We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not clean” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harbourfront Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Harbourfront Inn
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not clean”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Had to get a room at the last minute and this one had one available. It was a busy weekend with a major hockey tournament going on so few rooms available anywhere in Sarnia - Port Huron area.
The bathroom toilet was not clean, looked like someone had been sick.
I went to get ice in the ice bucket and noticed no protective covering on it, I thought my husband had taken it off, but he said no there was not one on it. Both my husband and our grandson used ice from that bucket but I did not. My husband came down violently ill the next morning and my grandson one day later, A COINCIDENCE!! I think not.
A friend of ours was also at that hotel that same night and when she checked in found a dirty towel hanging on the bathroom door, a broken toilet seat, hairs in the bathtub and the complimentary toiletries partially used. I know it was a full house but they knew in advance that it would be this way so that is not an excuse.
I e-mailed the hotel with my concerns about the ice bucket and cleanliness and did not get a reply. Very disappointed.
LH Ontario

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear LH
My reply to your email (received by me, on January 21), along with my sincerest apologies, was sent to you on January 23. My apology for the delay.

In that reply, I expressed my appreciation for you contacting us directly, thus allowing us the opportunity to assess and take immediate action. You stated in your email that... "I just wanted to let you know, as word gets around and it will hurt your business".... I couldn't agree more.
I, in turn, mentioned to you that if a guest has a complaint, it would be most beneficial, to all, if staff were advised of such immediately. The opportunity to deal with that complaint and see to our guests comfort is lost at check out.

Trip Advisor reviews/replies are normally processed then posted within a day or 2. I do hope that this apology will find its way to you speedily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    42
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
15
40
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed overnight at the Harbourfront Inn, and have to wonder whether the other reviewers actually stayed at the same hotel. While the staff were reasonably pleasant, they have a long way to go by way of improving their customer relations. The hotel is very dated, though fairly clean, and the rooms of a good size. However the mattress must have come from the Ark or, at best, from a fire sale. I'm sure that the floor would have been more comfortable. One very thin blanket was far from enough that night, since it had turned quite chilly and there was no way the room heater would work. Finally managed to coax an extra blanket. The bathroom was small, adequately clean and very old fashioned; although the water pressure and temperature were very good. Having direct access to my car was a convenience, although the weather stripping around the door must have been installed when the hotel was first built. It leaked wind and light like a sieve; a situation aggravated by the similarly poor insulation of the hallway door. Likewise the drapes did not properly fit the window and the room was flooded with outside lighting. Do they really need to have the place surrounded by searchlights, it's a hotel not a concentration camp! Or are they afraid that the inmates might escape without paying their bill? Throughout the night I was plagued by weird popping and creaking sounds which, I thought, could have been emanating from an ice maker. It got to the point that I ventured out into the hall to yank the plug on the thing, only to find that it was located way down the hall. Cable TV in all rooms, eh! Well, a decent size TV but with a tuner that barely worked. Free Wifi, another joke. Just try and get connected! Free continental breakfast; that's a really bad joke. One of the worse breakfast buffets I've ever come across, and to be taken in the pokiest and depressing breakfast rooms imaginable. The price for one night at the Harbourfront, in comparison to prices in London (Ontario) is way out of line. Will I return? What a daft question.

Room Tip: For a good room, go someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truereviewer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We are very disappointed that your stay with us was unsatisfactory and apologize for any inconvenience.
The majority of our reviewers have consistently mentioned our friendly and helpful staff, so with this in mind, it is essential that we examine the lapse in service. As it is a bit unclear as to which issues were immediately reported to the staff, and in turn, what solutions were proposed, it would be greatly appreciated, if, at your convenience you would contact me. The opportunity to discuss this in greater detail would be most helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sarnia hotels

Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions over the last 5 years, and the experience this year was very pleasant, as usual. The location on the river offers a closeup taste of the Seaway commerce - a large grain carrier was being loaded at the elevators next door, which we found interesting. Lots of restaurants close by, as well as the casino, and the Blue Water bridge park.
Breakfast is basic, but quite acceptable.Staff are friendly. The rooms are clean and quite spacious. We like the ground floor rooms "around the back", so that we have direct access to our car.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to the Harbourfront Inn. Repeat business, such as yours, is invaluable.

We truly appreciate your kind review. Your description of our "unique" location is perfect! Interesting views, parks, food and Casino...we are well placed and able to offer something for everyone.

Our objective is to continually provide the type of service that meets with our guest's satisfaction. With that in mind, a breakfast change is due and is in the discussion phase. Please bear with us while we work on that.

We look forward to your being our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kankakee, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We chose this place because of the location - we wanted to be able to walk along the waterfront and explore a little. We found it very pleasant. Some of the nearby park area was fenced off but there was still lots of walkway that led to downtown and a nice park area. Our favorite feature in the park was the scale model of the Great Lakes, complete with Niagara Falls.
As for the Inn itself, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank St0neAge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
It is very nice to know that you took full advantage of all aspects of our location. We are perfectly situated for all who enjoy walking and biking as well. So glad that you discovered the scale model of the Great Lakes!
We sincerely appreciate your comments and thank you for taking the time to post them. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Harbourfront Inn impressed us on several fronts. The staff was very friendly. Although the rooms are a little dated, the bed and pillows were clean and comfortable and the air conditioner worked well and wasn't too noisy. We found our room on the ground level to be very quiet. Overall the room was clean. We did, however, have a problem with the cleanliness of our bathtub; it was obvious that the housekeeping staff did not do a proper job there. We notified the front desk staff about this, and she was very apologetic took care of the problem right away and offered us a different room on the second floor at a reduced rate. Since we had already lugged in all our bags, and I was tired and didn't feel like moving upstairs, I offered to just give the tub a quick rinse and I'd be okay. She then offered a further reduced rate on our room, which satisfied both my husband and myself. We were both impressed with how the situation was handled. The Harbourfront Inn is not a luxury hotel, but it's more than adequate for a short stay, and you cannot beat the price.

Room Tip: No elevators, so ask for ground floor if you are unable to do stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We deeply regret that the bathtub in your room was not properly cleaned and offer you our sincerest apology. There are no excuses for this oversight. The situation has been discussed with the entire housekeeping staff. All have been reminded that extra effort and attention to detail must always apply and never more so than when cleaning a bathroom.

While we did falter on a very important aspect of service, we are very happy that you were impressed by our front desk customer service. Our representative's action reflects the commitment that we have to our guests comfort. As our guest, you are always our priority.

We look forward to being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were traveling to the US and wanted a close by hotel near the border and this hotel serves its purpose. The staff were nice and very helpful. The room was nice and clean, the bed was nice. Breakfast was standard, coffee/tea/fruit, cereal; nothing special. During our breakfast we met with a couple who filed for complaint to the hotel because they got a room with their outside door facing the restaurant next to the hotel, and they said there are a lot of wild cats (about 15) living near the garbage of the restaurant and that they can smell the urine and it's awful. We feel fortunate that we got a room at the back, so do request that when you make reservation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy_Pottinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
As you have pointed out, we are well positioned for those traveling to and from the US. Many guests have remarked on the convenience of being only minutes away from the Bluewater Bridge crossing. It please us to know that you were satisfied with our location and our service.

In reference to the complaint filed, about the cats in the adjacent property; the owners of that property, as well as City staff, have taken action to rectify the situation. Presently, it appears that they have been successful.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a long stay at the Harbourfront Inn while visiting a relative in hospital. The Harbourfront has a great location, the room was good and breakfast was fine for us. What really impressed us was how helpful and friendly the staff were as we dealt with a lot of uncertainty in our family situation. We would highly recommend the Harbourfront Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
It was our privilege to be of service to you during such a stressful time. The comfort and well being of our guests, has long been the "heart" of the Harbourfront Inn. Our helpful staff were pleased to extend, to you, any extra attention that you required. We hope that your family situation resolved itself in a positive manor and that you are able to visit us again soon, under happier circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarnia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Drawbridge Inn
Drawbridge Inn
#6 of 16 in Sarnia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Sarnia
Quality Inn Sarnia
#4 of 16 in Sarnia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 16 in Sarnia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbourfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbourfront Inn

Property: The Harbourfront Inn
Address: 505 Harbour Road, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 5R8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Harbourfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Harbourfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbourfront Hotel Sarnia
Harbourfront Hotel Sarnia
The Harbourfront Inn Sarnia, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing