We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aging hotel in need of overhaul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Location good just by the bridge between Canada and the USA. It has been there a very long time and showing its age despite some renovations having been made. Room was small and the AC unit was noisy. It was clean, but the carpets are stained throughout the hotel. Decor is tired. They include breakfast by giving you a certificate to use in the restaurant and we had an ok breakfast, but not very good if you like crisp bacon--ours was limp and undercooked--and good toast--ours was barely toasted and drenched in butter (margarine?) applied in the kitchen. I would choose to stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pesca7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denaSarnia, Manager at Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you for your honest feedback. You will be glad to hear we are, at the present time, we are refurnishing our guestrooms by adding new 42" TV's, AC units, pull out couches and continuing throughout the publice areas. Our Executive Chef is here to please all our guests, therefore, if you wish to have your bacon or toast extra crisp or made a particular way, please make our servers aware of this and it is always our pleasure to accommodate our guests needs.
We hope you come back soon to see all the new changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 384 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

The hotel is very strategically located near the bridge to USA and make a wonderful stopover location before entering the USA and a chance to enjoy my favorite restaurant in Sarnia. The staff are very customer oriented and friendly. The rooms and facilities are excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dallas3100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denaSarnia, Manager at Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you for responding and informing us of your enjoyable stay. Our staff was happy to hear you enjoyed their customer service as they work extreemly hard at treating all of our guests with that little extra care that will make a difference. We are also glad to hear you enjoyed Shelly's Restaurant 's service and food!
Come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Am currently as this hotel.
I will say the front desk staff is very accommodating but the pool area and hotel overall I feel needs a good cleaning.
We are in a ground floor room with door to outside and the carpets are dirty. You just don't get a overall clean feeling.
I walked next door to the competition to compare and have to say the rooms even in the two story section - not the Tower are much better. Even though I see on this site the complaints.
I was shown a second floor room with balcony and it is much nicer.
Now the west wing is still being renovated. But overall the hotel to me is much better. That's where I would stay


Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank aturtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denaSarnia, Manager at Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for your useful comments. I tried to review your stay information and we didn't have you as a registered guest. We value your opinion and if you would like to speak to us further, please contact us directly as it would be a pleasure to hear from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

stayed at this location with multiple family members. accommodated our request to stay near each other and placed us away from wedding partying. appreciated. pets welcomed. restaurant packed for breakfast -- would recommend eating elsewhere for this meal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denaSarnia, Manager at Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for your useful comments. I tried to review your stay information and we didn't have you as a registered guest. We value your opinion and if you would like to speak to us further, please contact us directly as it would be a pleasure to hear from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Spacious rooms, extremely comfortable bed, friendly, professional staff- can't go wrong staying here! Included breakfast choices got the day off to a great start. The restaurant staff were friendly and prompt with their service...there was no waiting around to be seated or for the meals to be delivered! Great value!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Evelyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denaSarnia, Manager at Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you for your positive comments on our Best Western, Guildwood Inn. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our Shelly's Restaurant and the service that we provide!
We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I started travelling to Sarnia often and this location is at the top of pack, great value, good food and perfect location. I was really surprise, this location outperformed other more appealing hotel brands (including the facility next door).

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danzasCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denaSarnia, Manager at Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

We were happy you to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are so glad you had a wonderful time at our hotel and enjoyed what our property has to offer. We have been working hard at being top of mind when travelling to Sarnia so we appreciate such positive comments.
Thank you and we hope you can visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Everything from when we arrived to entering the room and checkout was a wonderful experience/ Room was very clean and was furnished with top of the line beds and bedding. The Television and programs & movies were not outdated and if we had more time would of liked to stay another night or two.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denaSarnia, Manager at Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback. We were so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!
Hope to see you visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarnia
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Sarnia
Quality Inn Sarnia
#3 of 16 in Sarnia
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 16 in Sarnia
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Harbourfront Inn and Suites
2.3 mi away
Best Western Port Huron/Hospitality Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn

Address: 1400 Venetian Blvd, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 7W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range: $107 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Guildwood Hotel Sarnia
Best Western Sarnia
Sarnia Best Western
Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn Sarnia, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing