We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour Train”

Agawa Canyon Tour Train
Ranked #1 of 7 Tours in Sault Ste. Marie
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
Attraction details
Ontario
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tour Train”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Took the kids yrs ago up to the canyon and back. Great way to see this area. It's an all day train ride with an hr and a half stop in the canyon.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank thebossOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    191
    112
    47
    32
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
416 reviews
244 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great Train Ride”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My son and I had been wanting to ride the train for a long time.
It is an all day attraction.
The Train takes you on a scenic journey through the forests of Northern Canada.
Then it drops you off at the Canyon park. You have 1 1/2 hours to stroll through the park and admire the beauty of two waterfalls or the lookout.
Then it is a four hour train ride back to Sault Ste. Marie.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank CaseyJones6325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Agawa Canyon Tour”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We went on October 2nd. We picked the best day to go. The weather was excellent. The fall colors were just extradinary. We couldn't of timed it any better. We had did this trip to Agawa Canyon twice before, but not at this time of the year and like maybe 25-30 years ago. The train has been up dated and the ride was really enjoyable. You can eat almost the whole time your on the train. Also can eat at the Canyon. The 2 water falls in the canyon were worth walking back to them. About 2 hours in the canyon before returning back to Sault Saint Marie. They do tell you what you are seeing and what to look for on the trip. They have people come from allover to take the train during the fall color season. They do have a winter trip but that is a special trip, it's not ran every day. The canyon trip I believe runs until about Oct. 20th for the season..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank queenie067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Take The Train!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the day we spent on the Agawa Canyon Tour Train. The views are magnificent and the video commentary fascinating.

The boarding in the morning is a bit of a free-for-all and you shouldn't be shy about people who will try to cut in front of you even though you were there first. Try to get a seat on the right side for the outbound portion of the day, the better views are there.

One thing we didn't know beforehand is that during the stopover at the canyon the train crew turns all the seats around so you don't face backwards on the return trip. This sounds good and is but you might find that if you had a large window outbound you will have a frame to look around on the way back.

There is food service on the train, hot breakfasts and box lunches. I normally do not like to share a table with strangers but on this occasion we met a couple from Detroit who were able to give us some good tips about our visit to The Henry later on in the week.

We had a good time. So will you.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Will_Shank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A beautiful fall day trip”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We're in our mid 60's and can't do as much hiking as we used to do. The Agawa Canyon Tour Train is easy to find in downtown Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario and a great way to see fall color during the ride down to the canyon and for the 1 1/2 hours we had to walk when we got there. The views from the train were beautiful, and the commentary during the train ride was interesting making the trip seem shorter than 4 hours. The weather was crisp and sunny, perfect for exploring the woods and seeing the easy to walk to waterfalls. We were on the last tour of the season and the color was somewhat muted, but it was still a great day.
We didn't enjoy the 4 hour ride back as much as the ride there. Sitting that long isn't easy for us and walking in the train was difficult because, of course, we were on a moving train.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Sunrise1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agawa Canyon Tour Train also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Agawa Canyon Tour Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing