We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the Sault by far”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Best in the Sault by far”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you would like the Ritz,, don't go to the Sault. For comfort, friendliness, helpfulness and good food go to the Water Tower. We have stayed there for years on the way to our cottage, and every year they exceed our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfred841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you Alfred D. for your heartwarming review. And you’re all the way from Los Angeles. I was prompted by your reference to the Ritz to explore the origin of the term, which is now a dictionary word spawned by the style of famed Swiss Hotelier César Ritz (1850-1918), known as the "king of hoteliers and hotelier to kings." Ritz redefined the meaning of luxury in 1920s Europe with his management style in hotels in London and Paris. It’s true we don’t have crystal chandeliers, nor have we entertained kings (that we’re aware of), although governor generals and quite a number of big name performers have happily graced our suites. Your compliments to our comfort, friendliness, helpfulness, and good food pretty much sum up our brand of hospitality…along with our northern Ontario ambiance and architecture, unusually large choice of rooms and suites and the convenience of everything under one roof, including two full restaurants, a spacious fitness area and a unique aqua spa area with pools, whirlpools and waterfalls. Wishing you many happy days at the cottage.

V1920, in ref. to the luxurious Ritz hotels in N.Y., London, Paris, etc., commemorating Swiss hotelier César Ritz (1850-1918). Ritz (n.), as in put on the ritz "assume an air of superiority" is recorded from 1926.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    125
    60
    18
    6
See reviews for
140
143
27
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
home
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Water Tower Inn for two nights August 2 & 3. The purpose of our trip was to to the Agawa Canyon Train Trip, which didn't disappoint.
We found the rooms very clean & the beds super comfortable. Also we were on the 5th floor which was very quiet. It was a nice touch having bath robes, free wi fi, coffee maker, fridge etc. The pool & hot tub looked inviting, but we didn't have time to use it.
The hotel staff was very accommodating & helpful. We ate at Caseys for breakfast & dinner. The food was very good & the prices reasonable. The restaurant staff was just fantastic. It was really nice having a Starbucks & being able to help yourself. This Casey's is defiantly a step above any other Casey's I have ever dined at in the past.
I would highly recommend the Water Tower Inn.
Doug & Peggy
August 5, 2013

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
WOW…great review Doug and Peggy. The Agawa Canyon Tour Train rarely disappoints, and is the Sault’s greatest tourist draw. The Fall colour Train Tour is so popular (the wilderness route is ablaze with red maples starting mid-September) that it’s hard to find accommodation in the city. The winter tour is spectacular as well. I assume you took our Agawa Canyon Train Tour Package, which included accommodations, breakfast, tour tickets, and gift bag. A popular choice, since everything is done for you so you can enjoy, enjoy, enjoy. Unfortunate that you didn’t get to try Club Cabana Aqua Spa and the only outdoor whirlpool spa in the Sault... but next time. I see in your TA profile that your travel style is “nothing but the best”. Thank you for the compliment, and may you soon return to our beautiful area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We are on the way from Oakville to Edmonton & decided to stop in Sault Ste Marie yesterday. We got to the hotel fairly late & went straight to bed so we were only there for about 10 hours in all so I can't comment on the pool, restaurant or other amenities, but the room was great. We were happy to see an easy chair - hotel rooms usually have a desk chair and a bed, neither of which is optimal for reading or watching tv (which was a flat screen, btw). There was also a desk with an office chair; wifi was free and there were actually enough plugins to recharge three cell phones and an ipad, another hotel rarity! The bed was very comfortable, premium linens, bathrobe and all necessities provided. Overall, a very nice place to stay at a reasonable rate.

If there is a fault, it would be the lack of signage directing guests around the property, both outside in the parking lot and inside the building. There are at least two doors with a portico outside and a large reception room inside, but only one of them is the lobby, and if you end up in the wrong one, there don't seem to be any signs to direct you to the right one.

Other than that, we had a good stay and I look forward to being able to stay a little longer next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeEdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review Lee. Glad you chose to stay with us on your long journey to Edmonton. Seems a lot of hotels have tried charging for Internet over the past few years (we never have), but they seem to be changing back now, I think because free, fast Internet is becoming so ubiquitous in all retail venues. No one has mentioned our entry signage before...thanks for tip...I will look into it immediately. Appreciate the kudos and look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights last week and would recommend it if you are looking for a mid-level hotel. Nothing spectacular, but clean and quiet. The TV was pretty old...haven't seen a tube TV in years...time to retire it. Internet was quick and easy to set-up.

The bar was nice and the breakfast at the cafe was good...nice waitstaff and quick service.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your review Frank. I won’t take issue with the “mid-level” nomiker you give us, since we so frequently have guests comment on our unique amenities. All in the eye of the beholder, as they say. A tube TV these days is an eyesore, no argument there. Just too out-of-place in this fast-forward digital age of ours. Unfortunately, you seem to have been set up in one of the couple of rooms, that at this very minute, are being replaced with flatscreens. We completely gutted and redecorated the Inn over the past few years, and a few rooms missed out on some updates…all being remedied now. (Confession: I still have a tube TV at home, and would get rid of it if the picture wasn’t still so darn good). We have free fast Internet throughout the Inn; people always appreciate that. Do hope you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Recently stayed there and have nothing but good things to say about the hotel and their staff!

We had 20 rooms with them and everyone enjoyed their stay. The catered dinner for us on one of the nights for the team in the Library and no-one left hungry.

A special shout out to the owner JJ for his wilderness tour he took the girls on, they are still talking about it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks, Doug. We enjoyed the pleasant young people you brought to the Inn. JJ Hilsinger, the Inn’s proprietor, is an avid hiker and cyclist, and often encourages people to experience the beautiful wilderness area the Inn has stewardship of, just north of the city. JJ led about 20 of the team members on a jaunt through the forest to the Beaver pond, where there are huge towering white pines and all manner of wildlife. Connecting our young people to nature connects them to the ecosystem that supports them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwestern Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Water Tower Inn is a great hotel in the Soo....great location, not downtown but near shopping and good restaurants, including the restaurants in the hotel. This place is amazing...if you need a packed lunch for a sightseeing day, they will pack a delicious lunch for $10. The rooms are clean, modern, and fairly quiet. Price is reasonable and staff are all friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloriousLakeSuperior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Not downtown, but just 5 minutes away. We’re across the road from the Big Store Mall, and located on the City’s paved Hub Trail, a terrific way to get around the city walking or cycling. Our Trailhead Adventure Hosts are specially trained to give you all the info you’ll need to get to adventures and activities around the Sault and beyond; they’ll even devise an itinerary for you. So the fresh-packed lunch is a popular request. Glad you got to Casey’s Grill.Bar and the Water Tower Pub, two popular social spots in the Sault. Thank you for your kudos to our staff. Will pass it on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here and made an extra long Canada Day weekend.

The beds are sooo comfy - you practically melt into them.

The food is good and there is lots of it.

No matter where you are - the restaurant or poolside, the staff are attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
It sounds like you must have "melted" into one of our Snugglebeds...superior linens, Simmons Beautyrest mattress and a luxurious duvet. Very decadent! Thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.4 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
564 reviews
2.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
470 reviews
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
277 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection

Property: Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Address: 360 Great Northern Road, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z7, Canada (Formerly Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#2 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#6 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A full-service Inn with 176 rooms and suites, Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites offers professional and genuine hospitality. Under one roof, you'll find Casey's Grill.Bar, the Water Tower Pub (live music Wed. To Sat.), Club Cabana Aqua Spa with the Sault's only 4-season outdoor whirlpool, Tempospa Health & Fitness, The Pavilion Conference and Event Centre, and the McGuffin Gallery. Located at the cross-roads of Sault Ste. Marie, there are many shops and restaurants nearby, plus ample parking (perfect for those with bigger rigs). If you're on an outdoor adventure, we offer free secured storage for motorcycles, ATVs, snowmobiles and outdoor equipment such as kayaks. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algoma`s Water Tower Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Algoma`s Water Tower Inn And Suites
Algomas Water Hotel
Hotel Algomas Water
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing