We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view in the City! Super food and Service!”

Alternate Grounds Dockside
Ranked #14 of 247 Restaurants in Sarnia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Mexican, Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Reviewed March 3, 2019

Interesting food! The burger is STACKED, great wings, and the Fish Tacos are fabulous. This is a seasonal restaurant over looking the Sarnia Bay Marina with all the boats and birds, fish jumping...Wonderful spot, great service, super food. Go.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamvic0814, Owner at Alternate Grounds Dockside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much! I'm glad you enjoyed everything!
We look forward to welcoming you back as we reopen Friday April 5 for our 8th season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 169 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2019

Dockside is a beautiful place in the summertime. Nothing better than sitting on the patio overlooking the water and having a drink. Staff is friendly and welcoming. There is seating inside and outside and it is usually busy.

There are many different food items and on the two occasions I have been here I opted for salads. Food is pretty mediocre and pretty expensive for what it is. Overall, it is a great atmosphere.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank anabeltram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamvic0814, Owner at Alternate Grounds Dockside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, I'm glad that you've enjoyed your visits. We look forward to welcoming you back as we reopen Friday April 5 for our 8th season! and we've made some exciting changes to our menu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2019

Great menu, but expensive. Not as great as the hype. Weird location.Credit for a fresh menu, though.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Gardensnake14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamvic0814, Owner at Alternate Grounds Dockside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking time to leave a review, and mentioning that you like our great fresh menu. I'm not sure what mean when you say "weird location"? We are located in a marina, on the water affording one of the best views in all of the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

The indoor room feels like you are on a boat, but we found it too noisy to hold a conversation so we moved outside.

The outdoor patio is also overlooking water. Covered for the sun. Was cool when we were there and the restaurant provided blankets.

Service was efficient and friendly.

Shrimp tacos, fish and chips, and lobsters mac and cheese were all well prepared. The children also enjoyed the children's options--though if a child has a lactose intolerance the children options are not suitable for that.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank johnbyl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamvic0814, Owner at Alternate Grounds Dockside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for leaving a review! We have addressed the front room noise by installing sound absorbing panels on the ceiling.We look forward to welcoming you back as we reopen Friday April 5 for our 8th season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018

The restaurant was quite busy, and we requested seating away from kitchen,The problem being the quieter area has no a/c only screened open windows and it was a hot that day. We sat in the smaller main part of restaurant,near the semi open kitchen which was a tad noisy at times.
The fish and chips with a small side of coleslaw was very good. The fries are delicious.
Our waitress was very friendly and attentive, staff seem to work well together and are happy to to get what ever you need quickly.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amenitiesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamvic0814, Owner at Alternate Grounds Dockside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for leaving a review! I'm happy you enjoyed your meal and our service and we have addressed the front room noise by installing sound absorbing panels on the ceiling. I hope you'll be back, We reopen Friday April 5 for our 8th season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alternate Grounds Dockside also viewed

 

Been to Alternate Grounds Dockside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing