We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Size for events”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Essar Centre

Essar Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Size for events”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Good seats. Not really a bad seat in the house. Can see everything where ever you sit. Clean, seemed well maintained.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent facility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I've been to the Essar Centre for several hockey games, concerts, and trade shows. In all cases it makes a great venue, with a simple layout and a friendly staff. This size of venue means that you always have a good view of the action and the seating is quite good. I have also attended games with friends in the handicapped section and the venue is very accessible in this regard. Facilities are clean and organized to the point where it still feels like brand new building. Box seats are also nice, with a large box available for renting and makes a great party idea. The downtown location of the Essar Centre is also good, with restaurants for pregames meals, bars for post game celebrations, and the mall nearby. The biggest complaint I have is parking, which the rink does not have enough of, so walking a block or two to your car is not uncommon.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Spencer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“hockey games”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Watched the Soo Greyhounds play hockey there . Being new in town, ticket office ladies were very helpful getting me good seats for both games. Ushers and concession staff very nice and friendly. Center was clean as were restrooms. Parking was free at center,but get there early , or you will have to park acroos the street at the Mall, not far and also free. Seating was generous with ample legroom and I'm 6'2".

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank buff52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, ON
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“New Rink, Ol' School Feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I've been to every rink in the OHL and Essar ranks right up there among the best. It's a new rink, so it has all the amenities you need, but it has an old school feel to it with the long-time fans. Not a bad seat in the place, the fans are all over you, and all over the players. If you like entertaining hockey games, you'll want to check out a game!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank OHLTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“nice venue for sport events and concerts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

nice new arena, well suited fro hockey etc
fairly good parking with additional parking near by
not so great on the foo part, i recommend dinner somewhere else

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank cherylanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essar Centre also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Essar Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing