We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hopefully room renovations are next, not just lobby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
135 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Hopefully room renovations are next, not just lobby”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2007

Stayed 4 nights at this property. As mentioned by others, it's handy to the casino, canal boardwalk, the tourist train, and shopping mall with anchors of Sears and Zellers. Front doors are manual - which is a pain when you've got luggage. The lobby renovation is almost complete, but the rooms are lacklustre.

Carpet is newer, but furnishings included old medium blue chairs and a beige couch had stains and wear. Long coffee table. Picture on wall was terribly faded, and the bedspread and drapes are past their best before date. Bathroom is adequate but dull. Free wireless highspeed in rooms; they have adapters at front desk. No fridge or microwave. No free breakfast. My room had the angled windows, which gave a nice view of the area. There's a Central Fire Station on the west side that can be a bit noisy.

Fitness area is a glassed-in corner of the pool deck. Minimal equipment, but the treadmill and stairmill are new. Eliptical was jerky and noisy. Televison and room air conditioner, but no water cooler, fans, towels, and nothing to clean the equipment. The pool, whirlpool, and co-ed sauna are fine; there's painted pictures on the pool walls to distract you. That area is open until 11pm.

There's a young woman at the front desk that's well suited to her job: bubbly, outgoing.

I had supper at the Grand Festa onsite restaurant. It was very good. Room service is available.

SSM Ontario hotels seem to need something to raise the bar on quality; I was in the lobby of Holiday Inn and saw the pool, fitness, and public washroom - I can see why reviews of that hotel are negative. Yeach.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Dated room furnishings
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ABtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    94
    19
    10
    1
See reviews for
59
88
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2007

My kids and I checked into this hotel for a two night stay in order to enjoy the Algoma Train Tour. We found the hotel very "old" and in need of an upgrade. I would not say the carpets are the cleanest either. We where also disappointed to find that the in room movies where not working. We booked this hotel through expedia and I thought I had booked a room with two doubles and a sofa bed - on check in - no sofa bed - we ordered a cot for the room - I know cots are never the best but this one was horrible. They should provide a better mattress for travelers requiring a cot. All in all - would not stay here again.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank osborj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2007

I booked two rooms at this hotel for my family as we were taking the Algoma Central Railway Agawa Canyon Tour Train the following morning. Unfortunately, this hotel - and most hotels for that matter - never tell you that portions of the hotel are under renovation construction when you place your booking. When we arrived, the entire lobby was under construction and looked every part of it. No creative efforts were employed to disguise the mess created by bare concrete floors where tile had been removed, open stud walls, etc. The first sight that guests received when they entered the hotel was of the ongoing construction.

This was unfortunate since the front desk staff was very helpful and, as their promotional literature states, if you wanted to stay any closer to the train depot, you would have had to sleep on the train. The location is excellent for folks wanting to take the train the next morning as it's possible to leave their vehicle in the hotel parking lot and walk across the street to the train. However, I would suggest driving your car across the street to the free train depot parking so that it would be there waiting for you when you return from your enjoyable train journey. The hotel is also directly across the street from a nice shopping mall.

My suggestion for anyone considering booking this hotel is to inquire about the status of the lobby construction.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Under construction lobby
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank VetteGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2004

This hotel is a very nice place to stay. It only takes acouple of minutes to walk to the casino or over to the board walk along the water front. There is a large mall across the street. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean.

Helpful?
7 Thank Truckerbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2004

I stay regularily at the Quality Inn in Sault Ste. Marie when on business. The staff is friendly, rooms are always clean and most have good views. They have an indoor pool. The hotel is right across the street from the Station Mall so good for shopping and movies. The hotel is in walking distance to the casino. You can ask for your free casino package at the front desk. Rooms are equipped with hair driers and toiletries.

Sometimes it is hard to get a parking space close the hotel. The restaurant, the Grand Fiesta, has fabulous food. Overall, it is a great place at a good price and is a home away from home and I will continue to stay there for years to come.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
1.5 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Address: 180 Bay St, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 6S2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#7 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
108 beautifully appointed rooms & suites, full service hotel. Indoor pool, sauna, hot tub & fitness centre. Restaurant & Lounge. Four Meeting & Banquet rooms ,Business Centre. Choice Hotels 2015 Platinum award winner, top 3% of all of Canada for Guest satisfaction,Room Cleanliness and Product Quality . Located in downtown Sault Ste. Marie, On. directly across from the Agawa Canyon Tour Train, Station Mall, Essar entertainment centre, River Boardwalk, Mill Market and only 1 block from the casino and the closest hotel to The International Bridge between US and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bay Front Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Quality Inn
Bay Front Quality Inn
Quality Inn Sault Ste. Marie
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing