We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended clean, nice motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fauld's Motel Sarnia
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We just spent two nights at this motel and found it to be very reasonably priced, very clean, friendly staff and definitely would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonable clean, comfortable motel. The only small negative we found was that we had lots of snow fall over the weekend and the parking lot was not plowed and had several inches of snow in it. We got stuck leaving the lot but finally got out. Do not let the outside pics of this motel fool you. It is obvious that the owners are keeping it up to date with comfortable beds, granite bathroom sink,(small bathroom though) crown moulding, flat screen t.v.microwave, fridge, coffee maker, nice furniture etc. etc.our room was well heated, however, they did not heat the room between 11 and 3 (check out, check in time) But we found it warm enough and it was minus 7 outside.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Grammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for Fauld's Motel Sarnia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

This motel is excellent value for a very reasonable price. The gentleman who served me was, as always very pleasant and personable.. .....

The staff was prompt with getting us our room and checking out. The bathroom looked pretty nice clean.

Room Tip: near by office
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed there four times this year. The rooms are very clean and very nice bathroom. You can not asked for nicer people to rent from. If you're looking for luxury this is not the place for you. If you're looking for a clean comfortable and quiet place to rest then look no further. What I also like is they accept pets as I have a dog. It's hard to find places that take pets now because of bad experiences in the past. So I do my very best to ensure Lily and I pick up her messes. Overall I would give this motel 5 stars for affordability, cleanliness and being accommodated friendly and respectfully. Great place!

Al McCrory, Belleville, Ontario

Room Tip: Rooms closer to office quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a simple, inexpensive place to stay on a Saturday night after seeing a concert, and this motel seemed to fit the bill. This is an old-school L-shaped motel, the kind where they still give you an actual physical key to your room. We paid about $50 for our stay. There are no queen- or king-sized beds on this property -- it's all double beds.

Both check-in and check-out were a bit odd, as the front door was locked both times -- we had to ring the doorbell and wait a minute for the manager to come in (via the adjoining unit, where it appeared he lived with his family) and unlock the door to let us in. I did not get the impression that the door was locked due to the area being unsafe -- there are several motels on this road, and it seemed to be a fairly safe, well-trafficked area -- but rather, it seemed that this motel simply doesn't see a whole lot of regular business, and so there doesn't seem to be a great desire on the part of management to have the front desk manned constantly. In fact, during our stay on a Saturday night, I counted only three other cars in the entire parking lot.

Our room itself was clean and basic, with a desk, nightstands on both sides of the bed, small table, 19" square TV, and an updated bathroom (new countertop, new shower). The bed and sheets were clean. The main problem with the room: there was no heat. There was a positively ancient radiator underneath the front window, but it did not operate (and didn't appear to have been operable in many years). There was a window AC unit above the old radiator, but it did not have a heat function. We stopped by the front desk to ask if they might have a space heater, but once again, the door was locked and there was nobody around to let us in this time. It seemed pretty strange that we would even have to ask for a heater, as the temperature outside was still pretty cold -- you would think that the room would already have a space heater inside waiting for us, or else that the manager would've offered us one right up front (without us having to ask).

During the night and early morning, we could hear a bit of traffic coming and going -- not sure if this was in the motel parking lot itself, or if it was on the neighboring street, but it was loud enough inside the room to be noticeable.

Overall, this motel served the function of "a clean bed to crash in," and it was inexpensive. But beyond that, I would not recommend this place, as it felt like the comfort of its guests was not really a priority -- this felt more like a private residence where they also happen to put up the occasional guest for the night rather than a full-fledged motel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Burglekutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I was greeted by a friendly and polite young couple at the front desk upon my arrival. Check-in / out was very efficient. Room was very clean, looked liked it was recently refurbished; had crown molding and very tasteful decor. The fridge and microwave were clean (although we only utilized the fridge). The room had a coffee maker, but as Tim Hortons was only a block away, we walked over for a good brew.

You could tell that the "bones" of the building were that of an older facility, but the property was very well maintained, bright and in good repair. They had a nice picnic area with patio sets and a BBQ, and for us (who travelled with a dog), they had a nice grassy area for pets to relieve themselves, or to just have a good frolic and a sniff around. (Always "stoop and scoop") :)

They also had a pool, but we did not take advantage of that on our stay, so we weren't sure if it was "open" or not, as we did not see anyone swimming in it.

We were there for only one night and although the facility is close enough to many amenties (Tim Hortons one block away, Esso Gas Station across the street, John's Diner <Restaurant> two blocks away, and of course the Hiawatha Slots and Racetrack less than one kilometre away), you still felt like you were miles away from the hustle and bustle of the city (Sarnia) - which was a 10 minute drive to its downtown core.

One must remember that this is a MOTEL - Not a HOTEL, and is located in a more 'industrial' type city within Ontario, and should therefore keep that in mind when booking your stay here. If you are one that seeks the 'luxury' of room service and all the fancy-schmancy bells 'n whistles (at overpriced fees to boot); then this is not your place. If you are lookig for a clean, comfortable and extremely affordable room in a fairly quiet and natural environment, then this is the place to stay!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and as long as the upkeep of the property remains as such, we will be certain to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank LJkooLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 48Ele85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarnia hotels
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 16 in Sarnia
95 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
The Gables Inn
#13 of 16 in Sarnia
32 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fauld's Motel Sarnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fauld's Motel Sarnia

Address: 1675 London Line, Sarnia, Ontario N7W 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range: $52 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fauld's Motel Sarnia 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Magnuson Hotels affiliate is your hospitality headquarters for all hockey games at the RBC Centre, 3 minutes away. Other area attractions include Hiawatha Horse Park and Slots, Lake Huron, the St. Clair River, Blue Water Fun Park, museums, city parks and many great restaurants are within walking distance. Guests of Fauld’s Motel may enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet access, free parking with room for large vehicles, picnic area, BBQ grill and pets are welcome. Guest room accommodations include free high-speed wireless Internet access, coffee makers, hair dryers, microwaves, mini-fridges and a wakeup service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fauld's Motel Sarnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fauld's Motel Sarnia Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing