We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic Motel”
Review of Adams Motel

Adams Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sault Ste. Marie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adams Motel
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Almonte, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Basic Motel”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Only one pillow per person. Too expensive for what you get. Older TV. I believe thus is a $65 a night Motel and not $76 plus tax veterans/government rate. It lays literally in the shadow of more popular Hotel only $40 more. Very basic toiletries with wafer thin soap.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soo4you, General Manager at Adams Motel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
First of all we do thank our guest for choosing us. Yes, we are a smaller budget minded motel, but we certainly don’t compete against the larger chains, like the Hotel next to us. The chain hotel next to us is a very nice hotel. Our TV’s are 27” but not flat screen, but work well and clear. Yes we offer the basic toiletries, such as individually wrapped soap and shampoo and conditioner which are replaced daily for the guest staying extra evenings. If extra is needed as to toiletries or an extra pillow we will happily accommodate our guests if requested. We generally charge approx $40 to $60 less than the chain hotels that is true, it really depends what people are willing to pay, we found many travellers did appreciate the savings. Having said that, our location, cleanliness, quality beds and bedding are 2nd to none, something we are quite proud of over the past 19 years..! As in the larger chains we also offer, drip coffee makers, mini fridges enhanced cable channels and free WiFi. Thank you for taking the time to read our reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
9
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kakabeka Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Nice clean rooms. We were able to get a room towards the back so then we didn't have any noise from road or neighboring rooms. We had our dog with and had a nice well lit place to take dog out back. Water is hot and has good pressure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soo4you, General Manager at Adams Motel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you much for the great review, we value all of our guests, believing that happy guests will spread good things to others. It is gratifying to know that our ongoing hard work doesn’t go unnoticed. Thanks again ..... your host at the Adams Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Had stayed in another motel in the Sault area for previous 25 years on summer and fall trips to Canada but the owners had sold and retired and the place had really declined in the last few years. When the experience there hit rock bottom in Oct 2012 I drove up highway 17 looking for another place and stopped into the Adams motel for the first time. What a difference! I needed a place to base at night and from which I could bird hunt during the day for a week and this place fit the bill perfectly. The proprietors were friendly, efficient and helpful way beyond expectations. And the room was exceptionally clean and in great shape. I got more for my money than I would have at the big chain motels, along with easier room access, spotless conditions and friendly people.

So I came back in 2013 and found 2012 was not a fluke... just as it was in the previous year everything was great....spotlessly clean, roomy, everything in great shape, great hot water and water pressure, respectful clientele, friendly proprietors willing to help, etc. etc.

I've recommended to friends and they have had the same comments as they've come up at different times to hunt or fish.

This place is run extremely well, and will be my place whenever I'm in the Sault area from now on.

Kevin Smith- Rockford, Michigan

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soo4you, General Manager at Adams Motel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent favourable review, it pleases us that your experience with us was a great one. We have owned and operated this property for the past 19 years and have always strived to offer our guests a pleasant and comfortable stay. We are privately owned, and feel that our own personal touches and our great location has meant just a little more to our guests than just another motel/hotel along the way. Please consider us again, if your travels brings you our way.

General Manager
Adams Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Just checked into our room, and already this is the best room so far on our bc to ontario road trip! The price is great, the front desk lady kind and personable and the room just plain wonderful.
Driving across Canada we've been staying in budget friendly motels. As I said above BEST so far. The room is not only clean and visually appealing with all amenities in working order, but there are nice touches like decorative folding of the towels and glass drinking glasses rather than your usual disposable plastic ones.

We are so pleased with our relaxing little room and will pass the word on to other travelers and definitely stay again on other trips!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soo4you, General Manager at Adams Motel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
We are always thankful for our valued guests kind words. We have always strived to be a very clean and fair valued motel and is very pleasing to have people take time out of their busy schedules to share their experiences with others. Thanks again, and we at the Adams Motel, hope to see you again if your travels take you through our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

On a trip around Superior we pulled into Sault Ste Marie late in the evening, The location is what grabbed our attention after originally intending on heading further into downtown. All we really wanted was somewhere clean, comfy, cheap and most importantly close to a restaurant.

Adams Motel ticked all the boxes, the lady on reception was very friendly even kept smiling when I called her over having trouble locking the room when going out, my fault after a long drive, not the doors.

The room was basic as expected but both beds (our little girl loved her smaller one) were comfortable and we made use of the tv, fridge and iron available. There are many restaurants close by but our choice to walk next door to Chicago Pizza worked out well.

All told this was a great place to stay for the price and convenience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryBarnstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soo4you, General Manager at Adams Motel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your words of encouragement, we are always grateful that we could make our guests stay at satisfying experience ... thanks again and please come again..!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangaroo Flat, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I always like to stay in motels that are not chains, and Adams Motel is literally in the shadow of a corporate behemoth. So I felt good about making the choice to stay here. Until I actually STAYED there. It's a beat-down place, although the room was clean. There's a skeevy edge to the Adams. The walls are thin enough that you can hear the drunken laughter, then the arguing, and finally the grunting/moaning from other rooms. Remember the 1960s creepy-funny show titled "The Addams Family"? I was flashing on that here.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bukko_Canukko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soo4you, General Manager at Adams Motel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are a motel, and generally our room charge is much less then the larger chain hotels, but having said that, we still offer, very clean comfortable rooms with free WiFi, small fridges, in-room coffee makers and enhanced Cable TV . We are very surprised and very sorry that this person had a bad experience. We have always strived to maintained the Adams Motel to higher standard of comfort and cleanliness. Unfortunately, we had no way of knowing there was any issues and thus, no way to address them. Nothing was reported or said at anytime, to any staff member during the entire stay or at check out. A simple phone call to the front desk would have received immediate attention to any concerns. Had we been made aware of, or had the opportunity at anytime to address any concerns we are confident we could have taken steps to satisfy any worries what so ever.

Over the last 19 years, we take great pride in what we do here at the Adams Motel, but in these days of open forums everyone is entitled to their own opinions and reviews. Clearly, your opinion of this property, differs greatly from the majority of our many guests. In closing we would happily welcome you back and ensured your stay here with us would be a most satisfying experience.

Thanks for taking the time to read our reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunswick, ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Since 1985, this writer along with friends and family have visited the Sault to enjoy the Algoma Central Rail Tour both during the winter and fall seasons. We stayed at the Adams Motel each and every time. The construction of new motels nearby was never an enticement to spend our evenings anywhere but at the Adams Motel. From the moment one connects with the front desk to check in and all the in-betweens to checking out is accomplished efficiently giving off the impression our stay as well as our return visit was of great importance to them. The condition of the rooms reflect a place of business that is considerate of their guests' safety and comfort. The exterior grounds are welcoming in appearance. All-in-all, if you are looking for a nice place to spend one or several evenings, your money will be well spent by making the Adams Motel your home away from home.

Room Tip: All room locations are good choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soo4you, General Manager at Adams Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thanks very much for your kind words,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
678 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suite...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adams Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adams Motel

Property: Adams Motel
Address: 647 Great Northern Rd, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 5A1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the main strip in Sault Ste. Marie's new shopping district, Adams Motel is reasonably priced and offers a clean and friendly place to stay. Closest motel to the New Sault Area Hospital. A short walk to many restaurants and box stores such as Wal-Mart, Best Buy, Tractor Supply Store (TSC) just to name a few. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adams Motel Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing