We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
198 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Business trip”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Business trip with colleagues. Stayed at this hotel and held meetings in one of the conference rooms. Found staff to be extra helpful and very polite. So accommodating in fact that this was a very noticeable change from the norm!

Hotel has recently refreshed the interior with new modern furniture in reception as well as carpet and tiling. Modern updates as well noted in the bedrooms with new carpeting and accommodations. Loved the LG TV and a remote that actually works well! Beds looked so big and plush that they seemed to be bigger than queen sized. I liked the fact that there was tile in the entrance way of the bedroom including into the closet and bathroom. I am very picky about pillows and had brought my own however since there was a selection of 8 in the room to choose from I did not even have to use my pillow!

Had a beverage in Shelley's at the end of the evening. Sports bar type of place. Large TVs and would be great if you wanted to watch a game. I was told that it was an updated Smitty's.

My only concern about the hotel was the in-room heating. Found the old window unit hard to adjust to a temperature that was not too hot so I ended up turning it off before going to sleep and turning it back on again in the morning.

I would stay again. Good value, location and very accommodating staff!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 139 at back of hotel facing parking lot. Room was in quiet area at back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotgrl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    111
    45
    10
    8
See reviews for
76
102
21
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Our stay was awesome...we decided to stay here for a night on our way to Port Huron to do some shopping. Great location so close to the bridge. Our room was spotless, the bed was honestly more comfortable than mine at home! Shower was great. I was surprised that Smitty's was gone but not saddened. Shelley's is the new bar/restaurant. Beautifully decorated and food was great! No continental breakfast but you can walk to Tim Hortons! Front desk staff were very nice. Will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sironoush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

There isn't much to complain about this hotel. The pillows were slightly too big and hard to lie on. The walls are also too thin as I was woken up early every morning by door slams. So if you're a light sleeper, beware ;) Other than that, I had a pretty good stay with my friends. The rooms was very clean and modern. The washroom was also clean and the water pressure in the shower was strong. The staff is super friendly and they always had a smile on their face. The WIFI connection was fast and I had no problems surfing the internet. I recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizbonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The whole place looks a little "tired" but the room was spotless and the bed comfy. The price was very reasonable. Wouldn't be opposed to staying here again but would prefer a place that has a newer look and feel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The hotel is under a Reno but pass that it was a fine stay. The rooms were average and you can tell that it is a old hotel ever after the fave lift. The front staff are great and ready to help.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe9357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2011

A very nice hotel....due to full house was upgraded to a suite.....very clean and nicely appointed for the money. Shower pressure is awesome!!!!! Restaurant is presently undergoing renovations, so the dining room is presently a converted banquet room. Very good front desk staff, very informative and efficient with directions and maps. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollandman304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I am a seasoned salesperson who travels 3 weeks out of the month across Ontario and Manitoba. This Best Western ranks as one of the best I have stayed in at any price. It has the latest in panels (LCD's) on the wall for tv viewing and the latest in game technologies for the kids. Staff are extremely professional and courteous when it come to the costumers comforts and needs. Extremely clean and well appointed rooms. Their friendly attitude keeps me coming back whenever I am in Sarnia.
I should add I have visited many hotels in the USA, Japan, and Australia on business and pleasure and have not found a Best Western that has ever surpassed their standards .

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor facing the st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dametwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarnia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Sarnia
Quality Inn Sarnia
#3 of 16 in Sarnia
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 16 in Sarnia
88 reviews
0.8 mi away
Drawbridge Inn
Drawbridge Inn
#6 of 16 in Sarnia
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Harbourfront Inn
The Harbourfront Inn
#7 of 16 in Sarnia
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn
Address: 1400 Venetian Blvd, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 7W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Guildwood Hotel Sarnia
Best Western Sarnia
Sarnia Best Western
Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn Sarnia, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing