We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and below average quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed here for 4 days for business, and while the hotel lobby, hallways, conference rooms and pool/fitness centers were great the rooms were not as nice. The room was well kept, relatively clean. But the bathroom was dated, old and dirty. Mildew and mold was in the shower and around the sink. The desk had chips out of it and the microwave was not the cleanest. The room was not worth the price i paid.

That said, the staff were friendly and helpful, but i will not be staying here again unless there is no other choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Hi Matt,
I am so sorry that you had to deal with such poor bathroom condition and was very surprised and disappointed to read about it. I have taken room out of inventory until we investigate and rectify the issue. Although I was pleased to see that you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay including the service from the staff, it does not negate the fact of the issue above. Please contact me at geisenbraun@fortisproperties.com or (519) 336 8840 so I can make this right. After our discussion, I sincerely hope that, by your own choice, we have the opportunity to serve you again.

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 364 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very nice. Well equipped. Full service restaurant was excellent with kids eating free. Very good food. Rooms are comfortable with great beds. Security went a little too far with there rules. Wouldn't let us in the halls. Wouldn't let us keep our doors open even though we were sitting or standing right in front of them. The security seemed on Saturday night like they were looking for a fight with some calm parents. Not impressed. The Friday older gentleman was just that. Was kind and polite and seen that we were calm so left us in the halls.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank JulieR0bin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

As a hotel that serves many types of guests, I was pleased to read that you as a hockey family found our hotel and amenities met all of your needs. I am sorry that you found that the approach of the security guard on the one evening was too "agrressive". However, we do have strict in house team policies in place that ensures all of our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Thanks for the feedback and good luck to you and your team in future tournaments!

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in September. Arrived around 4pm, check in was smooth and the staff were very friendly. Went to get our bags from the car and entered through one of the side doors and saw probably one of the nastiest hallways ever, very dirty and full of cobwebs. Our first night we were in the older part of the hotel and the room looked clean enough aside from the seriously old dingy carpets. Unfortunately the room had some sort of a chemical smell to it.. very sulfur-like. Next morning after sneezing all night from what I can only assume was my dust allergies acting up, I called reception and asked to be moved to a newer room. No problem they moved me to a newer room on the other side of the building...my allergies were better but this room also had the harsh chemical smell. Didn't get a chance to check out the pool but heard it was ok. One thing to mention if your planning on having a social event at this hotel, food is mediocre at best. I would probably have it catered if possible.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here make sure you're in the new wing.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I would like to sincerely apologize for the issues that you brought to our attention in your review. As cleanliness is extremely important to us, I was very disappointed to see that our entrance ways were not close to our standards at all. I have since walked all of the entrances with the Director of Housekeeping to ensure this will not happen again. I would like to assure all of our guests that our cleaning products are completely safe and environmentally friendly and have a fresh light scent. I was pleased to see you had a great check in and that you enjoyed the genuine hospitality of our staff. It would be our pleasure to serve you again!

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for four nights for business purposes. The lobby is nice and check in was quick and easy. I must say I was disappointed and I am a gold elite priority club member. My room was in the older section of the hotel. Apparently the newer rooms are in the tower and I am not sure what you have to do to secure one there,but ask when booking. The first room I was assigned to had a foul odour and I could not stay there. I had a co-worker and a staff member come and check it out and they agreed. My next room was better but not by much. The room was very musty and damp smelling. I opened the patio door each day to try to air it out. Too bad there was not a screen door on it to keep the bugs out. The bathroom was very tiny and the door almost hit the toilet when you closed it. I am not sure where your legs are supposed to go?? There was a microwave sitting on the vanity counter top outside the bathroom, so it kind of defeated the purpose of providing an extra space to get ready in the morning since the bathroom was so small. My room was "cleaned" every day. When I arrived there was a long dark hair, coffee grounds, and a stir stick on the counter around the front and side of the microwave. It was still there when I left 4 days later. The pool area and gym were nice. The waterfront is close by as the hotel is located beside the Bluewater Bridge. It is a nice place to go for a walk in good weather conditions. Avoid the hotel restaurant as it is very overpriced and the food was only fair. Breakfast is not included, which I think is ridiculous. Everyone in our meeting room complained about the temperature as it was very cold. The hotel staff were unable to fix this problem the entire four days. The management of this hotel has lots of work to do to say the least. I recently stayed at a hotel in another city for much less money, a nicer, cleaner room, and hot breakfast included in the morning. No comparison!

Room Tip: insist on a room in the tower
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milkdud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Milkdud - Thank you for giving such an honest and detailed account of your stay with us. As an IHG Rewards Gold Club member, I appreciate you staying with us.I am very sorry that you had such a poor experience with us and that you had multiple issues over the 4 days with us. This is not representative of this hotel from a product or service standpoint

At your convenience, please contact me at geisenbraun@fortisproperties.com or you can call me at 519 336 8840. I would like to discuss each of these issues with you so that I can better understand them and make it right! I appreciate you giving me the chance to respond to your concerns and hope to hear from you soon.

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I recently attended a kids sleepover birthday party at the Holiday Inn on Venetian Blvd. in Sarnia. Kids and parents had reserved 2 adjoining rooms for party. 8 kids in all attended with 4 staying over night. They had a great time in the swimming pool, exercise room and hot tub. The rooms were spacious with 2 bathrooms for changing. They did crafts in the room, played games and opened presents. In the restaurant the children's menu was more than adequate for these young ones. Some complimentary kids meals if adults ordered an entrée. Adult meals were delicious. After dinner we went back to the room for cake and were supplied ice cream by the waitress. Great place for a party. Kids were all happy and Mom had no mess at home to clean up.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GramMabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

It sounds like a FANTASTIC party and that everyone really enjoyed themselves.....which is the whole idea when celebrating with family and friends!! As we just did a complete renovation (+$300,000) of the Indoor Pool, Change Rooms and Fitness Centre within the last year, I was pleased to see that you all enjoyed the new facilities. As we invented "Kids Eat Free", childrens birthday celebrations are a perfect time to take advantage of this program. Wonderful to hear that everyone thought it was a "great place for a party" and that all of the adults loved their meals.
Thanks for sharing!!

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Don't you hate it when you must stand over the toilet to close the bathroom door??? I certainly do when using a public toilet but I never imagined that I would have to do the same while using a hotel bathroom!!! Clean, nice salt water pool. Our room actually overlooked the back grassed property - much nicer than a typical parking lot. Otherwise, the hotel is Holiday Inn average. Slamming outdoor doors could be heard throughout our visit.
Very close to the US border, the casino and the Sarnia Yacht Club.

Friendly helpful staff, nice breakfast (at additional cost).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Nese,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Check in was very sufficient and fast. Did not get the room in the tower, that was promised. Stayed at the 2 story side of the hotel and we could hear the party, that was going on in the hotel still late into the night. The room was ok, the bathroom really small. Bedding and mattress were good. We enjoyed the Bridges Bistro for Breakfast, it has a nice view towards the golf course. Lobby modern and big, but the rooms need updating.

Room Tip: Try to book a room in the new tower.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mexx_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Mexx_10,

Thank you for your candid review. Your willingness to spare some of your time to review our hotel is genuinely appreciated. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarnia
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Sarnia
Quality Inn Sarnia
#3 of 16 in Sarnia
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 16 in Sarnia
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Harbourfront Inn
The Harbourfront Inn
#7 of 16 in Sarnia
99 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center

Address: 1498 Venetian Blvd, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 7W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range: $98 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel In Sarnia Offers Quality Service With beautiful views of the marina and the comforts of home, you can expect a relaxing stay at the Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel and Conference Center in Point Edward, ON. Our hotel's convenient location is 10 km from Sarnia Chris Hadfield Airport (YZR). From the Point Edward Charity Casino to Centennial Park, numerous attractions surround our hotel's guests. In Sarnia, you can visit the Sarnia Sports & Entertainment Center, see a show at the Imperial Theatre or shop at Lambton Mall. Golfers can enjoy a game at our own 9-hole Holiday Inn Golf Course or one of the many greens throughout Sarnia. Lodging here is also beneficial for business travelers working with Aamjiwnaang First Nations, Ontario Power Generation, UWO Research Park, Chemical Valley, the Canadian Coast Guard and more. Our hotel's amenities include over 12,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, business suites and a 24-hour business centre to meet your corporate needs. We go beyond other hotels in Sarnia to bring you the comforts of home, such as the on-site Bridges Bistro and Freightor's Lounge, an indoor and an outdoor pool, a hot tub, a sauna and a fitness centre. Our Sarnia hotel's rooms feature work areas with free high-speed Internet access, large TVs, spacious layouts and beautiful views. We are also 4 Green Keys - Environmentally! You'll enjoy a comfortable stay at the Holiday Inn hotel- Sarnia.Local pictures courtesy of TSL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Sarnia
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel And Conf Center
Sarnia Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing