We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
ontario
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

It was a great stay right from reception to checkout. The 2 ladies Tasha and especially Lindsey could not have been nicer. They even allowed us to change our room to one with a better view of the ships and canal. The room had a king size bed - that was too die for - no backache for me here, a sofa bed , coffee table desk and chair, fridge and coffee maker. We did not try the pool so can't comment there. We got takeout from the restaurant one night that we took to our room . The food was pretty good although a wee bit pricey but you pay for convenience too. House keeping was very friendly also. there is a great boardwalk along the waterway with life size figures. The ones of the bears are too funny. Across the way is a large mall. Its obvious the area is up and coming. we would not hesitate to stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Roberta Bondar Pavillion gives a view of the freighters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misslindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    180
    42
    12
    7
See reviews for
124
156
23
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The dining room experience for both dinner and breakfast was horrible. Both Maitre d for both meals were rude and hostile. The salmon for dinner was very good, but very overpriced. The breakfast for both my wife and I was miserable. If we hadn't waited forever for our food to arrive, we would have returned both breakfasts. Her Eggs Benedict had firm yolks and my omelet was missing the cheese. Plus, there was only one waiter and he was very busy. We won't stay there again.

Room Tip: The room was fine, comfortable beds and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gniedermaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasha G, Guest Service Supervisor at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Niedermaier,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Please let me begin by saying we do all that we can to anticipate our guest's needs and business demands. However, sometimes we get it wrong and as a result, like yourself, the customer encounters a poor experience.

On the evening of the 19 th the Patio was closed for a private function, but did reopen to the public by 7:30 pm. The staff in the dining room would not have anticipated the patio re-opening as it regularly closes in the early evening.

On the morning of the 21st we were faced with a busier than expected breakfast period. The staff on hand did everything they could to try and maintain the level of customer service expected at Delta. I apologize that you had to accept the meals you were served due to the busy dining room. Your room package included breakfast, however I have requested Guest Services to refund you $40.

I hope you will consider staying with Delta Sault Ste. Marie in the future.

Sincerely,
Tony Iacoe
Manager - View Restaurant + Bar
Delta Sault Ste. Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for a conference. This was an excellent stay. The front desk staff upon arrival were friendly and the room was clean and had a great view of the river. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. The only negative comment was that only one elevator was working but that is beyond the hotel's control as there apparently is a strike going on for elevator technicians. The meeting facilities were also clean and functional. A great place to stay and conduct meetings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ledroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Every member of staff we encountered in our three day/two night stay were excellent. The room was ok, except being a ground floor room there was a lot of foot traffic. The bed was comfortable. There is only one wired outlet for the internet. The only disappointment was the restaurant - The View. There was a lot better selection in the room service menu. For dinner they seemed to average about $30 for a entrée. Though, this is a lot better than the last time, it was previously a Holiday Inn. We had confirmed reservations, made months in advance, and when were arrived they had given our room to someone who wanted to extend their stay. Though, that is another story, and nothing to do with the present management.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTimTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Sainte Marie, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you like to be treated like royalty, this is a hidden gem in Sault Ste. Marie, ON. I was taken there for my birthday dinner two years ago, and enjoyed every minute of it.
We made reservations and the waitress had a spot reserved right by the waterfront, right next to a wonderful Christmas tree that was well lit up. On top of all this, it was a tree festival in the hotel, so after we ate, we looked at all the trees that different business's had decorated. Truly a wonderful ending to a beautiful night

Room Tip: A room with a view of the waterfront, is beautiful if you want to spend that extra money. Not only d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_ka-loud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Front Office Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to publicly share your experience at the Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront. We do strive to create the ultimate guest experience and make each interaction memorable. The Lung Association will be hosting the Festival of Trees November 21st-24th, 2013. We also have many other attractions and community events throughout the year. Please know that we are here to assist at any time. We certainly hope to welcome you back to our fine community in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Kelly Walker, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was the best Delta I have ever stayed in. The hotel is kept up well and the staff at the check in/out counter were exceptionally friendly. As soon as I walked in, they had all my information ready to go. The room was not an overly large room, but it was clean and comfortable. I only had a few complaints:

1. Having only one elevator in service while we were there was not very accommodating considering there were big events going on at the time of our stay. This meant having to wait a while before getting a free elevator that you could fit your family.
2. The pool was overly chlorinated. A lot of big red eyes!
3. The restaurant was pretty pricey for the food quality received. You were not able to order a lot of items from the dinner menu because they were out of a lot of food items. The breakfast service (waitresses) were terrible and not attentive. However, we expressed this to the restaurant manager and they sent us up some dessert that evening as an apology. I would also not recommend ordering the breakfast buffet as there is little variety. The made to order meals are much better! Also, the next meal we had there, the waitresses had turned around their attitude and provided much better service.

Overall, the stay was very pleasant! I will definitely book this hotel every time we visit the area!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkerbella4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Front Office Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent business and for taking the time to provide your feedback via tripadvisor. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our fine community in the near future. We are amidst an elevator renovation and expect to have the elevator upgrade complete upon your return although we are dependant on the settlement of the ThyssenKrupp Elevator Company labour dispute. We do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your recent stay. In terms of the bromine levels, we do conduct hourly pool tests to ensure our levels coincide with health regulations. Rest assured, our levels are safe. Lastly, we take your comments regarding our food and beverage services very seriously. We aim to please both in service and food quality and we appeciate that you took the time to identify your concerns to our onsite Restaurant Manager. Please know that we are here to assist at any time. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Kelly Walker, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort erie on
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at the hotel in April 10t to the 12th

The hotel shuttle was on time to the airport and from. the room was perfect and comfortable to my pleasure the food and the service was second to none.

I will stay at this beautiful hotel on my next trip for sure

Room Tip: Recommend a water front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesForterieon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Front Office Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent business and for taking the time to share your recent experience at our location. We will share your feedback with all of our team members and ensure our team is recognized for a job well done! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our fine community in the near future.

Sincerely, Kelly Walker, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
286 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
577 reviews
2.1 mi away
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suite...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
243 reviews
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Address: 208 St Mary's River Dr, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 5V4, Canada (Formerly Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#5 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Hotel welcomes you with the spacious Sault Ste. Marie accommodations you've expected for your Canada getaway. Planted in an excellent location, in the downtown core and business district, our hotel is a top choice among Sault Ste. Marie hotels and hotels near Essar Centre. Enjoy fantastic entertainment and shopping experiences, and more, just steps away! Our Sault Ste. Marie Ontario hotel's distinction as being the only full-service hotel on the waterfront boardwalk makes us an ideal choice of accommodations - one that will take your expectations for a Ontario, Canada business or leisure trip to a higher level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sault Ste Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Waterfront
Delta Hotels By Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing