We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocked to find out this is considered to be the best hotel in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shocked to find out this is considered to be the best hotel in town”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I recently travelled to Sarnia for business. Everyone had told us that the Holiday Inn was the best hotel in town. Upon arriving at the hotel we were given rooms in the old part of the building. The room smelled like smoke, there was a dirty wash cloth hanging in the shower, there was a half used bottle of shampoo in the shower, the tissue box was empty, the tub was dirty, and the shower curtain was held together by safety pins. When we called down to the desk they said that there was nothing else available and that there rooms were "just old" and there was nothing they could do. The staff did not seem to care that our rooms were disgusting. On the second night, we were able to move to the new wing. The new wing is what is shown in all of the pictures. These rooms are what you expect a Holiday Inn to have. They were clean and spacious. On the third night of our stay, they were going to move us back into the old wing of the hotel. We ended up leaving the hotel rather than spend another night there.

To be honest, I'm not sure how they call sell the old rooms and call themselves a Holiday Inn. The old rooms are terrible. If you can not get into the new wing of the hotel you are better off staying at one of the other hotels in town. They call the new wing "The Tower".

I was disappointed with the quality of the hotel and the lack of response from the staff.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in the old wing. Make sure to get a room in the TOWER.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Amanda S.,
I am very sorry to read that you had such a poor experience at our hotel. To be frank, I was very surprised to read of these issues and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay with you personally. As you mention, our hotel does offer a variety of room types, all of which have been renovated within the last 5 years. We have strict cleaning protocal for all of our rooms, to ensure all of our guests consistantly have a clean and comfortable room. It is unfortunate that your experience was not of this nature. I look forward to having an opportunity to resolve this issue with you.

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
519-336-8840
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    146
    69
    21
    23
See reviews for
97
64
18
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton Twp., MI
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very courteous front desk. ovely room with TONS of pillows on the beds. Fridge was very helpful. Bathroom larger than the usual hotel bathroom. Very satisfied. Has free wireless in the room. THe complimentry toiletries had a terrible scent but luckily I always take my own shampoo and lotion.

Room Tip: We had an upgrade to the tower because we used our Priority card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noelbuckley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I appreciate you sharing some of the details of your stay with us at our hotel. I was happy to see that you had a comfortable stay and that you found the employees both friendly and helpful. As for the amenties that we provide in each of our guest rooms, they are from "Bath and Body Works" and are a brand standard for all Holiday Inns. I was sorry to read that the scent (Coconut Lime) wasn't to your liking but glad you found a work-around as you brought your shampoo. Always good to have a "back-up plan" when travelling! Take care in your travels and we will see you again soon.

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Best place to stay in Sarnia. The night I arrived, the hotel was nearly full and a room in the tower wasn't available. Otherwise check-in was quick and friendly.

The room was clean, spacious and it came with complimentary wifi. Which is always a big plus for me.

The following day, I moved into the tower room. More modern room, with a huge single bed and a bigger bathroom. Flat screen tv with a good choice of channels.

All the staff here are very friendly and helpful.

Landline telephone allows for local free calls. Great when needing to call for taxi or food delivery.

Try the food from the bar/lounge in the hotel, I think it's called Friegther! They got great burgers! The lamb burger is really tasty, as is the jalapeno burger! Really filling!

Room Tip: Request a room in the tower. The newly constructed tower is newer, therefore the rooms are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whileitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
....and we are very glad that you do!

As a seasoned traveller (36 cities) who takes the time to share his personal experiences (139 reviews) with others, I wanted thank you for giving us your feedback on your stay with us. A unique review for sure as your were able to experience two rooms types during the one stay due to our high business levels. I was pleased to see that you found both rooms clean and comfortable and that the service throughout your stay was friendly and helpful. I also see that you sampled a few of our great homemade burgers (made with Bluewater Beef) in Freighters. These are just two of many new delicious items found on the new menus in both Freighters and in our restaurant called Bridges. It was nice to have you back again. See you next time!

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hotel is an older one, but very well maintained. It is also quiet, despite being very close to Highway 402 and the Bluewater Bridge. Above all else, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The bathroom was clean and the room they gave me was relatively large. Very comfortable beds, too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unitedfarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thanks for sharing your experience and I was happy to see that you found "good value" for your money when you stayed with us. A genuine smile, a clean experience and a good nights sleep are a few of the key touchpoints of our hotel culture. I am proud and very appreciative of the hard work that all of the employees give each day. They truly try to make it happen for all of our guests. I will be sure to share your specific comments with the room attendants and the maintenance team as they are such a big part of the success of the hotel! Thanks for the recommendation and we hope to be of service again in the near future.

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We overnighted at this place and prebooked it, if we hadn't prebooked it I would have checked out the other hotels because it isn't worth the money spent here. The building is older and shows its age, some areas of the hotel is being renovated so some ceiling tiles removed and or equipment left out. If you are in the west wing and need the business centre, be redy for a walk to locate it on the other side of the hotel. The rooms are a bit noisey from the sound of other rooms air conditioning units going off, not loud enough to keep you awake, but noticeable when sitting in your room.
Our room was equipped with a small TV that we found had bad quality viewing and sound. The beds are comfortable, but thin bed spreads, the bathroom was showing its age and the towels are not the norm for towels you might find in other Holiday Inn hotels.
The front desk girl was nice at check in and answered questions we had.
No breakfast with stay, but lots of location to dine outside of hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JustATravelGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
I was disappointed to see that you didn't find the value that you were looking for in a hotel but I do appreciate the time you took to let us know. As this is a bit of a disconnect from some of the other reviews, I would like to have the opportunity to discuss some of your concerns directly with you. At your convenience, please contact me at geisenbraun@fortisproperties.com or on my direct line at (519) 336-8840. As I do believe that feedback is a privilege, thank you for giving us the chance to address and I look forward to connecting with you.

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We only slept here for a few hours, but the front desk attendant was very pleasant, even at 2 am. The rooms we had was in the tower and it was very spacious. We received a $5 coupon for the restaurant because we were priority club members. We could see the USA/Canada bridge from our room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSCTravelAgentKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Although your stay was short and sweet, I am glad that our service and guestroom met all of your needs. Hope to see you again soon.

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, IL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

As Priority Club members, we were upgraded to the tower area. The non-tower area rooms look a bit worn. The hotel was sparklingly clean and comfortable. The size of the room was excellent.
We ate lunch at the hotel restaurant and had an excellent smoked fish chowder. The hamburger made from locally raised beef was excellent as well. The small par 3 golf course outside made a very nice view. It was nice to have a $5.00 off coupon for the restaurant since it's not cheap. The waitress/hostess was pleasant. The manager should note that the wooden window treatments were very dusty and worn. They need to be replaced. We actually moved to another table because the sight of them was unappetizing.
Our room faced the highway and was surprising quiet, since there were so many 18 wheeler trucks entering Canada.
We opted to eat breakfast after we crossed into the US instead of eating breakfast at the hotel. A Time Hortons is a better value.
I really liked the option of having an in-room printer service on the hotel's Wi-Fi network.
For business, this is a great hotel. Site-seeing within walking distance seemed limited.

Room Tip: Stay in the Tower section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Nice to hear from you Ian! You provided an incredibly detailed account of your experience with us. As an Operator, this information is very valuable in helping us continue to improve. To pick up on a few of your key points, we are fortunate to have such a talented Chef (and Kitchen Team) who believe in using local, fresh ingredients. We have addressed the condition of the wooden blinds and thank you for noting this oversight on our part. Our complimentary Wi-Fi network and in-room printer service ("Print-Me") is available 24 hours to all of our guests. I am glad that you found it both useful and productive. All in all Ian, it sounds like you had a great stay. Thanks for sharing.

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarnia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Sarnia
Quality Inn Sarnia
#3 of 16 in Sarnia
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 16 in Sarnia
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbourfront Inn
The Harbourfront Inn
#7 of 16 in Sarnia
92 reviews
1.0 mi away
Drawbridge Inn
Drawbridge Inn
#6 of 16 in Sarnia
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center

Property: Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
Address: 1498 Venetian Blvd, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 7W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel In Sarnia Offers Quality Service With beautiful views of the marina and the comforts of home, you can expect a relaxing stay at the Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel and Conference Center in Point Edward, ON. Our hotel's convenient location is 10 km from Sarnia Chris Hadfield Airport (YZR). From the Point Edward Charity Casino to Centennial Park, numerous attractions surround our hotel's guests. In Sarnia, you can visit the Sarnia Sports & Entertainment Center, see a show at the Imperial Theatre or shop at Lambton Mall. Golfers can enjoy a game at our own 9-hole Holiday Inn Golf Course or one of the many greens throughout Sarnia. Lodging here is also beneficial for business travelers working with Aamjiwnaang First Nations, Ontario Power Generation, UWO Research Park, Chemical Valley, the Canadian Coast Guard and more. Our hotel's amenities include over 12,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, business suites and a 24-hour business centre to meet your corporate needs. We go beyond other hotels in Sarnia to bring you the comforts of home, such as the on-site Bridges Bistro and Freightor's Lounge, an indoor and an outdoor pool, a hot tub, a sauna and a fitness centre. Our Sarnia hotel's rooms feature work areas with free high-speed Internet access, large TVs, spacious layouts and beautiful views. We are also 4 Green Keys - Environmentally! You'll enjoy a comfortable stay at the Holiday Inn hotel- Sarnia.Local pictures courtesy of TSL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Sarnia
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel And Conf Center
Sarnia Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing