wireless internet reception very poor quality thru out duration of stay, no fridge in room & had a flushing problem in the toilet

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank ARSHAD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

At $88, far too expensive for the poor quality.
Being in the airline industry, I've seen my fair share of hotels over the years, and this was by far the worst I've seen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
2.2 mi away
Pine Grove Motel
Pine Grove Motel
#20 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#15 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON
Address: 503 Trunk Rd, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 3T1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Howard Johnson Sault Ste Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing