We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
GLENDALE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“visiting family”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Staff very friendly easy check in. Rooms large and very comfortable. large bathroom and very clean, bed very frim and comfortable. Nice breakfast. Location good close to many restaurant Ideal location for us since family was only blocks away from our hotel. would stay here again and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARBARA O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia R, General Manager at Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Barbara
Thanks so much for offering your time to write a review about your experience with us at Comfort Suites. We are conveniently located in Up Town Sault Ste. Marie and situated in the heart of many convenient places for a traveller to visit. We appreciate the recommendation and hope that you do get the chance to visit with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    128
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
171
156
20
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at this location for one night, while coming into town for the Agawa Canyon train ride. Upon driving up we were a bit hesitant with the aged outside look vs. the pictures of the inside we saw online. Once we walked in the door, all hesitation left. What a beautiful property and the renovations are great! The room had two queen beds in the bedroom and which was huge and then a sofa sleeper in the living room. Nice kitchenette area and bath. A family of four with two older boys had plenty of room to spread out. The front desk staff that evening was wonderful!! Very personable and they, along with housekeeping, went out of their way to solve a bathroom issue we had. Great property and we will absolutely be back when we visit again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator over near the pool area but it wasn't too bad going up one flight of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvadventures69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on both Quattro Chophouse + Bar and Comfort Suites. We can’t tell you how thrilled we are that you enjoyed your entire experience. We are very proud of our renovations. And while we have worked on the outside of the facility, it is truly the inside that shines. Our suites can be quite comfortable for families. We have many varieties to match guests' needs. The Front Desk staff thanks you for comments and it was truly our pleasure to help you out. No one wants to deal with any issues while on vacation. We hope you enjoyed the Agawa Canyon Tour Train. It is an incredible journey of wonderful scenery. We look forward to your next visit to Sault Ste. Marie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Clean, modern, spacious. Great for a large family like ours except the central booking system 1800 number is pretty sure 2 queen beds and a queen pull-out is only for 2 kids and 2 adults. Better side of typical breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hello Paul. Thank you for taking the time. We apologize for any confusion when you tried to book through our 1-800 system. We will certainly follow up with the central booking to ensure all information equates into the required accommodations. We are glad that the suite was more than adequate enough for your larger family. We hope to see you again at Comfort Suites & Quattro Conference Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

While this hotel may look somewhat dated from the outside, the interior has been completely renovated and is very clean and fashionable. The service we received from the front desk was absolutely great! I was having trouble getting into the laundry room, and the gentleman working went above and beyond to help me out.
The suites were spacious and very clean. The pool was saltwater and very warm. My husband, who does not enjoy even mildly tepid water, thoroughly enjoyed this pool. My boys had a blast jumping in, over and over again.
The breakfast in the morning was far better than I expected. Often chain hotels give a pathetic breakfast, consisting mostly of carbs. There was a wide selection of food available, and the eggs and sausage tasted cooked, not microwaved.
We've been travelling for almost a month now across country. This was one of the more reasonable priced hotels, and definitely a good value!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Greetings Jodine. Our heartfelt gratitude for the great review. There is nothing better than starting off the week with a fantastic online review with our staffers. We are so happy that all of your boys (husband included) enjoyed the saltwater pool. It is a wonderful temperature and a popular attraction for families. Thank you for the compliments on breakfast. Indeed, we do try and provide a bit more than the average hotel chain continental with lots of variety for guests. We appreciate you taking the time out during your travels to post some wonderful feedback. Enjoy the rest of your trip and we look forward to seeing you again if you find yourselfs in Northern Ontario again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It is very rare that I would write a review of any hotels, however The comfort suites in S.S.Marie was exceptional in two ways, first was the quality, of the hotel first class all the way,clean, neat, good layout, comfort. top marks for its decor very inviting.
Second but of no less importance was the staff, and in particular Kyle Maheu, the staff was friendly and helpful, Kyle went above all expectations he was knowledgeable well informed, friendly, an asset to any organization, he was particularly helpful on our second stay a couple of night,s later , when we arrived very late and there was very few rooms if any of any quality, he took the time to review the situation(his room requirements) and came up with a couple of rooms for us, after having a full day we where very tired, his assistance was greatly appreciated. I believe that Kyle has the attributes to be a great manager.

Sincerely, Denis & Louise Saudino and Daniel & Sophie Kelly From Timmins Ontario.

Room Tip: I truly believe there is not a bad room in the hotel,and if Kyle is serving you you should know that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Good day Denis. Thanks for the fanatastic review. We are delighted that your experience at Comfort Suites was such a memorable one, that you took the time to give us your feedback. We are most proud of our Front Desk staff and they have, by far, the most challenging but also the most rewarding job here at the Suites. The team takes great pride in ensuring our guests get the best service while staying here. (sometimes, you even get a great joke or two). Kyle is definitely a valued member of our team and we will certainly share this review with all of them. These are the reviews that puts smiles on faces. Thanks and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel was great, the decor was modern and the facilities were of a high standard. I used the gym and they were happy to let me in early. The service was outstanding, from the young man greeting us at reception to the staff member who explained the ferry options. The restaurant was really good also. Overall was good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi Lucy. Thanks for the great review! We truly appreciate our guests who take the time to give us feedback. We are so happy that we were able to provide you with some extra help. It is so important to have knowledgable Front Desk staff who can provide assistance with whatever takes our guests to Sault Ste. Marie. So glad you enjoyed your meal at Quattro Chophouse + Bar as well. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Sault!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I gave this hotel "one star" because of improperly working equipment (a/c) and shoddy "customer service".

It's a pretty place - but avoid if you plan on actually sleeping.

Thursday
We drove 8 hours to the Soo with a 17 month old for my grandfather's funeral. We arrived and were impressed by the aesthetics, it's contemporary and clean. The check-in was easy and courteous. We went to our room, turned on the a/c and it rumbled so LOUD that our baby was scared. We let it run hoping it would quiet, but it did not. Within 30 mins. of check-in I went to the front desk to notify her of the a/c issue. The lady who was working made me wait while she finished her personal call to whoever had her kids - then informed me that there were no other rooms and said to unplug the a/c. We were with family the res of the night, got in late, and went upstairs to bed. All we could hear was a very loud rumbling from outside our window. We called downstairs and they tried turning off the kitchen fan, but it made no difference. We didn't sleep. It was horrible.

Friday
We had a funeral to go to today. We let the front desk know of the issue AGAIN. We were told they had another room, so we quickly went upstairs to pack. My husband then let me know the other room was 2 queen, not a king (which we required for safety as we were sleeping with a toddler between us). We unpacked everything again. We go back downstairs to meet with the maintenance guy (to show him the problem) and were told by the same girl who checked us in that they had a king room. By that time I am 1.5 hours from the start of the funeral. I have outfits to iron, we need to take showers and get ready for the FUNERAL - not pack up AGAIN. The maintenance guy told my husband there was an issue with a fan outside our room and that all would be fixed for that night. So we had no reason to change room. We asked the hotel if there would be some sort of rate adjustment for the previous night - as their own maintenance told us THEY had a problem with the fan, and the a/c was too loud - they said no. Somehow it was our fault that they had no other rooms and a broken fan. We were gone all day until after 10pm - not only was there no change to the loud fan, our a/c sounded shaky now. Both of our kid were fast asleep in the other room, and we were stuck. The other room the front desk suggested we could sleep in had bunk beds which just doesn't work with the age of our kids (safety). Night two, no sleep. Had maintenance not told us our room would be fixed, we would have changed to the king room but we trusted it would be complete.

Saturday
We were so happy to get out of there! We did call the toll free number to make a formal complaint.

Further:
My husband was in email contact with the general manager who did no more than dismiss our issues. We firmly believe we should be refunded something for that 1st night. 1.) we were told there were no other rooms, 2.) maintenance told us it was something broken on their end.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rissy_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We appreciate all comments (positive and negative) so we have the opportunity to improve our service for your next visit. Your review is quite detailed and since there has been back and forth correspondence through email between your husband and our Rooms Division Manager and the General Manager, we won't address the specifics in this forum. We do apologize for the circumstances and incidents related to your visit. It is certainly never our intention to have guests leave our establishment unhappy. In the service industry, these are the guest experiences you want to ensure do not occur. Unfortunately, there were no comparable sized rooms available at the time of your stay and we are sorry that you felt the compensation was not adequate enough. We are truly sorry that were unsatisfied with your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
1.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
461 reviews
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suite...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
270 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
229 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 229 Great Northern Rd, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z2, Canada (Formerly Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#1 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated by Quattro Hospitality Inc., the hotel features 157 suites and the Largest Convention space in Northern Ontario. Total capacity for the conference centre is 1,500 people due to 13,728 square feet of floor space. Full catering service for events is available. The hotel offers free high-speed Internet access, an indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna, fitness centre, business center, onsite restaurant and an onsite spa. Limousine service and Personal Trainer facilities. Air-conditioned guestrooms feature a refrigerator, microwave, full-size sofa bed, flat panel televisions, ipod docking stations and room service is available. The Comfort Suites hotel also provides easy access to local points of interest like the OLG Casino Sault Ste. Marie, Agawa Canyon Tour Train, Searchmount Ski Hill, Cambrian Mall, Bellevue Park and Crimson Ridge Golf Course. The hotel also participates in Choice Privileges, the Choice Hotels rewards program where guests can earn points toward free nights, Airline Rewards, gift certificates and more while staying at any Comfort, Comfort Suites, Quality, Sleep Inn, Clarion, Econo Lodge and Rodeway Inn hotel in Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Comfort Suites And Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie
Great Northern Hotel
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing