We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room was as big as a small apartment!"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Manitoba
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The room was as big as a small apartment!"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

When we first arrived at the hotel we thought it would just be the same old thing - clean and comfortable but nothing special. When we opened the door to our hotel room, it was the size of a bachelor apartment! There was tons of space, a king size bed, pull out couch, side chair, computer desk, large t.v., kitchen area and the best shower we encountered on our entire 2 week trip. I had to double check the price we were paying because the room was so large and spacious. The hotel was steps from the river and close to a great restaurant. A nice walk along the water after dinner made it a perfect evening!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManitobaMandarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    119
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
72
100
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kamsack, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

This was my second time staying at the Sleep Inn, and it didn't let down once more. We were upgraded into a much larger room on the second floor, with a king bed, large flat screen tv, and large shower/washroom area. Check in was very quick, the hotel (interior/exterior) was well maintained, and the continental breakfast did what it is supposed to do. Will be staying here again on the drive back out west.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newfie_Screech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, on
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

I spent 2 nights at the Sleep Inn. The room was VERY clean. The beds were VERY comfortable. The air conditioning worked great! I would not hesitate to return to the Sleep Inn or recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myyki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, ON
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

I used to stay at the Holiday Inn whenever I came to the Soo for business. However, it is now the Delta and prices have gone up considerably. So, I had stayed at the Sleep Inn before and had a good nights sleep. It was just as good this time, and for a really great price.

Breakfast was good for a continental, high speed wireless worked well, and bed was comfy.

I'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsr28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

I'm in SSM quite often as my daughter goes to school there. I've stayed at the Sleep Inn twice now and this will be my preferred hotel from now on. I've tried a few in the Soo and this is the best in its of the ones I've tried. Very clean. They don't supply shampoo or conditioner, only the soap dispenser on the wall in the shower which may be a multipurpose body wash/shampoo but I would bring my own hair stuff. Breakfast is ok - cereal, muffins, English muffins, instant oatmeal, apples and oranges. The only thing it is missing is a pool. Quite often hockey teams stay there and have both times I've been there, but I have not had any problems with noise. The only noise issue I had was this last trip when we were situated in a little "alcove" off the lobby with 4 or 5 other rooms and two young kids kept running in and out of the alcove - until 10 pm! But that is just a case of lack of parenting!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

My room was very spacious and clean. Like another reviewer, I love that Sleep Inn washes the white duvet slips for every customer! I used to work in the hotel industry, so I know a clean, well-kept hotel when I see one! The front desk staff was always helpful and had good suggestions. My only complaint was the main reason I booked the Sleep Inn was because it was the only one in its price range that had a hot tub--according to its website. After getting ready to use the hot tub and walking down to the exercise center where it was supposed to be located, I found out that because of water regulations they were not able to use the hot tub anymore. That is my only complaint. Great continental breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmusicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

The Sleep Inn has a white bed program, meaning they have a slip top which gets washed and slid over a duvet. So if you don't like sleeping with an age old comforter like I don't, staying at the Sleep Inn is a great choice. The bed is comfortable and the linens fresh and clean. Overall, the room I had was also very clean, including the shower stall, itself pristine. The big flat screen TV was also nice. The only negatives, and they are small are, the hotel showers have a soap dispenser which is meant to be used for both hair and body wash. That seems a little silly to me. I also found the younger front desk staff helpful, but their somewhat shabby appearance detracted from an otherwise fine and professional outfit. There are no irons or ironing boards or hair dryers in the rooms. You need to fetch them yourself from the front desk and haul them back to your room, something a more helpful and service oriented staff would refuse to allow to happen. There is no business center at this hotel; just a lobby computer in full view of everyone and everything. But the front desk staff will print documents. With that said, though, these are small issues the hotel can easily fix, if they feel they need addressing, and considering the price and cleanliness and proximity to the water, it is a great little hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sirtravelalot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 727 Bay St, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 6Y3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#8 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Sleep Inn Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing