We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well cared for so we went back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well cared for so we went back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Starting with the exceptional front desk staff (thanks Keri!) my sons and I fell immediately into a state of comfort and care. After a long day on the road from Montreal, complete with an auto breakdown, we melted into the warmth and family-like atmosphere of the Water Tower Inn. The room was just right for the three of us, clean and spacious. The salt-water pool was perfect for burning off hours of constraint in the car and we indulged in the outdoors hot tub. The staff made my boys feel heard when they had needs, like directions to the ice machine (very important when one is eight years old) or how to order room service.

As we prepared for the return to Montreal three weeks later, we all agreed that booking ahead for a room at the Water Tower Inn was a must. So we did, and the second stay showed us that the first experience was the norm and not an exception. This hotel is on our list of recommendations to friends and family. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jocewatt, Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
What a wonderful review, and beautifully written, I might add. Our family built, expanded and have operated the Inn for 37 years. We now have 3rd generation family members involved in operations. Plus exceptionally friendly staff, some of whom have been part of our family for 20+ years. So from our family to yours, we thank you for taking the time to write about your pleasant experience at Algoma’s Water Tower Inn and Suites.
Donna Hilsinger
General Manager
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    118
    59
    17
    6
See reviews for
132
135
27
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Huron, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

We spent one night as a stopover in Sault Ste. Marie on our way to Lake Superior Provincial Park. Came with my husband and 2 boys (5 and 7 yrs.). Reception was welcoming. Room was very clean and up to date/modern. Great firm bed with pillowtop. New. Boys slept on a pullout double which was made up for them when we arrived and was also very comfortable. Bought the Family Room and meal package. Great deal! Included Breakfast and dinner in Casey's restaurant attached to the hotel. Food was excellent and more than enough choices to suit all our discernable tastes. The home-made granola at breakfast was fabulous and the hostess and waiters/ressess were very friendly and eager to please...even though they knew that all taxes and gratuities were included in the package price! $249 got us everything. Much cheaper than buying it all seperately. Before dinner we had a great swim in their salt water pools and huge hottubs. The sauna was great. Pool area and change rooms exceptionally clean and quiet. Pool chemistry was right on and wasn't at all busy. The indoor waterfall feature wasn't working when we were there. Had a beer poolside. Kids had great fun. Don't expect a view from the hotel room, but if you're looking for a great spot on a stop-over or even to spend a couple of nights it is right on the highway through town and within easy access of all local tourist attractions. Will definitely stay there again if needing to stop-over in the Sault...on either side of the border!

Room Tip: Ask for package specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamandjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

From the front desk staff to the servers in the Pub everyone was friendly even the girl that was assigned to clean our room said goodbye. The entire hotel has been renovated and is modern and new. We enjoyed our room, we overlooked the courtyard and would go down to the courtyard in the evenings to listen to the waterfalls and enjoy a hot tub and or a swim.

Room Tip: We stayed in a small suite with a small kitchen, separate living room and it had a nice large shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyGard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

This was my first time traveling to the area, and we used this facility for a public meeting as well as my accommodations. The meeting facilities were excellent, and the hospitality staff were very helpful, pleasant and looked after our needs quickly & efficiently. My room was a Top of the Inn room, and it was terrific. The "snugglebed" lived up to it's name! All of the staff (cleaning staff, front desk, managerial) were very helpful and professional. The entire hotel, inside & out was an inviting atmosphere. I expect to return to the area for business and will be making my accommodations reservation here again - next time I'll remember to pack a suit to enjoy the pool and hot tubs! Thank you Algoma's Water Tower Inn for a fantastic first impression & memorable stay in Sault Ste. Marie :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weelittlehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teacapan, General Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit your very favourable comments. You must bring your suit….we’re the only hotel in town with an all-season outdoor whirlpool (of course we have an indoor whirlpool, sauna, salt-filtration swimming pool and waterfall pool too). If you are back for a meeting, ask for a personal tour of C-nergy. This technically enhanced meeting room is one-of-a-kind, and allows you to collaborate internally and globally with amazing results, as our users tell us. I have passed on your compliments to our fab staff. We certainly look forward to your next visit.
Donna Hilsinger,
General Manager
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

We made a quick trip to the Soo and remebered the Water Tower Inn from a weekend trip 25 years ago. It wasn't the cheapest place but the location was nice. When we crossed the border at the bridge there were factories spewing smoke. The WT Inn was not close to this smelly area (good thing!). Although it is an older property, it was very well maintained, clean and up to date. The restaurant had wonderful food with a lot of healthy choices using fresh ingredients. The service was very friendly and helpful both at the front desk and in the restaurant. The outdoor areas were also well maintained. I am not going to wait so long to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterbor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Besides having great restaurants and great staff, Algoma’s Water Tower Inn really caters to outdoorsy people like me. They have a Trailhead program with a Host who can help you plan your activities, and I found this really helpful in finding good hiking trails. I stayed in one of the special Trailhead rooms that had a larger entrance where I could store my backpack, boots etc. My room overlooked a courtyard with big trees and waterfalls, (and an outdoor whirlpool) so I never felt I was “in town”. The jet tub was a bonus after my long hikes. The inn is close to trails and parks, and I was able to rent a bicycle too. Definitely an excellent choice for any outdoor types who want to be active, but come home to comfort and luxury.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank thetwotonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teacapan, General Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for posting a review of the Trailhead program at Algoma’s Water Tower Inn & Suites in Sault Ste. Marie. We designed the Trailhead rooms with larger foyers to accommodate outdoor equipment, jet tubs in the bathrooms, and comfortable seating areas. Our Adventure Host keeps up-to-date on outfitters and attractions in the area, and personally visits the trails to stay on top of conditions, making sure the Inn can provide updated maps and itineraries to guests. We named it the Trailhead program, because of our location, which gives easy access to a great number of the routes, parks and trail networks.( Motorcyclists and snowmobilers appreciate that we can provide secure, indoor storage for their machines). We look forward to your active return.
Donna Hilsinger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

My kids and I stay at the Water Tower about every other month for 4nt's. We all just love it.

The staff at the Water Tower is what starts the whole experience off just right. Having not been to the Water Tower Inn for a while, I recently walked in to two smiling front desk staff, and it felt like home.

We always request a room, if available, overlooking the park like Courtyard. It has an outdoor hot tub, trees, and outdoor eating tables that we use quite often to have a Casey's meal taken out and eaten out there. Very relaxing, and the kids love it. We're in the Club Cabana once to twice a day enjoying the two pools, and two hot tubs. The small kiddies shallow pool with the waterfall into it, is what we call the warm pool, as it's bath tub like for the little ones.

In winter we make full use of the outside hot tub as well. The kids think it's great to walk outside in the Courtyard with the snow covered trees, and sit in the steamy hot tub.

The Water Tower is not your typical hotel experience, as they advertise it's definately is a resort for the price of a hotel. A perfect spot for families, sport teams, snowmobilers, or skiers.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyboy0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.4 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
2.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste...
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection

Property: Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Address: 360 Great Northern Road, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z7, Canada (Formerly Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#2 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#6 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A full-service Inn with 176 rooms and suites, Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites offers professional and genuine hospitality. Under one roof, you'll find Casey's Grill.Bar, the Water Tower Pub (live music Wed. To Sat.), Club Cabana Aqua Spa with the Sault's only 4-season outdoor whirlpool, Tempospa Health & Fitness, The Pavilion Conference and Event Centre, and the McGuffin Gallery. Located at the cross-roads of Sault Ste. Marie, there are many shops and restaurants nearby, plus ample parking (perfect for those with bigger rigs). If you're on an outdoor adventure, we offer free secured storage for motorcycles, ATVs, snowmobiles and outdoor equipment such as kayaks. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algoma`s Water Tower Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Algoma`s Water Tower Inn And Suites
Algomas Water Hotel
Hotel Algomas Water
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing