We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as part of the Agawa Canyon Train Tour package. Great value for money. Excellent breakfast included. We bought the packed lunch to take with on the train trip and it was more than adequate and better value than what was available on the train. Sandwiches and cookie were fresh and made on the premises.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, giving us all the information we needed.
The 'goody bag' given to us when we checked in was a nice treat.
Would recommend and stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeehash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Co-ordinator at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
I'm so happy you were able to fully enjoy the Inn's northern hospitality. Thank you for the review and happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    116
    59
    17
    5
See reviews for
130
133
27
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

My husband and I asked for the upgraded room and Agawa Train package and thought at the time, it was a reasonable price, if they delivered on the quality. We arrived a day early as the weather wasn't great for hiking and asked if we could get the upgraded room. They were all taken for that night so we got a standard room. We were very impressed with the standard of the that room and would have been happy to stay in it, but were really impressed when we got in the upgraded room the next day. It is a really nice facility, very clean, good restaurant for all times of day and a really good value for
the price. They gave us a packed lunch for the wonderful train trip (it was enough for two meals for us, but we are seniors and probably younger people could have eaten the whole delicious lunch). I have told many friends that a trip to Sault Ste Marie for the train trip, water and hiking activities and Bush plane museum is a great trip and they must stay at the Water Tower Inn. We hope others will enjoy, too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnSmithOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Co-ordinator at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for the review and for the many recommendations to visit the Sault, the Agawa Canyon Tour Train, and of course, Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites. I think the title of your review very much reflects our company culture - we are much more than what our star rating suggests. Now, I sure hope you had one of our homemade granola bars in your lunch-to-go...delish! Thanks again and season's greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Clean rooms (bathrooms spotless) albeit tired rooms. Beds are comfortable enough. Nice touch to add creamers in the fridge in lieu of usual coffee whitener. Walls a bit thin. Had to turn on tv to drown out next rooms mid level conversation. What this place has going for it compared to other hotels in area is nice pool with waterfall and outdoor hot tub. Decent workout room. They have an on site pub with live entertainment. "Jazzy Jeff Holmes" sounded great last night. Good conference and business networking facilities. Serves Starbucks coffee and 5 dollar breakfast sandwich deal, and although there is a Casey's on site, if you have small kids, there is a McDonalds across the street with a Play Place (next door to the independent Steamy Bean coffee house, also good). Bottom line, we paid a reasonable rate at 119 for the night. We would stay there again for our son to use the pool facilities, if their rate stays competitiveap. Be warned though, this is junior hockey country, so if you don't want any part of kids running thru the halls (as they do), ask if there is a tournament on during your stay and if so to put in a "quieter block" of rooms. Front staff very courteous too.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Acornart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Co-ordinator at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
You obviously enjoyed the many amenities that make us a "Resort for the Price of a Room". Club Cabana Aqua Spa (our pool facility), as you say, is unlike any other in the Sault, and perfect entertainment for adults as well as our younger patrons such as your son.

We are serious about the comfort and quality rest of all of our guests, and have a zero tolerance policy in regards to noise in the halls. Our Reception staff are pleased to deal with any complaints.

Thank you very much for the thorough and honest review. I wish you a very happy holiday and a safe trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Water Tower Inn Dec. 2012 for a romantic getaway, from the moment we arrived we were amazed with the hotel and staff. We stayed in the Dream Suite (Rm 200), when we walked in there was a bottle of champaigne chilling and a bag of goodies to enjoy. There was also a cherry scented bubble bath and body lotion setting on the edge of the tub. We had only been in the room for a couple minute when the front desk called to find out if everything was good with the room and to see if we needed anything else to enjoy our stay. Overall my wife and I had a great time and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmreaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Co-ordinator at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Love stories are always the best! Glad we could be part of your romantic getaway. We look forward to seeing you when you return for more cherry-scented bubbles and bubbly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The rooms may be small, but really - i'm here to sleep! always have a great sleep here - EXCELLENT beds, and the front desk does provide flat pillows is puffy is not to your liking. Very quiet (as crew members, we get 'guest sleeping' signs outside of our rooms, even at 5pm - because that may very well be when we are sleeping. May not be super central, but has everything you need and the shuttle boys are the best!
I have not used the spa, but i hear great things about it - especially the outdoor year round hot tub. I have used the gym and it is fine - better than most hotels i stay at.
i have stayed with family as well, and i like the feel of this place... a beacon of sleepy comfort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CNDpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Co-ordinator at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
You obviously stay in many hotels nation-wide, and therefore know a good hotel when you see it. As much as we try, many guests are not aware that we offer different pillow options should our regular pillows not suit your needs - I'm glad you have taken advantage of this service and that it has helped make us your "beacon of sleepy comfort". Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I had a long day of travelling; just looking foward to getting home, and I was delayed. I had to book a place to stay last minute, and a fellow traveller recommended the Water Tower Inn & Suites. The booking was simple and affordable, and, upon arrival, the front staff and manager were friendly, warm, and very helpful. My room was well appointed, the bathroom stellar and had a jacuzzi tub, and the room was nice and quiet even though the floor was near full occupancy. I understand they had renovated recently and it looked new and the whole facility was clean and well kept. Casey's staff at the restaurant were helpful, yet not overbearing, and the food and drinks great. I soaked in the tub before bed, enjoyed the chocolates left on the bedside table, and had a terrific sleep. The morning staff were just as pleasant. I've recommended it to a number of coworkers who travel through the Sault (Sue), and those who had been there before said it's always been an excellent experience. Warmth and charm meet you and send you on your way. It's perfect for anyone looking to shop too - lots of options directly across the street and near by. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the jacuzzi tub - excellent way to unwind after a long day of travelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Co-ordinator at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
I'm so glad our "warmth and charm" exceeded your expectations and made your experience here at the Inn so wonderful! I noticed you provide some very wonderful tips in your review...may I suggest another? Perhaps you were not afforded enough time during your impromptu stay, but seeing as you're a fan of our jacuzzi tubs, I would suggest you try to find some time to relax in our water-spa, Club Cabana Aqua Spa next time you're in town...the indoor and outdoor hot tubs are both extra deep and extremely soothing. Safe travels and return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The title kind of says it all. The rooms are great, but you should also know there is a fantastic restaurant called Casey's Grill.Bar where you should absolutely order the salmon. Wow! They also have a pool facility that is more spa-like than what you might expect at a hotel. Very nice. You can also rent a bike during your stay, which is an absolutely great idea.

We happened to stay here during the Algoma Fall Fest, which offered up a performace of Nova Scotia's Beaton Sisters right down the hall from the lobby. Talk about convenient!!

Room Tip: I'm not sure all their rooms are quite good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martinaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Co-ordinator at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
The Beaton Sisters are fantastic performers, and what luck for your visit to coincide with their show! I'm glad you were able to fully enjoy all of the Inn's various amenities including the delicious food in Casey's Grill.Bar. As you said, bike rentals are available for our guests, and there's really no better way to explore the Sault's many attractions than under your own pedal power.

Just a tip: The Algoma Fall Festival runs every year (just celebrated it's 40th) from roughly the beginning to the end of October. The many musical and theatrical performances are always superb! Look for the 2013 line-up on the Festival's website in the Summer and perhaps you'll find another show you might want to see.

Thank you kindly for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.4 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
2.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste...
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection

Property: Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Address: 360 Great Northern Rd, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z7, Canada (Formerly Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#2 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#6 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A full-service Inn with 176 rooms and suites, Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites offers professional and genuine hospitality. Under one roof, you'll find Casey's Grill.Bar, the Water Tower Pub (live music Wed. To Sat.), Club Cabana Aqua Spa with the Sault's only 4-season outdoor whirlpool, Tempospa Health & Fitness, The Pavilion Conference and Event Centre, and the McGuffin Gallery. Located at the cross-roads of Sault Ste. Marie, there are many shops and restaurants nearby, plus ample parking (perfect for those with bigger rigs). If you're on an outdoor adventure, we offer free secured storage for motorcycles, ATVs, snowmobiles and outdoor equipment such as kayaks. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Best Western, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algoma`s Water Tower Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Algoma`s Water Tower Inn And Suites
Algomas Water Hotel
Hotel Algomas Water
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing