We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We stayed overnight on the top floor with a lake view. The staff are very friendly and helpfull. The beds are comfortable and the room with a view was great. The bar was great for an after dinner drink and breakfast was good with excellent friendly service. We would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fallcolours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 520 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the end of August and can't say enough great things. The service was terrific.....from check in to check out!! The rooms were lovely with beds that are really comfy!!!! The location is right on the waterfront and the sunsets are spectacular! They have a great outdoor bar/restaurant for the summer months and a lovely bar inside also. This hotel is centrally located to all things. The Essar Centre for hockey is a short walk as is the mall, OLG Slots and the bridge to cross into the U.S. My only negative is that the elevators are very slow. It's sometimes better just to take the stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendooshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

The reservations were amended twice due to errors and then, when I got home, there was a message stating that I did not arrrive and would be charged twice for the same dates.
Noisy - could hear the tenants in he next room and they were speaking in a normal voice.
Only one robe and the front desk staff were engrossed in a private conversation and took no notice whan asked.
Single cup coffee makers that brewed cold coffee.
Extension cords used that slipped out of the socket.
Clear glass shower enclosures - no privacy. Unsafe for seniors who are not as agile as they once were - No hand rails or spa stool provided. Very difficult to turn on shower without getting blasted with icy water and then scalded because you turned the faucet too far the other way.
No bathroom shelving. They could replace that useless picture.
No pay per view movies.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller4664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

While still gainfully employed I did a great deal of business travelling both in Canada and abroad. I often used the Delta chain because they had convenient locations in the cities I visited. Since retiring, I have been seeking a different kind of accommodation such as country inns, B&Bs, boutique hotels and resorts. But a recent decision to take the Agawa Canyon Fall Foliage Tour Train led me to the Delta in Sault Ste Marie since I knew it was close to the train station and also offered beautiful views of the river and access to the boardwalk. We booked two rooms with king size beds and a river view. Both were clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were included in our package and they were all we could have expected. We chose to eat in the dining room both evenings and the meals exceeded what we would have expected in a business class hotel.

The really exceptional thing about the stay was the helpfulness and friendliness of all the staff...from the front desk to housekeeping to the dining room. Not many hotels have taken the time to train staff to be so welcoming. They simply could not have done more for us and we were very impressed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1fg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

I admit to being a bit of a sucker for the Delta chain as the hotels are so reliable and this was no exception. We had three nights there and the room was lovely - large, comfortable bed, good view of the river, nice bathroom - all you could hope for. We were very impressed by the staff - from housekeeping, to bellman, reception and restaurant. They seemed to operate as a team with none of the petty rivalries you find with some hotels. This was particularly true when our car got broken into. We were booked onto the Agawa Canyon train and we thought we would have to cancel, but the staff insisted that we went and when we returned they had dealt with the police and the car rental company and we had a replacement car waiting. Thank you Lindsay! Also a note of commendation for both bar and restaurant - great food and good service (and thank you Siobhan!)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notacouchpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Saturday night. One queen size bed. Small room. Quiet. Lovely view of the lake. Cold hallway. Boardwalk in front along the river beautiful. Lukewarm whirlpool. Swimming pool extremely crowded (far beyond capacity, barely room to stand) with screaming, wild boys (tournament) smacking noodles and whipping balls around. Dry sauna not very warm. Good exercise room with a variety of equipment but only one treadmill. Should have had water in the exercise room. Coffee and tea in the room. Mini fridge. Only a shower stall. Free internet. IMPROVEMENT – a time for adults to use the pool. Increase temperature of hot tub. Might stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We spent two days dicovering Sault Ste Marie. This was our first trip to this northern paradise. The Delta Hotel and Conference Center is situated besides the lake and the boardwalk. We enjoyed leisurely strolls. The city offers free musical concerts next door, under the tent. We were close to all the attractions, the museum, the bushplane exhibition, the art gallery and many excellent restaurants. The hotel boasts an indoor pool and fitness center. Their dining room has a lovely view of the lake and offers a varied and tasty menu. The lounge-bar is inviting and beautifully decorated. The rooms are spacious and offer a boutique-like decor. The staff is pleasant and knowlegeable. This one lady working in the dining room at breakfast was exceptional. It was indeed a pleasant and relaxing vacation !

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myrtle-Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
2.1 mi away
The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection
The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier ...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
308 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
757 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront

Address: 208 St Mary's River Dr, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 5V4, Canada (Formerly Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#5 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: $97 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Hotel welcomes you with the spacious Sault Ste. Marie accommodations you've expected for your Canada getaway. Planted in an excellent location, in the downtown core and business district, our hotel is a top choice among Sault Ste. Marie hotels and hotels near Essar Centre. Enjoy fantastic entertainment and shopping experiences, and more, just steps away! Our Sault Ste. Marie Ontario hotel's distinction as being the only full-service hotel on the waterfront boardwalk makes us an ideal choice of accommodations - one that will take your expectations for a Ontario, Canada business or leisure trip to a higher level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sault Ste Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Waterfront
Delta Hotels By Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing