We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, relaxed atmosphere, 24hr gym and 4 pools!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service, relaxed atmosphere, 24hr gym and 4 pools!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Water Tower Inn is nothing fancy, but the staff is exceptionally friendly and polite. Despite that there's no complimentary breakfast, the hotel is adjoined to Casey's restaurant, that has a breakfast service and serves Starbucks. (I instead went across the street to the all-day breakfast joint for breakfast.). There's a jacuzzi outside, which is beautifully maintained, jacuzzi inside, and 2 salt (chlorine free) pools inside. Gym facilities are small but they are open 24 hours, which is nice if you're busy or there on business and need to get up early for a sweat. Locals also can be members of this pool, so I managed to talk to some friendly people that gave me the low-down on the good eateries in and around 'the Soo'.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmeg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
You’re from Helsinki, Finland. We have quite a Finnish element in Sault Ste. Marie, as you’re likely aware. Best cross-country ski trails in the north right here. The Inn’s owner, JJ Hilsinger, actually skied the 75 km. Finlandia some years ago. Glad your stay was pleasant and that you enjoyed our pools. Did you used the sauna too? Thank you for your review and your compliments to our superlative staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    125
    60
    18
    6
See reviews for
140
143
27
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Superb staff... they all had wonderful personalities, great humour, professional and welcoming.

We ordered a pizza through the pub. It was made in a wood over and features their house-made marinara sauce that was incredible. YUMMY!!!

Apparently they have a 24 hour gym, a pool, an indoor hot tub, an outdoor hot tub, and a sauna. We didn't use any of those facilities but understand they are nice and we would take advantage next time. And, there will be a next time!

Now for the room... it was spacious and comfortable, clean and a perfect temperature. It offered a bar fridge, and there was a large shower stall and lovely vanity in the bathroom. The towels were more rough than I'd have expected or enjoyed, but not the end of the world. The tv was a large screen flat panel that was very new. There was a comfortable sofa, too, and the tv could be turned towards the sofa or the bed.

The bed and sheets were fabulously luxurious! They offer 7 types of pillows, also. I could have stayed in bed and been fed that pizza for a week straight...

We had a queen sized bed in our room and the room cost us $129 for the night... a lot of value for the price. I easily could have stayed another week or two. This is a gem in the Sault.

Room Tip: try to book through an online site to get an even better deal and you'll feel like you're on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickAndNoraHoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Great review Nick and Nora from London, Ontario…are you sure you’re not professional copywriters? I swear I could use this in our brochure. Sorry you didn’t get to enjoy Club Cabana Aqua Spa and Tempospa Health and Fitness, which indeed is open 24 hours. So glad you are coming back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

The staff are all very friendly and make you feel welcomed.

It has the best pillows and duvet among all the hotels I have stayed.

As I checked out the night before my departure, I asked the front desk to book me a taxi in order to catch a 6 am flight. He immediately suggested that I could ride in the hotel's shuttle with the air crew. Wonderful suggestion. As I left, the staff reminded me if I needed a wake up call. They are very attentive to details.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayteekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
You nestled down into one of our premium Snugglebeds…triple sheeted with quality linens, and your choice of pillow type. I see by your profile that you are a seasoned world traveller, so thank you for taking the time to review us. I will pass your accolades on to our well-deserving, very special staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you would like the Ritz,, don't go to the Sault. For comfort, friendliness, helpfulness and good food go to the Water Tower. We have stayed there for years on the way to our cottage, and every year they exceed our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfred841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you Alfred D. for your heartwarming review. And you’re all the way from Los Angeles. I was prompted by your reference to the Ritz to explore the origin of the term, which is now a dictionary word spawned by the style of famed Swiss Hotelier César Ritz (1850-1918), known as the "king of hoteliers and hotelier to kings." Ritz redefined the meaning of luxury in 1920s Europe with his management style in hotels in London and Paris. It’s true we don’t have crystal chandeliers, nor have we entertained kings (that we’re aware of), although governor generals and quite a number of big name performers have happily graced our suites. Your compliments to our comfort, friendliness, helpfulness, and good food pretty much sum up our brand of hospitality…along with our northern Ontario ambiance and architecture, unusually large choice of rooms and suites and the convenience of everything under one roof, including two full restaurants, a spacious fitness area and a unique aqua spa area with pools, whirlpools and waterfalls. Wishing you many happy days at the cottage.

V1920, in ref. to the luxurious Ritz hotels in N.Y., London, Paris, etc., commemorating Swiss hotelier César Ritz (1850-1918). Ritz (n.), as in put on the ritz "assume an air of superiority" is recorded from 1926.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Water Tower Inn for two nights August 2 & 3. The purpose of our trip was to to the Agawa Canyon Train Trip, which didn't disappoint.
We found the rooms very clean & the beds super comfortable. Also we were on the 5th floor which was very quiet. It was a nice touch having bath robes, free wi fi, coffee maker, fridge etc. The pool & hot tub looked inviting, but we didn't have time to use it.
The hotel staff was very accommodating & helpful. We ate at Caseys for breakfast & dinner. The food was very good & the prices reasonable. The restaurant staff was just fantastic. It was really nice having a Starbucks & being able to help yourself. This Casey's is defiantly a step above any other Casey's I have ever dined at in the past.
I would highly recommend the Water Tower Inn.
Doug & Peggy
August 5, 2013

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
WOW…great review Doug and Peggy. The Agawa Canyon Tour Train rarely disappoints, and is the Sault’s greatest tourist draw. The Fall colour Train Tour is so popular (the wilderness route is ablaze with red maples starting mid-September) that it’s hard to find accommodation in the city. The winter tour is spectacular as well. I assume you took our Agawa Canyon Train Tour Package, which included accommodations, breakfast, tour tickets, and gift bag. A popular choice, since everything is done for you so you can enjoy, enjoy, enjoy. Unfortunate that you didn’t get to try Club Cabana Aqua Spa and the only outdoor whirlpool spa in the Sault... but next time. I see in your TA profile that your travel style is “nothing but the best”. Thank you for the compliment, and may you soon return to our beautiful area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We are on the way from Oakville to Edmonton & decided to stop in Sault Ste Marie yesterday. We got to the hotel fairly late & went straight to bed so we were only there for about 10 hours in all so I can't comment on the pool, restaurant or other amenities, but the room was great. We were happy to see an easy chair - hotel rooms usually have a desk chair and a bed, neither of which is optimal for reading or watching tv (which was a flat screen, btw). There was also a desk with an office chair; wifi was free and there were actually enough plugins to recharge three cell phones and an ipad, another hotel rarity! The bed was very comfortable, premium linens, bathrobe and all necessities provided. Overall, a very nice place to stay at a reasonable rate.

If there is a fault, it would be the lack of signage directing guests around the property, both outside in the parking lot and inside the building. There are at least two doors with a portico outside and a large reception room inside, but only one of them is the lobby, and if you end up in the wrong one, there don't seem to be any signs to direct you to the right one.

Other than that, we had a good stay and I look forward to being able to stay a little longer next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeEdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review Lee. Glad you chose to stay with us on your long journey to Edmonton. Seems a lot of hotels have tried charging for Internet over the past few years (we never have), but they seem to be changing back now, I think because free, fast Internet is becoming so ubiquitous in all retail venues. No one has mentioned our entry signage before...thanks for tip...I will look into it immediately. Appreciate the kudos and look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights last week and would recommend it if you are looking for a mid-level hotel. Nothing spectacular, but clean and quiet. The TV was pretty old...haven't seen a tube TV in years...time to retire it. Internet was quick and easy to set-up.

The bar was nice and the breakfast at the cafe was good...nice waitstaff and quick service.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your review Frank. I won’t take issue with the “mid-level” nomiker you give us, since we so frequently have guests comment on our unique amenities. All in the eye of the beholder, as they say. A tube TV these days is an eyesore, no argument there. Just too out-of-place in this fast-forward digital age of ours. Unfortunately, you seem to have been set up in one of the couple of rooms, that at this very minute, are being replaced with flatscreens. We completely gutted and redecorated the Inn over the past few years, and a few rooms missed out on some updates…all being remedied now. (Confession: I still have a tube TV at home, and would get rid of it if the picture wasn’t still so darn good). We have free fast Internet throughout the Inn; people always appreciate that. Do hope you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.4 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
564 reviews
2.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
470 reviews
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
277 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection

Property: Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Address: 360 Great Northern Road, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z7, Canada (Formerly Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#2 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#6 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A full-service Inn with 176 rooms and suites, Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites offers professional and genuine hospitality. Under one roof, you'll find Casey's Grill.Bar, the Water Tower Pub (live music Wed. To Sat.), Club Cabana Aqua Spa with the Sault's only 4-season outdoor whirlpool, Tempospa Health & Fitness, The Pavilion Conference and Event Centre, and the McGuffin Gallery. Located at the cross-roads of Sault Ste. Marie, there are many shops and restaurants nearby, plus ample parking (perfect for those with bigger rigs). If you're on an outdoor adventure, we offer free secured storage for motorcycles, ATVs, snowmobiles and outdoor equipment such as kayaks. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algoma`s Water Tower Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Algoma`s Water Tower Inn And Suites
Algomas Water Hotel
Hotel Algomas Water
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing