We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food BUT desserts stale :(”
Review of Alternate Grounds Cafe - CLOSED

Alternate Grounds Cafe
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food BUT desserts stale :(”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a great little place for freshly- made sandwiches (turkey, mustard, sprouts and cucumber), salads and soups (cream of mushroom soup) with everything made right in front of you! However I was told that the butter tarts were the best around but mine were VERY stale and the pastry was inedible. We tried the raisin pie and the crust was so hard to cut that we sent it back and the replacement wasn't much better. Perhaps these were weekend left overs? Let's hope so as the rest of the meal was worth a return trip!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cec M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Had lunch there today”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I took the mother-in-law for lunch today. We had the rueben with a bowl of tomato pasta soup, shredded chicken salad, and, 1/2 ham, herb, garlic cream cheese wrap with a bowl of creamed vegetable soup and a side salad with strawberries, blueberries, mandarins and feta cheese on a bed of spring mix lettuce with a nice house dressing. Everything was fantastic! All home made, quick and friendly service too. I would highly recommend this place for lunch over all the franchises in this city. Parking is located in the rear of the building and it is oneway, with the lane by the restaurant being the exit. Limited parking in the front (3stalls)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank riccobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The breakfast here is great, we decided to go due to an add in the paper and glad we did!!! Service was great as well, would definetely reccomend it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Nice little cafe. Food is great and priced right. Good value. Nice friendly attmostfeer .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyclewayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamvic0814, Owner at Alternate Grounds Cafe, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you!!! Tell your friends and bring your family!!!
Brain and Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A definite stop.”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Fantastic food. The produce they use is amazing.
The coffee is the best we found in Sarnia.
Very polite and helpful service.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank GAWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamvic0814, Owner at Alternate Grounds Cafe, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Local! Local!! Local!!!
Coffee is from a local roaster... Produce is locally supplied!! (most of our meats are from Lambton county too)
Thank for noticing (and commenting) on the difference!
Brian and Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alternate Grounds Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing