We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Staying”
Review of Chipican Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chipican Motel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Reviewed March 1, 2008

I enjoyed staying at the Chipican Motel. The rooms are clean, service is excellent. Very decent rates. Management & staff are nice people & friendly, and friendliness goes a long way with customers.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MirandaOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Chipican Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 41 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2007

Comparing to the rent we paid the motel room was decent and above our expectation. It was comfortable, clean and very quiet. Next door restaurant meal was very delicious. We were visiting some of our relatives during Christmas holidays and next time again it will be our place of stay for sure.

Stayed: December 2006
2  Thank Robsimrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2006

This place is absolutely disgusting. We walked into the room, turned on the light, and saw nothing but filth. One bed was messed up, there was dust covering all furniture, what seemed to be blood stains all over the back of the door. The bathroom was the grossest thing I've ever seen -- black mold/mildew growing in the shower, toilet stained brown. The air conditioning unit was duct taped into the window, the "wonderful" fridge & microwave dated back to the 80's.. Stains on the carpets, cigarette burns in the sheets, garbage in the drawers.. It was as though someone had just come in, made the beds, and the room was abandoned for a number of years.

Front desk staff was not polite or courteous in any way. We were stuck with a prepaid reservation and nowhere else to go at 3am. Not worth the money, however cheap the rates may be.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank redhearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2006

I usually go to sarnia at least once every month for my business trip and always stay at this motel. The reasons are, quite and nice location, lowest price in town, big and fairly clean rooms. The best part is it is located right across a beautiful park which is my favorite place in whole town and I always like to walk in that after supper in the next door restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonymelero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2006

This place is the kind of place you would drive by and wonder "who would stay there" Room rentals very cheap by the week.
Curtains are dirty and hanging off the windows. The restaurant next door is a good cheap steak place (different owners) but the hotel needs to be gutted

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Trustmetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2006

I stayed at this motel for a night during the Bayfest weekend. Their rooms were fine, not too fancy and luxurious. The room I had, had all the basic necessities I required and I found it to be a decent enough place to stay peacefully at for the night, with a pretty reasonable price.

When I went there the motel was almost fully booked, but the staff did a good job of keeping it very quiet during the night time. My room had everything they said, though I really had no use for the mini-fridge or microwave, because I dined at the next door Chipican Restaurant. I strongly recommend that restaurant to anyone who has the chance of stopping by there. They truly served some of the best steaks I've ever had.

I read some of the other reviews from some of the other travelers here, and I think some of them simply had different expectations than I had, or were simply impossible to please, complaining about every little thing.

Everything is nearby this motel's location, and I'd probably stay there again, especially for rate I recieved.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RSmith75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2006

This hotel was so bad we did not even walk on the carpets with bare feet. The matresses filty. The bathroom moldy. The "drapes" held up by masking tape. I do not know how this place hasn't been shut down already. We stayed up and out of the room for as long as possible. Because it was for one night and we were leaving early in the morning we stayed. NEVA AGAIN!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank missj2873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarnia hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Sarnia
Quality Inn Sarnia
#3 of 16 in Sarnia
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn
3.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 16 in Sarnia
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chipican Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chipican Motel

Address: 1144 Christina St N, Sarnia, Ontario N7V 3C3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range: $47 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chipican Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chipican Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chipican Hotel Sarnia
Chipican Motel Sarnia, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing