We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food....small portion”

Montana's BBQ & Bar
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 10/14
8:00 PM
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were looking for some ribs so decided to stop in. The place wasnt real busy on a Monday nite so the staff were attentive and quick. We both ordered ribs. The food came pretty quick and for two guys we were a little disappointed in the size of the order. Ribs were very good but I wish the order was bigger for the price we paid. Then to top it off they would not accept Amex so had to scramble for another card and cash. I think for the price of the ribs they could accept Amex

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank FrankG554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recipe l, Manager at Montana's BBQ & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Frank, thanks for sharing. We will be passing your feedback along to our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were in Sault Ste Marie for a medical appointment and decided to have a late lunch before heading back to Sudbury. We chose Montana’s because usually this chain always has good food, we’ve been to many, in different locations and we have always walked out happy with our experience. That is, until we ate at this Montana’s in Sault Ste Marie. The only good thing about it was the view of the bridge to the states where we sat. There were only a handful of customers when we were there, so it wasn’t overly busy. We ordered a Cobb salad for me, wings and poutine for my husband and crispy onion rings to share. When the waitress brought our order to the table, she brought everything except the wings, stating that it’ll take another minute or so before they come. Well, it took so long that we honestly think she initially forgot to place the order for them and ordered them as an afterthought! My salad was ok, except for the presentation. Usually, Cobb salads are served with all the ingredients on top of a bed of lettuce, placed nicely, one beside the other. Not this one! It was tossed, with a dry piece of grilled chicken sitting on top. I only saw a couple of mushroom slices and a few onions, mixed in the wilted lettuce. The “crispy” onion rings were crispy alright! They were way overdone! The fries in the poutine tasted rubbery, like they had been sitting a while before they made the poutine. When the wings finally came, ten minutes later, they were overdone also! We were given no extra napkins, no bucket for the bones, no wet-naps. When my husband pulled out the bbq sauce bottle to add a bit more sauce to his wings, the bottle had a long hair stuck to it, gross. Nothing about this meal was any good and had we not been in a hurry to get going, we definitely would have complained! We won’t be going back to this restaurant and the owners should be ashamed to call themselves Montana’s!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank GinaandDave055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recipe l, Manager at Montana's BBQ & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon Gina and Dave. We are terribly sorry about the experience you had with us recently and we want to ensure that this is made right. Could you please fill out a short form with more information at reviews.montanassurvey.com? Your reference number is 36510910-GD.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019

Big place, busy when we were there. The food was good and beer was cold. Waitress did a good job considering the crowd.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recipe l, Manager at Montana's BBQ & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2019

Thanks Ed! We hope we can have you back in a quieter time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019

What a great meal out! My family and I enjoyed our dinner. It was perfect my three year old loved his meal!! The service was really good as well. Our waitress Gillian was awesome!! Anything we needed she was there. So friendly and outgoing!! I recommend this place 1000%!! I can’t wait till next time.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank punkydo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recipe l, Manager at Montana's BBQ & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2019

Hi, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear about your recent experience with us and the service your. It was a pleasure serving you and we hope to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019

Four of us had a different meal and they were are great. Very flavourful dishes. Server was very pleasant and we did not wait very long.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank trixie5313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recipe l, Manager at Montana's BBQ & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2019

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear everyone enjoyed their meals and we hope to have you back sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana's BBQ & Bar also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Montana's BBQ & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing