We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel three different times for four days at a time when visiting relatives in Sault Ste. Marie, ON. It is very comfortable and clean. We enjoyed the included hot breakfast and newspapers every morning. This hotel is convenient to everything in the city and also for day trips across the border to the U.S. Parking is plentiful and when we have been there in the winter the parking lot is always clear of snow. Next time we will try the indoor pool which looked very inviting.

Room Tip: We prefer the bottom floor near the end of the hallway on the left side of the hotel, because it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you have chosen to stay with us for your family visits to Sault Ste. Marie. I will agree, it is quite easy to get anywhere in the city from this location and being right on Highway 17 makes the location that much easier for anyone just passing through. Hopefully during your next visit you will get a chance to tryout both the saltwater pool and hot tub. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    99
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
107
78
20
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
U.K.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I have stayed here on a couple of occasions and found the rooms excellent and the staff beyond compare ( Thanks to the reply from the hotel for mentioning Teresa's name, at the breakfast bar, in reply to another review. She is a real star! ) . 10/10 all around. My only 'negative' is that I personally found the bed to be a bit firm for my personal liking, but to be honest, that's just my opinion and as you can't please everyone ( your needs might be different ) its not something that would remotely put me off staying here in the future. HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krozby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. It is always nice to hear when our guests enjoyed their time with us. 10/10 is such a high compliment!!! Thank you again for your recommendation. We hope to see you next time you are in Sault Ste. Marie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

After two weeks of travel, staying in budget motels along the route, and this being our last night before reaching home, we decided to go treat ourselves. By some standards, the Fairfield Inn may also be considered a budget hotel when compared with full-service luxury facilities, but this location was a real treat. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Having negotiated a suite for the discounted room price, we found the room to be extremely neat and comfortable, with all possible amenities, including microwave, fridge, coffee-maker, two flat-screen TV's with a wide range of cable channels, and free Wi-Fi service. Most importantly, everything was in working order (unlike some places we've stayed). It enabled us to unwind from our travels and relax on the couch and watch TV before retiring to the separate bedroom area. Free (i.e. included) breakfast included a variety of hot and cold food options, and was of high quality. Apparently a 4-year-old facility, this hotel looked like new, and was sparkling clean throughout. If you're looking for comfort and (relative) luxury when passing through the Sault, this may well be the best place in town.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side don't have much view, but they are very quiet. Ask about room rates and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaglebreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for the wonderful review of your recent stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We have an amazing staff here that truly care about the hotel to ensure that our guests are receiving the best possible care while staying with us. Thank you again for taking the time to post this review on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here in April 2014, initially for two nights, due to a family medical emergency. Due to extreme weather conditions and unforeseen medical complications, we stayed for a week, on a day by day basis. At one point we had a call at 3 am, to go to the hospital. The next day, when we went to extend our room, the staff on the previous night shift had taken the initiative to block the room, so that it would be available for us, should we need it - which we did. Also a special mention to the lady at the breakfast bar ( name unknown, but I will endeavour to find out ) who was so bright, friendly and helpful each morning with, "Good morning and welcome to breakfast!" and on whose shoulder I almost literally cried - she was fabulous, thank you!
Spotless, helpful, great facilities, great breakfast and staff that were above and beyond. I would give it 6 out of 5 if I could. No hesitation in recommending staying here, I certainly will again.

Room Tip: Don't think you could go wrong in any of the rooms. I stayed in 101 which had great access to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tedstates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us earlier this month. I'm sorry to hear of the circumstances to which you had to stay, but am delighted to hear that the staff was able to make it much easier for you. Teresa is our full time breakfast attendant, and she is truly an asset to the Fairfield Inn & Suites family. I will be sure to pass this review along to her as well as the rest of the staff here. Thank you again for posting such a wonderful review. We hope to see you again very soon and next time under much better circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was my second stay at this property. The first was shortly after it opened four years ago in 2010. I chose this place as my first experience was pleasant and its location meant that I did not have to venture far from the Trans Canada Highway as once again Sault Ste Marie was simply an overnight stop between Thunder Bay and the Greater Toronto Area. The front reception staff were very pleasant, my reservation was quickly found, and paperwork quickly completed and access cards issued. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. We used the fitness centre and the equipment worked. The breakfast choices were good and the area well stocked. Checking out also went very smooth. The only complaint I would have is that the room smelled a little when we first entered (it came from the air conditioner/heating unit). Running the fan and putting some heat in the room (it was a cold and wet day outside) seemed to overcome the problem while we occupied the room. Based on this (and my previous stay) I would stay at this property again should I need to do another trip from Western Canada to Southern Ontario.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for posting your review and choosing to stay with us a second time while visiting Sault Ste. Marie! I am happy to hear our location was convenient and that the staff you encountered were pleasant and efficient. The Fairfield Inn & Suites team truly takes great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we can continue to deliver exceptional guest service in the future.

Melissa Parr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was as overnighter at this place. room clean and quiet. staff friendly, breakfast was really good. Theresa, the woman at the breakfast area greeted us and treated us like we were royalty.
The location was perfect for our needs. Nice pool to use.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ardbeg56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us on TripAdvisor. I would have to agree with you that Teresa is exceptional, we are very lucky to have her as a member of our Fairfield Inn & Suites family. Thank you again for your wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Sault Ste. Marie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Very pleasant staff and nice clean spacious rooms. Very friendly breakfast staff. I find this hotel located very close to the part of the city for my business needs. Stay here whenever I am in SSMarie

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. With the Industrial Park right behind us, the hospital across the street, as well as shopping and restaurants within walking distance, we are in the perfect location for many business travelers to Sault Ste. Marie. Thank you again for the wonderful review, we look forward to seeing you on your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.9 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
545 reviews
2.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suite...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
494 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Address: 633 Great Northern Rd, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 5A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#9 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re traveling for business or pleasure, Fairfield Inn & Suites, provides everything you will need to make the most of your stay at a convenient location! Great value and great service; all backed by a name you can believe in: Marriott. We also offer great group rates, whether it be for a wedding or sports team. You will find everything you need right at your doorstep. Included in the rate is a complimentary breakfast served daily, free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel, a Salt Water Pool, Jacuzzi, a 24-hour Fitness centre, guest laundry on site and ample free parking. We also offer over 1000 sq feet of meeting space. Within walking distance to the hotel you'll find several excellent restaurants as well as great shopping. We are a 15 minute drive to all arenas and the downtown core. We are also the closest hotel to the new location of the Sault Area Hospital. Call one of our experienced Guest Service Representatives today to book your stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott-Sault Ste. Marie - Where staying is believing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Fairfield Inn And Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing