We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel in an interesting area.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in an interesting area.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Express it was very close to the Agawa train depot which was the reason for our stay. The hotel was great the kids enjoyed the pool and the breakfast in the morning was great and saved us some money. The city needs some work but this hotel was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doogiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for deciding to stay at our hotel and for writing this review. We are glad to know that your entire family had such a great stay. We hope you enjoyed the Agawa train tour as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    91
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
68
98
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very modern. The room was clean and comfortable. We slept very well. The hot tub, pool and sauna were also very nice. They worked well and most importantly were clean. The breakfast had a nice variety. I would highly recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank cmurray942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We appreciate this fantastic recommendation and are so glad to be the highlight of your trip to Sault Ste Marie. Our hotel has been recently renovated so everything is fresh and new. We are pleased that you were able to relax and enjoy the pool, hot tub, and sauna. Thank you for this review and we hope you will keep us in mind if you are travelling to Sault Ste Marie again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

A new excellent well designed complex, in a perfect location, with nice furniture, clean and well organized. Just a small problem with the elevator, that is near to be solved.
For us, Italians, used to have just a continental one, just a small problem with the breakfast. Actually we found just Canadian style coffee and no croissants.

Room Tip: Rooms seem to be all the same. Suggesting rooms with front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elfet42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for this review. It’s always great to receive feedback from our valued guests. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will be back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is clean, the staff very friendly and a buffet breakfast is included! We both enjoyed the use of the hotel's pool and fitness room. The hotel staff even offered to open the fitness room a bit earlier to accommodate us! We will definitely look at staying here again for our next visit to the Soo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottawatraveller547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing this great review of our hotel. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us so much. I will be sure to pass your compliments along to all of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel is a great addition to the Soo area that wasn't around last year when I was there for business. Bed was comfortable and the desk area was great for work. My membership got me upgraded to the suite and the extra room to "spread out" was great for an extended stay. Add a hot plate or a stove top in the kitchen area and it would not be hard to live there for almost a month.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boookal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
On behalf of everyone here at the Holiday Inn Express in Sault Ste Marie, we would like to thank you for staying with us and we are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay so much. We love hearing from our satisfied guests. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in the Soo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Newly renovated, beautiful lobby, staff very friendly, spacious rooms, with pillow top mattress, very comfortable. Nice shower, new and modern TVs and radio clock, microwave and fridge. Great breakfast options, with any combination of eggs, bacon, juices, yogurt, butter, cheese, English muffing, bagels, etc. will satisfy any appetite .Location is great, just across the Station Mall, and 3 or 4 blocks from the casino. Greatly recommended.

Room Tip: Stayed on room 209, recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmtheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for this outstanding review! We are very glad that you had so many positive things to say about our hotel and staff. We appreciate the recommendation and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel has recently been fully refurbished. it is really lovely and the beds are so comfortable.
Breakfast is included in the price and there is a wide variety to choose from including a pancake machine which makes a pancake within a minute. All rooms have a fridge,microwave, widescreen tv and tea and coffee machines. There is a lovely indoor pool, sauna and a gymnasium. I went down at 6.30 am and although the gym was closed. The staff let me in and couldn't have been more helpful. There is also a shopping mall across the road I would definitely go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dance4lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. It’s so great to hear from our satisfied guests. We are thrilled to know that you liked our newly renovated hotel, amenities, staff, and location. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.9 mi away
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suite...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Address: 320 Bay St, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 1X1, Canada (Formerly Days Inn - Sault Ste. Marie)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#3 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#6 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Sault Ste. Marie Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Days Inn
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing