We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We could not have made a better choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Landing Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Queenston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Landing Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Queenston
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We could not have made a better choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I both felt we could not have made a better choice for our accommodations at NOTL. Our main purpose of this trip was for biking, and the South Landing is right on the bike trail. The Owners of the Inn were more than happy to help us with tips on where to dine, directions and local sites. The South Landing is located in a quiet, residential area but is a short drive to NOTL and the Falls. Our room was very clean and the bathroom in particular was very roomy. The breakfasts were excellent, the owners prepare it right there. The french toast is served with home-made jams. There is much to do and see in this area. I look forward to a return visit and would not consider staying anywhere other than the South Landing Inn. After researchng other hotel options, I don't think there is a better value to be had. The fact that the Owners are lovely, accommodating people made it so much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuannT52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    28
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while attending productions at the Shaw Festival in Niagara on the Lake. The hotel is a hidden gem! It is in a lovely, quiet setting with attractive, well-appointed rooms. The rate at $95 per night was less than half the price at hotels in Niagara on the Lake and it's only a pleasant 15 - 20 minute drive to the Shaw Festival theater. It's also close to the Butterfly Conservatory and a short drive to attractions at the FallsThey also offer a great $5.00 breakfast in a charming dining space. You won't find a better value or friendlier service in the Niagara region.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jillo131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We chose this place as a lower cost alternative to the hotels in Niagara on the Lake. We were very pleassntly surprised to find a very nice, clean, well- appointed establishment. It can is convenient to the Shaw festival, the various attractions along the shore, and the falls themselves. The made to order breakfast for $5.00 is an added bonus. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wittj155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great location, clean, friendly service and close to everything. Good value for your money.We stayed there 3 nights. Good breakfast available at a good price. We would consider staying there again since it was easy to get everywhere from this location.
.

Room Tip: There are end rooms with tables to sit out if you like to enjoy the sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed two nights here after Labor Day in 2010 and again in 2011 and in 2012. In 2011 and 2012 we stayed in the Annex. Our annex second floor room was quieter than the ground floor which can experience footfall noise from above. Two of our Fall visits coincided with a gathering of cyclists who were very early risers, and we heard their conversations outside our room. The July visit was very quiet and peaceful. The inn is a 15-20 minute drive from the center of NOTL, but the cost saving is worth it to us. The owners are most gracious and responsive.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell, all the rooms are good to excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at South Landing Inn for two nights and it was exactly what we expected.
The owners and their adult son run the place and do an excellent job of it. The breakfast is wonderful and there is good reason they are "famous" for their french toast and home-made jams!
The room was like staying at your grandparents' house, decorated from years ago but comfortable and clean and ideal for a bed and breakfast. Location is quiet and close to everything. Walking trails, bike trails, vineyards, Niagara-on-the-Lake, all within close distance. We even ventured across the border for lunch in New York one day.

We absolutely loved staying here and would stay again in a minute. Can't say enough wonderful things. Price is very reasonable, as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in the old house on the second floor and had access to a lovely balcony. Very happy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Charming, friendly, helpful folks run this gracious heritage hotel at the foot of Queenston Heights. We came to watch the 200th anniversary re-enactment of one of the key battles of the War of 1812 and staying in this location meant we could manage the crowds and walk everywhere. Our room in the original building was cosy and well appointed with a gorgeous view of the Niagara River. A delicious modestly priced breakfast was offered every morning in a dining room that felt like home. We loved staying here and will definitely come back. The kind of place you want to bring your elderly parents for a treat.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the original building with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BerHar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenston
6.4 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
6.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
6.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
5.3 mi away
Riverbend Inn and Vineyard
Riverbend Inn and Vineyard
#12 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
6.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Landing Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Landing Inn

Property: South Landing Inn
Address: 21 Front Street South | PO Box 269, Queenston, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake > Queenston
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Queenston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Landing Inn, circa 1827, features the quiet, unspoiled charm of a country inn situated in the quaint, historical village of Queenston.Nestled in one of Canada's most popular tourist destinations we are surrounded by history, only minutes from the world renowned Shaw Festival Theatre, fine and casual dining, music, vineyards and wine tours in Niagara-on-the-Lake.Sightseeing and historic sites abound in Queenston and along the Niagara River Parkway.A leisurely drive in the other direction on the Parkway takes you to Niagara Falls and all its breathtaking beauty, excitement and fun activities.If you are interested in more physical activities, you will find fishing, boating, golfing and just steps away, the extensive Niagara Parkway's bicycle / walking / nature trail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
South Landing Hotel Queenston
South Landing Inn Queenston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing