We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can I Take This Bed Home?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Can I Take This Bed Home?”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Sault Ste. Marie has a great hotel on the water in the Delta. It's clean, the rooms have all of the standard amenities, and the bed offered the best night sleep I've had in a long time. This is the place to be in Sault Ste. Marie.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milt0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Front Office Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at our location. We are pleased to know that you received a good night's rest on our Simmons Sanctuary product. Although the mattress is exclusive to Delta Hotel's & Resorts, we are pleased to inform you that all pillows and bedding can be purchased. Simply visit, www.northernfeather.com and become the proud new owner of a northern feather duvet and queen size pillows. Until we meeting again, we hope you rest well. Sincerely, Kelly Walker, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    171
    40
    12
    7
See reviews for
121
148
21
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Muskoka, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed two nights in late August and it was perfect. We paid a little extra for a room with a view of the St. Mary's river and it was well worth it. Quiet, clean and comfortable room. The housekeeping staff were friendly, and engaging. The restaurant food was top-notch, as was the service. We even discovered a lovely wine with the help of the server. Sault Ste. Marie is such a pretty and interesting place to visit and this hotel was just another reason that our trip was so wonderful. It's right on the river, the bike trail, and the bridge to the USA. They have a lockup for bikes, which we didn't use, as we didn't even have time to take the bikes off our rack however it's a great spot for biking along the river and rapids.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra if you can for a room with a view, it's lovely. There are many great spots on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InTheMuskokas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Front Office Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience while visiting Sault Ste. Marie and for choosing the Delta as your home away from home while travelling. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent experience; from the welcoming & engaging housekeeping staff to the pleasant dining experience including knowledgeable server. We pride ourselves in creating the ultimate guest experience and I am pleased to see that we were able to create that for you. We look forward to having you return to our community in the spring/summer of 2013. We have increased our number of bike trails within our community and urge you to come back and experience them. Until we meet again, thank you for your feedback.
Sincerely, Kelly Walker, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I have stayed here many times when this property was a Holiday Inn. I had not been to the Soo for a while so this was my first stay as the Delta. It has been totally remodeled and the upgrade in appearance is amazing. Always a good location near the river, now even nicer with the remodeling along with free wireless

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RSB461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Front Office Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Loyal Guest,

Thank you for returning to our improved location. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your return visit to not only Sault Ste. Marie but to our hotel. We thank you for your continued business and look forward to welcoming you back in 2013 where we can showcase to you our finest elevator upgrade. Sincerely, Kelly Walker, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

It was for one night as we made our way home from Thunder Bay to Oshawa but the beds were so comfortable. It is a newly renovated hotel with modern decor and glass shower. The bar area is out in the open which probably made it more inviting as we stopped in for a beer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCRR2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Front Office Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for stopping at the Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront on your way home to Oshawa (from Thunder Bay). We are excited to let you know that Delta Hotels & Resorts will be opening a location in Thunder Bay in early 2014. Rest assured that no matter where you're travelling in Canada, Delta Hotels & Resorts boasts the fabulous Simmons sanctuary bed. A product that will guarantee a good night's rest. Certainly a key factor when planning a trip across any part of our beautiful country. Thank you for sharing your feedback and for allowing us the opportunity to host you as our guests. We appreciate your business. Sincerely, Kelly Walker, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The overall service is becoming less satisfactory than 2 or 3 years ago when it just opened after a major renovation and changed from Holiday Inn to a Delta. I was put into a room (710) right across the ice machine and elevator despite of my preference noted in their reward program. I did not raise the issue, expecting at least some explanation from the staff or to complain when receiving a courtesy call from the front desk. However that did not happen during the week of stay. Was waken up couple of times by the noises. I made the reservation 2 weeks in advance. Therefore availability should not be an issue. The rate was not cheap. Another disappointing thing is they took away the cold breakfast buffet, only providing hot one. It is overpriced with not many choices.

Room Tip: Try to keep away from rooms near or across elevator or ice machine which would wake you up at midnig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkRegionYnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Front Office Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay at our location. We pride ourselves in delivering the ultimate guest experience each and every time and we sincerely apologize that we were unable to do so on this visit. Your feedback allows us to coach and further develop our employees to ensure that our future guests are receiving the consistent and high quality service that we are known for. Thank you, once again, for providing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were seeking a night in Sault Sainte Marie on our drive across central Canada and chose the Delta. Good choice! This hotel was a Holiday In until a year ago, when Delta took it over, totally refurbished it, and made it unquestionably the best hotel in town. The great waterfront location by the charming river boardwalk is a big plus, as is the attractive and worthwhile restaurant facing the river. Be sure to get a room overlooking the river .(Upper floors have showers only,bathtubs on lower floors). Free internet in the business centre. Good value for money,lots of free parking, and the main Queen street is a 5 minute stroll away. Heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unclepaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Cove, Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Booked 4 rooms for the entire family to attend our daughter's graduation from Aviation at Sault College, an eight hour drive from home. As the date neared, had to cancel one room for a family member who could not attend and, due to the chain's reasonable cancellation policy, there was no charge. On arrival in mid to late afternoon, one room was not ready. As a result, there was some juggling as we all tried to get ready for the ceremony at the same time. The rooms were small but clean, comfortable and had a nice view of the river. Service in the bar (just for a glass of wine as we waited for everyone to assemble) was very slow so that by the time we were served we did not have a chance to finish the drink before it was time to leave. Upon our return late in the evening, it was apparent that there was a girls' basketball tournament in town with a number of teams staying at the hotel. That became a problem in the wee hours with basketballs being dribbled in the hallway outside our doors. Complaints to the front desk (and the coaches/trainers/parents we ran into in the halls) next morning fell on deaf ears.

Room Tip: request room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RV8APilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
1.8 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
270 reviews
2.1 mi away
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suite...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
378 reviews
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Address: 208 St Mary's River Dr, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 5V4, Canada (Formerly Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#5 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Hotel welcomes you with the spacious Sault Ste. Marie accommodations you've expected for your Canada getaway. Planted in an excellent location, in the downtown core and business district, our hotel is a top choice among Sault Ste. Marie hotels and hotels near Essar Centre. Enjoy fantastic entertainment and shopping experiences, and more, just steps away! Our Sault Ste. Marie Ontario hotel's distinction as being the only full-service hotel on the waterfront boardwalk makes us an ideal choice of accommodations - one that will take your expectations for a Ontario, Canada business or leisure trip to a higher level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sault Ste Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Waterfront
Delta Hotels By Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing