We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but dated”
Review of Bel Air Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bel Air Motel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Clean but dated”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very friendly welcome upon arrival and very helpful throughout our brief, stay.

Ample parking, free wifi and clean rooms but, as many other reviewers have said, it is time for some refurbishment. The carpets were a little worn and the decor is quite old.

Having said that, the motel is very convenient, decent value and well-managed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawlishRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    13
    6
    14
See reviews for
19
23
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This motel is very, very dated and is in dire need of repair, maintenance and upgrades. The accommodation was pricey considering the poor condition. The parking lot had cigarette butts everywhere yet there were only 2 other guests in the motel. The air conditioner in the office sounded like it was on it's last legs and could explode any minute. The mattresses are well worn and in need of replacement.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The room had no hair dryer and no clock. The socket on the light fell out when I turned it on. No stopper in the drain in the bathroom. Blanket on bed was scratchy and ratty looking. Pricked my foot on tacks from a loose piece of fabric on the floor under the couch. Water in shower went cold on me 3 times in 10 minutes. Opened up a towel to dry off and there was a big black mark on it. Disgusting! Only thing management did was "let me know if the water happens again", tells me to turn the light on from the wall switch instead, and pushes the tacky piece of fabric back under the couch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Hotwire said that this hotel is similar to many "good" hotels. Not the case! This is your average, low budget cheap hotel. Broken furniture, holes in the walls, sagging matresses, funny odor as soon as you walk in to the lobby. If you are looking for a cheap place to stay, and don't really care where, this is ok. However, for $15 more per nt. you can stay at a real hotel. After looking at a couple of rooms, we decided to leave. I spent over 2 hrs on the phone with hotwire when I found out that this was the hotel that was chosen for me and eventually was given a refund. we decided to do the safe thing and went and checked in at the Quality Inn.
Oh, they have free in room movies. AKA, VHS porn tapes that you borrow from the front desk.

Room Tip: Keep driving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a nice place for overnight stay. The price is also reasonable and is on right on the business highway.motel is very close to the restaurent walking distance. The rooms are nice and clean and very quite at night. We would recommend everyone.

Room Tip: nice place for overnight stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardik p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This motel is dirty, old, and you have an instant uncomfortable feeling due to the conditions of this place. Do not stay here. This motel is listed on Hotwire as a 2 star. It is listed with the likes of the Comfort Inn and Holiday inn express. These are 5 stars in comparison to this dump.
We walked in and left. We lost our $80 charge from Hotwire, it was that bad. Also, Hotwire charged more than what you could book it for at the desk walking in off the street.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,
Tripadvisor.,

I wrote the review on 11 sept for Bel-air motel unfortunately it was attached to Trunk road motel. My review title was best hotel to stay by khaled Y . So please attached it to Bel-air motel, Sault ste marie.

Thanking you,

Khaled.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khaled Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
402 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
277 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
470 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
277 reviews
1.3 mi away
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suite...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Motel

Property: Bel Air Motel
Address: 398 Pim St, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 2V1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bel Air Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 times city beautification award winner and CAA/AAA approved We have Large and spacious 31 Rooms, each having a High Speed Internet, Freeze, inroom coffee maker, in room Free movies(Old, New,Kids and Adults), Close to Restaurents, Shopping Malls and all other attractions. Some other features includeFree computer access in office for guests.Free in room moviesCoin laundry for the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bel Air Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Motel Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing