We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't understand why its high priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Don't understand why its high priced”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Had an awful experience here and at their stretched bar Casey's. Still unclear why it was more expensive than other area hotels as it is nothing special. My door didn't close all the way, the bathroom was chinsy, and when I complained vehemently the next day about the poor service in the bar all the staff did was hand me a comment card....so here's my comment: terrible!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miafioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We’re sorry to hear you did not enjoy the Inn. You also commented on our restaurant, and from the wording, we have noted that it must have been the Water Tower Pub, not Casey’s Grill.Bar, that you visited. Which of course makes no difference otherwise. You felt you received poor service and we are sincerely sorry for that. Since you have subsequently sent us the date of your visit, we can now discuss this issue with the staff involved. Thank you for keeping us on our toes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    121
    60
    17
    6
See reviews for
134
138
27
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

To begin I have to say I found this place a little on the expensive side despite a reduced rate for Wedding group. The hotel is nice and clean with great amenities, the location is great as it is situated on a major intersection and close to any type of shopping and dinning you could want. Check in was quick and painless for the most part, the pool area is great; indoor hot tub, large pool, kids pool with waterfall, sauna, large clean change rooms, another hot tub outside in a cozy nicely landscaped courtyard. The only drawback here was trying to get towels, the attendant was never around and you couldn't bring the towel back to your room so there were a lot of wet bathers walking through the hotel. The rooms were pretty standard fair. No cot service. The banquet lobby/hall was very nice although the cash bar had Toronto prices $1.75 for a small glass of pop had lots of people running back to their rooms and cars. I can't comment on the all the servers but ours must have been on her maiden voyage, she served our table 1 person at a time, seriously, she could only carry 1 plate at a time ! For every course of the meal, too bad really. The food when it did come was pretty standard banquet hall fare. We ate at the pub one night and were none too pleased, our table of 6 included my 5 year old daughter for whom they had no provisions on the menu. When I asked if we could have a smaller portion or make some minor changes due to allergies the servers reply was "what did you expect, this is a pub" regardless we ate there and the food was again "ok" but still a little on the pricey side. I guess in summary I would have to say Average place with above average pricing, get a grip this is the Soo, not exactly a must go to destination maybe Algoma Steel is hedging their bets with a high priced hotel ?

Room Tip: Obviously stay away from rooms that look over the indoor pool area, the kids are in their early all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunWorship46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Algoma's Water Tower Inn had attentive, charming staff who assisted with pleasant behaviour. The interior was tastefully arranged and beautifully decorated, with a most pleasant dining area (excellent steaks), a fun pub with good music, a main entry area like a friend's living room - great fireplace, terrific seating, nice paintings and good videos. The indoor and outdoor pools were gorgeous (although we didn't swim). Our bedroom suite was excellent - comfy, cozy and pretty. The exterior landscaping around the Inn was most attractive. Lovely - and to be highly recommended to any friends who plan to visit Sault Ste. Marie. The Inn's services were very thoughtful, with special, thoughtful arrangements for us making our Agawa Canyon Tour a great delight.

Room Tip: Third floor and higher rooms have excellent views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Co-ordinator at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Sault Ste. Marie is a gem of a place. A vibrant city of 75,000, the solar energy centre of Canada. Our red maples crimson up the landscape like a wildfire in autumn. The Agawa Canyon Fall Train Tour here is almost sold out for the season…a tribute to the incredible and accessible wild and beautiful country here, and the primal need for people to experience it. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englehart, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

It was easy to book because you talk directly to a real person, who is pleasant and knowledgeable, the staff is friendly, the pool warm, the pub has the best pizza and atmosphere with entertainment on three nights of the week, the rooms are beautiful and affordable !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Co-ordinator at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you! Pizza…wood-burning oven. Uncommon and delish. Actually, we originally hooked up with Il Fornello, Toronto, in the 90s, and got their specs to build their signature pizza oven. It's a mouthwatering feature item in the Water Tower Pub where we have Wednesday night blues, Jazz Fridays, and Saturday Night LIVE, which all feature live bands. And 16 brews on tap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierson, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I spent my birthday at the Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites this past weekend. What a wonderful time we had! Couldn't believe the service and hospitality we received. We also took advantage of the tour package for the train and everything was all set up for us. All we had to do was show up. We will be back and we will recommend The Water Tower Inn to all our family & friends.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherylT922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Co-ordinator at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Well, Many Happy Returns. Love your enthusiasm. Our staff are A-1; the best. I often ask them what they like about working at the Inn. They always, always answer…the people I meet and the people I work with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitouwadge, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have stayed here multiple times and love it! The place is clean& beautiful! The staff is fantastic, the pool area is wonderful. Casey's is great never disappointed! The rooms are a little small but we still enjoy staying here while in Sault Ste Marie! I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Co-ordinator at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
I think you win the award for "most exclamation marks in one review"! Haha! It's great that through your multiple visits you've really been able to enjoy all of the special amenities that make us a "resort for the price of a room". Thank your for your enthusiastic comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

What a nice surprise to find in this city. Beautiful pool. Large outside hot tub beside a small waterfall. A courtyard area is nicely landscaped with small tables and chairs to relax in.
The pub is friendly and has local groups performing several times a week. We were charmed by a threesome of young men singing everything from Elvis, country, rock, to playing fiddle and classical music as a fun interlude. The rooms are newly decorated with fancy bathrooms. We especially appreciated that although there were several groups of sports teams there at the same time as us, we were given a room well removed from them, so that we were never disturbed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MV58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Co-ordinator at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We’re thrilled you discovered all the extra little features at the Inn. The Water Tower Pub, with 16 brews on tap, offers live entertainment 3 nights per week, as well as other special performances throughout the year, including the June SSM Blues Festival, and performers from October’s Algoma Fall Festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.4 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
543 reviews
2.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste...
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
308 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection

Property: Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Address: 360 Great Northern Road, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z7, Canada (Formerly Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#2 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#6 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A full-service Inn with 176 rooms and suites, Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites offers professional and genuine hospitality. Under one roof, you'll find Casey's Grill.Bar, the Water Tower Pub (live music Wed. To Sat.), Club Cabana Aqua Spa with the Sault's only 4-season outdoor whirlpool, Tempospa Health & Fitness, The Pavilion Conference and Event Centre, and the McGuffin Gallery. Located at the cross-roads of Sault Ste. Marie, there are many shops and restaurants nearby, plus ample parking (perfect for those with bigger rigs). If you're on an outdoor adventure, we offer free secured storage for motorcycles, ATVs, snowmobiles and outdoor equipment such as kayaks. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algoma`s Water Tower Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Algoma`s Water Tower Inn And Suites
Algomas Water Hotel
Hotel Algomas Water
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing