We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Colours, Brilliant Ride”

Agawa Canyon Tour Train
Ranked #1 of 7 Tours in Sault Ste. Marie
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
Attraction details
Mississauga
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Brilliant Colours, Brilliant Ride”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This trip was on my bucket list. Many Ontarians don't get a chance to see this part of the country. A visit to Sault Ste. Marie and a day trip to the Agawa Canyon is a must in the fall. The colours were spectacular. I went with 3 other girlfriends who are to say the least energetic. This trip forced you to sit and decompress from the fast paced life we lead. You could not check emails as there was no service. It was heaven! The train moved at at a steady pace with commentary on screens where they provided advance notice when a photo opportunity was coming up. Breakfast and lunch could be had in the dining car and they even offered to make you a box lunch to be eaten upon arrival at the canyon. We decided to bring our lunches but did partake in some soup at the canteen set up at the park. We boarded the train at 7:30 am and the train left the station at 8:00 am. We arrived just before lunch time. You had 1.5 hours to eat and explore the canyon for the impressive waterfalls. Bridal Veil Falls is spectacular with the backdrop of crimson, orange and yellow trees of late September. Get your picture taken in front of the locomotive and of course the waterfalls before boarding the train back to The Soo.

Recommendations:

1) Buy tickets well ahead of tour and pick up your tickets the day before to avoid line ups
2) Try and get the seats that face each other
3) Bring a litter less lunch and snacks to save money
4) Wear comfortable shoes to hike to the falls (30 min @ moderate pace)
5) Bring a camera

We flew from Toronto via Porter Airlines and the cost was $192 round trip and took just over 1 hour, otherwise it is a 9 hour drive from Toronto.

Tickets for Agawa Canyon Train Tour were $104.00

Well worth the trip! Thank you.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank crazyloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    197
    119
    48
    33
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Beautiful in the Autumn”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We went on the train in October to see the fall colours and were not disappointed. It was a great day! It left early but we brought snacks to eat for breakfast rather than eating in the dining car. I wanted to be able to listen to the commentary and see all of the sites. I saw so many beautiful trees, rivers, lakes, and colours that I took so many pictures! There is a camera on the front of the train so you can also watch the path ahead on the screen.
We spent the hour and a half stop exploring the trails and the lookout. We were able to see everything by keeping a steady pace, though we did stop to take a lot of pictures. The Lookout really was breathtaking - and worth the 300 stair climb!
We went to the dining car after we got back on the train after the hikes. The food was good. It was over priced but it was not outrageous considering it is a train in the wilderness! They took cash and credit.
The trip back to the station in the afternoon felt long but having lunch was fun.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Strawberry1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“loved the ride.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

don't know why i always thought that this was a winter only train ride. looking for a short fall destination decided on staying at the grand hotel, seeing tahquamenon falls, whitefish point.
after doing some homework i learned that the train ran from late spring to the end of october and for two months on the weekends in february and march so we added that to our agenda. a little homework certainly pays off. called for tickets and our short holiday was underway.
we arrived in sault ste marie, ca in the late afternoon and decided to go down to the train station to watch the train come in and maybe learn a few tips before the 7:30 am boarding. talked with one of the exiting train riders and she gave us a few tips. exchange your confirmation letter for the actual tickets now so that we would know our car number. the train stops at the same place for boarding and exiting. park in the same area as where you train car will be. that made life a little less hectic in the morning. sun was shining when we left. soon the clouds rolled in. the fall leaves were not quite as brilliant as when the sun was shining. the beautiful lakes along the way looked to peaceful and quiet. we chose to eat lunch in the dining car. we are on vacation. let's make life easier. yes it's more costly but just roll it into the cost of the trip. how often do you do this? the food was good, gourmet no, but what do you expect.
overall the ride was beautiful and almost relaxing. across from us one of the seats was occupied by a man the never shut his mouth. we were trying to listen to the announcements for points of interest. would he shut up, no, don't know why he was even on the train. obviously he didn't think of anyone else around him.. even his traveling companions at the end were sick of listening to him. fortunately we had 90 minutes of freedom while they were out in the canyon. aside from mr. mouth the train ride, trestles and scenery were spectacular in the the clouds. i can only imagine how beautiful it would be in the snow. the trip was from 8a until 6p. quite long but well worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Agawa Canyon Beauty”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Agawa Canyon Train provides breathtaking views of the Agawa Canyon and surrounding area of Sault Ste Marie. The Train leaves at 8am from the station (10 minute walk from Sleep Inn where we stayed) or you could have driven if you wanted to park outside the station. Very organized upon arrival at the station, they tell you what car you are to go into and then sit wherever you choose once you are on board.

It’s about a 4 hour ride out to the Agawa Canyon where they have tvs and announcements with points of interest and the history of the region. Very relaxing and both sides of the train provide great views of the trees and beauty of the area. You travel through small “towns” that have some houses and the people come out to wave at the train which is a nice surprise.
My only complaint is that it is quite expensive considering there is no complimentary food or beverage on the train. Employees come through the cars and provide boxes lunches which include a ham and cheese sandwich, carrot and celery sticks, hard boiled egg, brownie, chips and water for $15. We decided to wait and eat after the hike in Agawa Canyon and got a ham and cheese sandwich for $7.50 (expensive considering it was two pieces of wonder bread with ham, cheese and lettuce). It is wise to pack a lunch if possible ahead of time as it is pretty basic menu once you are on board.

The Canyon is amazing! You had 90 minutes to tour around in which we did River Trail to Bridal Vail Falls and then looped back on the Talus Trail which showcased the 2 Black Beaver Falls. Lastly we finished off with the lookout tower before returning to the train. This was ideal as most people did the lookout tour first so it was nice to have less people the way we went. We are in our 20s and it look us about an hour and 20 minutes to do the full loop which was perfect timing to get back on the train. The lookout tour is 300 steps to the top but is totally worth it as you cannot beat the view!

All in all it was a great experience that I will not forget!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayling, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Canadian Wilderness!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had been planning for years to take this train trip and were not disappointed. The scenery was breathtaking, the car very clean and comfortable. We loved it all. If you enjoy the beautiful outdoors and want to see a bit of the beauty that Canada offers--this is for you! Good to read the reviews to prepare. I'm just a little surprised at the negative reviews. I'm not sure what one could expect knowing that there is a train trip four hours one way and back with an hour and a half at the canyon. Relax! Remember it's all about the journey. We loved the time together and NO cell coverage after we left the train station until we arrived back in Sault Ste. Marie!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb_and_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agawa Canyon Tour Train also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Agawa Canyon Tour Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing