We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful Canatara Park & Beach

For years this park, Canatara, along with a beautiful, sprawling beach has been a number one place... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
mjwright2016
,
Sarnia, Canada
Great place for all ages, all free

Five of us went here ages from 8 to 60 . We stayed over 2 hours on a warmish , rainy fall day... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
ann p
Read all 322 reviews
  
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveler rating
232
65
11
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
65
11
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animal farm lake huron walking trails beautiful beach petting zoo point edward small lake playground equipment something for everyone great place picnic tables get togethers sandy beaches lots of picnic areas change rooms open fields hot august nights
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

For years this park, Canatara, along with a beautiful, sprawling beach has been a number one place to bring your family for a gathering. Lots of picnic areas to have lunch or dinner with your family and friends and go for a swim, walk, bike ride, walk, or to the Animal Farm. I have grown up in Sarnia and went there many times with my Parents and Brothers, Sister, Aunts, Uncles, Grandparents and had so many great times together. Still go there now that I am older and it is just such a beautiful park. You can even walk on the walking path from Canatara up towards the River and Bluewater Bridges and our Famous "French Fry Trucks" under the bridge.

Thank mjwright2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Five of us went here ages from 8 to 60 . We stayed over 2 hours on a warmish , rainy fall day , was beautiful there. 200 acres of park . 3,000 feet of beach which has been awarded a Blue Flag status ,its 1 of 27 beaches in Canada to have earned this due to its commitment to strict water quality .Too cold for us to swim that day but will go back in the summer for sure .This is home to The Children's Animal Farm which is wonderful , pigs , goats , ducks ,chickens, sheep , cows , ponies etc . IF it had been warmer we would have stayed a lot longer , great place to picnic , swim, and walk in park and beach. Just lovely for everyone .

Thank ann p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This park has been a cherished place while we were raising our family. Cross country runs, beach birthdays and Easter egg hunt memories flooded back as we entered the park. Please protect this place for future generations

Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The park is wonderful place if you want peace and quiet. Or a nice walk or a cool swim in the summer. The facilities are well looked after and the beach is great. The view can’t be beat either. You can easily spend all day here and stay to watch the sunset.

Thank nelix_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful place to visit, ample free parking, lovely pond alive with so much wildlife. Visited on an unusually warm October day and saw so many people of various ages enjoying the nature surrounding us.

Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

This is a very well kept park. It has a lot of nature trails where you can see a host of small wildlife to rare birds. The petting zoo has a lot of friendly animals that truly seem to enjoy all the attention they can get.

Thank cliffordguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018

We went to look for Monarch butterflies migrating. We only saw a few but were impressed with the large, clean, beautiful park. The beach was rocky but perfect for walking on and looking for stones. There were several clean restrooms. Lots of grass, parking and flowers. It is pretty park just to drive through. Very scenic. There was even a food truck parked there when we visited.

Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Great spot, something for the whole family.Lots of playgrounds, perfect beach, lots of bbqs,open sports field, walking trails and an animal farm for the kid in you.

Thank 222tracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

This is a nice, quiet beach. I like the idea of the matting from the parking lot down to the beach as it makes walking in the sand so much easier.

1  Thank ClassyFreeSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

This big parcel of land was donated back some 70+ years ago, and the Town has done a great job to offer many services for everyone @ NO COST!! There is so much to do plus swimming on some amazing beaches.....goto stop here if in Sarnia during the summer and catch a sunrise or sunset....

Thank Terry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews