We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel, restaurant lackluster”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, restaurant lackluster”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Hotel very nice, my well-priced room was huge and had a view of the river. Staff were helpful and courteous. The food in the bistro was not very good (there was a recent change of ownership, but I don't see an improvement since I was there in July 2011).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane R, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking time to post a review on trip advisor. The staff is very dedicated at making your experience a pleasant and memorable.

I do have some great news regarding our Bay Front Bistro. In just a couple of days we are renovating the Bistro. A complete new look, new staff, new menu - we are very excited about the new Bay Front Bistro.

We look forward to seeing you again and I look forward to hearing about your experience with our new Bay Front Bistro.

Be sure to ask for Shane or Jodi the next time you are staying with us and we will provide you a tour of the new Bay Front Bistro.

On behalf of the entire staff; we thank you for choosing the Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front

See you again and safe travels

"Modern Comforts with Classic Elegance and exceptional service is what we do best"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    95
    19
    10
    1
See reviews for
59
88
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leamington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I have to say, I was very apprehensive when booking at a Quality Inn. I normally do not stay at any Choice Brand hotel. I usually stay with IHG and Marriott brands or stay at Boutique hotels.
What a great property!
The decor was very nice and the room was exceptionally clean.
The staff are very friendly and always engaging.
I enjoyed my stay so much that my following 3 trips, I booked with the Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Room was very clean and comfortable. Very disappointed with the hotel staff. Staff were not friendly at all and they did not go out of their way to help us with finding information on city attractions, and they could not recommend a kennel for animals. Desk staff never acknowledged us coming or going, never said 'Hi' or even made eye contact, which made me leary and wondering about how they new of the people entering the building? Cleaning staff appeared happy and she said "oh good" when I told her we didn't want our room cleaned during our stay. Because I am a people person, I can not give this hotel a 5 star rating. Station Mall is right across the street. 180 Bay Street restaurant on site was average with average prices. And, as I stated the room was very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Our room was about half way down the hall and one night all we could hear for 2 hours was loud drunk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iwantmore2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

First time in this hotel. The service was friendly the rate was reasonable and the room was very nice.

Room Tip: Kingsize rooms on a high floor are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This is an average chain motel a block from the lake walk and walking distance to restaurants and attractions.

Average free breakfast in morning--has option for a hot breakfast for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. catharines
Level Contributor
357 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

The staff was alright, not overly friendly or outgoing but helped us get our room.Everything in the bayfront area is close at hand but it is a bit of a drive to the new section of town or the highway leaving town. The price was elevated a bit being bayfront but the rest of the hotel did not seem inline with the elevated price. Next time we are going to stay in the strip on the highway just north of the bayfront strip.Continental breakfast was just like everywhere else nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

My wife and I chose this hotel because it is located across the street from the terminal of the Algoma Central RR. tour train. We were given a room on the first floor, as was requested. The night manager, an American, was very helpful in getting/finding an ATM which would work for us. The room and the continental breakfast were as fine as can be. We were told we could park our car in the hotel lot during our day trip on the train, although we didn't. All in all, a pleasant and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank draftdodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
1.5 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Address: 180 Bay St, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 6S2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#7 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
108 beautifully appointed rooms & suites, full service hotel. Indoor pool, sauna, hot tub & fitness centre. Restaurant & Lounge. Four Meeting & Banquet rooms ,Business Centre. Choice Hotels 2015 Platinum award winner, top 3% of all of Canada for Guest satisfaction,Room Cleanliness and Product Quality . Located in downtown Sault Ste. Marie, On. directly across from the Agawa Canyon Tour Train, Station Mall, Essar entertainment centre, River Boardwalk, Mill Market and only 1 block from the casino and the closest hotel to The International Bridge between US and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bay Front Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Quality Inn
Bay Front Quality Inn
Quality Inn Sault Ste. Marie
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing