We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern conveniences, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Modern conveniences, excellent service”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I recently stayed here for 2 nights on a work trip. My stay was fantastic from start to finish - the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I stayed in a deluxe king room with a view of the water. Everything was very clean, modern, and well maintained. I loved the walk-in shower, ipod dock, fluffy pillows and terry cloth bathrobe. I did not use the pool or gym during my stay, but enjoyed warming up in the sauna on a cold day!
The restaurant, The View, is worth going to even if you aren't staying here. Excellent seafood and a nice setting. I had the cedar planked salmon with vegetables and a mix of mashed potatoes/pumpkin which was delicious!
I would definitely recommend staying here if you are in SSM.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TO-psych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasha G, Guest Service Supervisor at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! We appreciate it very much. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that you can return to our community and enjoy it even more! I have to agree with you about the views, aren't they just wonderful! As well as warming up in the sauna...sounds great!

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Tasha Girardi
Guest Service Supervisor
Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    170
    40
    12
    7
See reviews for
121
144
21
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here in September 2013 with my elderly father for two nights. We booked the Agawa Canyon Train tour which ended up being cancelled due to flooding; decided to come to SSM anyway and glad we did - The Delta was great! The hotel was very clean both in room and in all public area's. Bed's are very comfortable and have duvet's on them. Customer service in the hotel was friendly, polite and attentive. We very much enjoyed the Sunday brunch in the "View" restaurant at the hotel - great selection of hot and cold food and a reasonable price. We had dinner there and it was delicious. Our room had a tea/coffee maker with the tea/coffee included and a fridge which was handy for cold drinks and snacks.
The gym contained a couple of treadmills, an elliptical machine and a recumbent bike as well as some free weights and a sauna! The small fridge in the gym containing the cold towels is a genius idea! It's the equivalent of the hotel towel on the air plane - very refreshing after a work out session on the treadmill. Although I did not use the pool it looked good for lap swimming as well as shallow areas for kids to splash around in. If I'm not mistaken I believe they have an adults swim only hour at some point in the evening. The black and white photography in both the hotel rooms and common area's was very nice! Someone has done a good job of photographing the local scenery - some of it was quite stunning! There is a large shopping mall literally across the street from the hotel that had a Cineplex in it which I thought would be handy for catching a movie should you wish to do so. The boardwalk right outside of the hotel on the waterfront was scenic to take a stroll down to the SSM locks to see ships coming through.
Overall, we both enjoyed out stay at the Delta SSM and would certainly stay there again. It seemed to me over the course of the weekend that Delta takes time to train their employees in appropriate customer service techniques. Instead of the often heard " no problem" in responses to requests I heard things such as " it would be my pleasure" " I can take care of that for you" " thank you and your welcome". Good job Delta!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Well, they did their best with the new furnishings, public areas and elevators, but underneath this place is still the tired old Holiday Inn it always was since my previous visit in 1995..... It's like sticking a new badge on a well-used car and pretending it's a shiny new vehicle at a premium price, when everyone can see it for the old banger it really is. Want an example...? The room is full of nice pics and upmarket bed covers, but they left the old Holiday Inn shower tubs in place. If you are going to renovate a place, at least do it properly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToodleooCaribou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasha G, Guest Service Supervisor at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for reviewing your stay with us. Our renovations were taken very seriously and we have done some very extensive work within the hotel, fitness center, restaurant and conference areas. We also offer different room types that offer different amenities such as a beautiful walk in shower. Hopefully you will join us again and try another room type to see the upgraded deluxe rooms.

Thank you for your review and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Warm regards,

Tasha Girardi
Guest Service Supervisor
Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I had the best night sleep at this hotel, the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever had at a hotel! We had originally booked our stay on hotels.com and when we arrived we were disappointed as the website had advertised a lot different things in our room ( we were told that only their suites had those things) that what actually came in our room, when we brought this to the attention of the girl at the front desk, she was very apologetic and did everything she could to make up for our disappointment. The staff were so friendly and seemed to be genuinely happy doing their jobs. We were made to feel very welcome there and our room had an incredible view of the water front which was beautiful to look at at night. The pool was fabulous, the food was great, it is a little bit pricey but it is well worth the money, I will never stay in any other hotel in Sault Ste Marie again. Its located right beside the mall, the theatre and the casino is just a short walk down the road.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the water side, you will have a beautiful night view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Se7en22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasha G, Guest Service Supervisor at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to review your stay. We thank you you for rating us a 5! This is very important and exciting to us.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and we are looking forward to having you come back so we can welcome you and your family. The location is great and we are pleased that you were able to take advantage of some of what the Sault has to offer. Hopefully next time you visit you will enjoy even more!

Thank you again and we will see you in the future.

Warm regards,

Tasha Girardi
Guest Service Supervisor
Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights while on a bus tour with Denure Tours and it was an amazing hotel. The bed was one of the nicest I have EVER slept in; it was amazing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and the breakfast was incredible as well. Truly, a terrific hotel.

Room Tip: Try the Docks restaurant not far away - it was great too!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
200 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is the 3rd time staying at the Delta in the Soo. The bed was far too soft to be comfortable, internet connection was great, TV reception was terrible for a state of the art hotel, the shower had absolutely no safety bars so my friend could not use the shower, the amenities in bathroom were lovely (soaps, lotions, etc.), the heating/cooling system was hard to regulate for comfort but the view was wonderful - provided you ask for a room with the lock & river view. The boardwalk is also great for walking along the St. Mary's River. It is handy to the mall but we had a terrible time finding a place to eat on a Sunday & ended up at Tim Horton's!! There used to be restaurants in the mall - now just a food court & the mall closed Sun. at 5 PM. The Delta View Restaurant is terribly overpriced so we knew we would not be eating there. And construction caused a detour every time we wanted to drive over to Michigan. The next visit to the Soo will see us staying on the Michigan side.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the locks & river but be ready to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasha G, Guest Service Supervisor at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us about your recent stay. The items that you brought to our attention we take very seriously and will take a look into the issues. I am very pleased that you enjoyed some of the beautiful views that we have here in Sault Ste. Marie. I truly hope that you can join us again in the future to enjoy more of our community.

Again, thank you for bringing these items forward.

Warm regards,

Tasha Girardi
Guest Service Supervisor
Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, close to border, the mall and downtown. The service from the front desk was excellent, and everyone was very helpful and friendly. The room was nice and modern, and had free wifi, which I appreciated. The only downside was that the walls between the rooms seemed a bit thin, as I could hear the adjacent room quite well even though they weren't being that loud. I did have a room with a door to the room beside me, so that could've been the problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the elevators, as they announce the floor fairly loudly every time someone g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter_Adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
1.8 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
2.1 mi away
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suite...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Address: 208 St Mary's River Dr, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 5V4, Canada (Formerly Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#5 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Hotel welcomes you with the spacious Sault Ste. Marie accommodations you've expected for your Canada getaway. Planted in an excellent location, in the downtown core and business district, our hotel is a top choice among Sault Ste. Marie hotels and hotels near Essar Centre. Enjoy fantastic entertainment and shopping experiences, and more, just steps away! Our Sault Ste. Marie Ontario hotel's distinction as being the only full-service hotel on the waterfront boardwalk makes us an ideal choice of accommodations - one that will take your expectations for a Ontario, Canada business or leisure trip to a higher level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sault Ste Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Waterfront
Delta Hotels By Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing