We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally A Descent Ethnic Restaurant In Sarnia”

Sitara Indian Cuisine
Ranked #1 of 207 Restaurants in Sarnia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $13
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Ethnic Indian Cuisine Restaurant in Sarnia, Ontario. Sitara, home of authentic Indian cuisine, is a full service dine in, take out, and catering East Indian Restaurant in Sarnia/Lambton County and Port Huron area. Sitara excels in the best-kept secret about Indian food that is aroma and flavors. Curry flavors make East Indian Cuisine one of the very best on Earth. Indian food is essentially very healthy and is traditionally cooked using a variety of naturally grown curry spices and herbs. Sitara staff use only Canola oil and locally grown fresh produce from the local Farmer’s Market.Vegetarian, Vegan, or Gluten Free Diet? No problem. Sitara carries a wide variety of vegetarian curry selections. Lentils, chickpeas, and assorted variety of fresh vegetables are prepared in curry sauces. Lentils and Chickpeas are very high in protein. Paneer, a soft and light Indian cheese made from cows milk adds aroma and flavor to the curries and is high in protein. Sitara chefs specialize in cooking vegan dishes that are equally tasty without the use of meats, dairy, oils and fats. Sitara menu is 98% gluten free with the exception of bread, samosa's, and a dsert Gulab Jamun. Let our waiting staff know that you prefer Gluten Free diet and our staff will make sure that your food is gluten or wheat flour free. Sitara is a fully licensed Indian Food Restaurant. We serve domestic red and white wine, domestic beer, imported beer, and the classic Indian beer, King Fisher. King Fisher is very popular in North America, Europe, and India. Hard liquor and mixed drinks are also available.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Finally A Descent Ethnic Restaurant In Sarnia”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We just moved back to Sarnia after years of being away. Where we in Alberta, the choice of restaurant fare was fantastic. We have found since moving back that the same restaurants are here and the menus have not changed. (caught in a time warp) We love Indie food and missed it very much when we came back. Well my wife saw a sign for Sitara and wanted to try out the food. We went on a Friday night and ordered the Chicken Tikka, Aloo Gobi, Butter Chicken, and Basmati Rice. While waiting for the order to arrive at the table they came around with some complimentary Papadom which was flavourful and crispy. When the Chicken Tikka arrived at our table it was sizzling on the cast iron platter. The aroma made our mouths water while we spooned it on our plates. It was fantastic with the right amount of spice and the chicken was very moist and tender. Then the Butter Chicken, Aloo Gobi, and Basmati rice showed up, we commented on the aromas, size of the tender pieces (huge) of chicken in the Butter Chicken. As we were eating the food, we both comment on how good everything tasted and my wife grabbed a takeout menu as well as telling the owner we would surely be back. We left too full to try their dessert. Next time we will leave room for that.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank riccobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitaraSarnia, Owner at Sitara Indian Cuisine, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write the review. We will continue to work hard to maintain the quality and authenticity of our food. We are very proud of our food, menu selectio and most importantly, our loyal and generous customers!!

Kind regards!

Sitara Team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    53
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strathroy, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We ordered take out on Saturday night for four people and it only took 20 minutes. The portions were big enough that we split 3 main dishes, 2 orders of rice and 2 orders of garlic naan between 4 people and we ate until we were full and there were leftovers.

We can't wait to have it again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitaraSarnia, Owner at Sitara Indian Cuisine, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you Kathleen for taking your time to write the review. We will continue to work hard to maintain the quality and authenticity of the Indian cuisine. We are very proud of our product, menu services and most importantly, our loyal and generous customers!!

Peace!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Sarnia”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have enjoyed Sitara several times, and keep introducing our family and friends to the wonderful food and the helpful staff. I would HIGHLY recommend Sitara. The food is outstanding, with very reasonable prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blavau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitaraSarnia, Owner at Sitara Indian Cuisine, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you Blavau for taking your time to write the review. We really appreciate the feed back. We will continue to strive for the best quality and service. We have recently added more decor to the dining area. So, please stop by and check it out!

Kind regards!

Sitara Indian Cuisine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So glad Sitara is here”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I just found out about Sitara a week ago and have been very excited to visit. At lunch today I ordered the plate of Samosas to start, the Chana Masala, Naan, and a side of Papadom. The shell of the Samosa was really crispy and the potato filling was delicious - but the real standout for me was the chutney topping. The chutney had a really great balance of hot and sweet - I would have gladly put it in a cup and drank it if that wouldn't have been embarrassing. The Chana Masala was great, and the chickpeas were pretty firm the way I like them. I've never had Papadom before, but it's a thin cumin flavoured crisp. It was maybe just a tiny bit salty for my taste, but I did enjoy them.

The people who worked there were really friendly. Lots of eye contact when we talked and one man even came to the table to ask how we were enjoying our meal. The service was pretty speedy even though the place was nearly full. (There was just one empty table for most of the time I was there)

I will be back, and often.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrandyG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitaraSarnia, Owner at Sitara Indian Cuisine, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you Brandy for taking your time to write a review. We really appreciate the feed back. It makes us maintain and continue to strive to add to our quality of food. Thank you again for visiting us.

Sitara Indian Cuisine!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our first time trying this gem! We ordered take out as it was a busy Saturday night....it was absolutely delicious!! The kabobs, chicken tikka and samosas were absolutely fantastic, reasonably priced and portions were a great size! We will most definitely make this restaurant a regular!! Thank you for bringing such great food to sarnia! :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becca933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitaraSarnia, Owner at Sitara Indian Cuisine, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you Becca for taking the time to write the review. We really appreciate it. It is very reassuring tous that we are doing a good job and fulfilling our promise to provide authentic Indian cuisine along with high quality and good service to people in Sarnia and the surrounding areas.

Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sitara Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Sitara Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing