We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Experience”
Review of South Landing Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
South Landing Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Queenston
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Experience”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed several weekdays in the South Landing Inn. The couple has been managing the inn for thirty years though the a new large building was added in 1987. We stayed in the front upstairs balcony room in the new building and when I found out that the building was 25 years old I was very surprised because I thought it was absolutely brand new. The room was really delightful with a queen poster bed. The mattress itself, which is always the most important aspect of a room to me, was very comfortable and I weigh about 245 pounds. I found the room to be a good size with a nice dresser with room enough for our clothes along with a closet for hanging things. The bathroom was clean and had shelves with enough room for our toiletries. Overall I very much liked the decorating, feminine but with masculine aspects in the wood of the poster bed and natural wood ceiling. The room has a gas burning fireplace in the wall but since it was summer we only used the air conditioning. There is a ceiling fan over the canopy bed which was nice for circulating the air especially while sleeping. The balcony has views of the river and seating for four and a coffee table. Honestly I would have really enjoyed spending more time out there but we usually wound up going to dinner late after busy days.

Breakfast is served between 7:30 AM and 11 AM. It is made when you order it and it is not the crumby breakfasts that you get in most motels. It is simple but fresh and tasty. It is home cooking. The breakfast consists of either French toast or scrambled eggs with toast. For $5 you also get juice and coffee. Each table has a tray with the a little pitcher of milk, sugar, maple syrup, cinnamon and peach and cherry- raspberry jams that are homemade by the owners, Both are absolutely delicious.

I would view our stay as a combination between a bed and breakfast and a motel. The inn keepers are of German descent and probably in their 70's. They were very responsive to our needs. One morning there was a problem with the internet connection and the own had someone there to fix it within a couple of hours. They were also very considerate about our late check out. Overall they are charming, delightful people and I'd enjoy having them as friends though I am 25 years younger.

If you are expecting corporate efficiency, a rule for everything and precise computer driven reservations then this is not the place for you. This is an inn that is what you may have expected 30 or 40 years ago, a true mom and pop operation. But the friendly, open ways of the owners rub off on the guests and we found ourselves talking to the other guests and even the staff, something that would never happen in a typical chain motel.

We also felt that the accommodations were an outstanding value in the area and at the peak of the tourist season and the Shaw Festival. The one negative that has been mentioned in other reviews was a slight mustiness in the room. We left the air running in the room after we first got in and neither my fiance or I was troubled by it and I have a very sensitive nose. The pluses far outweigh this one issue in my opinion.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are worth the extra $30 especially with the view of the river on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    28
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I grew up in Niagara, and was looking forward to a stay in Queenston; I've always known it to be a charming, quaint village, located between Niagara on the Lake and Niagara Falls. I booked a night for us at South Landing Inn, just so we could get away from the kids for a weekend. The desk and staff were friendly enough, and had even turned on our 'fireplace' before we arrived. The room, however, was a shocking disappointment. It was dark, dismal, and filled with musty, cheap antiques. The fireplace was not what I expected either: it was a cheap insert - more like a decorative space heater than a proper fireplace. The TV was ancient, the amenities were cheap (a plastic bottle someone had labeled 'Shampoo'), and the bed looked so frightening, neither one of us wanted to turn down the sheets, much less climb in to it. The room was lit by one dreary light, and the whole room had a Norman Bates feel. Fortunately, we won enough at the casino to find another hotel in Niagara Falls, and quickly took the advantage to check out of South Landing. There's NO WAY I would've climbed into that bed!! Do yourself a favour (and this is from a local boy!): stay in Niagara on the Lake, Pillar and Post, Queens Landing, Oban Inn, or Prince of Wales. Look for one of the many splendid B&Bs in the area - there are hundreds - or find a quality hotel in Niagara Falls. Just stay away from anything called an Inn. Including South Landing.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We were interested in a clean, inexpensive room, convenient to both Niagara on the Lake and Niagara Falls. South Landing Inn meets those criteria. Accommodations are very basic, and the meager decorations reminded us of places we have stayed in out of the way places Germany. Sure enough, the pleasant innkeeper is as post-World War II ethnic German émigré. Breakfast is an additional $5/person. Like the accommodations, very basic. You'd pay more but eat much better at a Starbucks of Tim Horton's.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonirose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We had reserved the 2 Q + Sofabed room for 2 nights because we were 3 girls but when we cancelled 1 night they would not allow us to have that room and put us in a 2Q room and charged us the same amount. They have a quaint B & B across the street but their motel is nothing to write home about. The room was clean but the smell of disinfectant was very strong. The beds were hard and the pillows small. Whatever they wash their linens in made me nauseated. I had to dose myself with perfume in order to fall asleep. They offer no toiletries. They had a bottle of dark blue shampoo in the shower which they refill. Although we paid for the extra person, there was only 1 hand towel and 2 facecloths. The room was small and dark and not much reception on the TV. The A/C was nice and strong. Across the street at the B & B you can get a decent $5.00 breakfast. The Inn is about a 10 minute drive to downtown Niagara-on-the-lake and considering the prices for the B &B's right downtown what we paid for the hotel was reasonable ($135) but I would only stay there again if nothing else was available.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ShirleeGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed one night at this pleasant inn, we were an "overflow" from the Best Western Hotel in Niagara on the Lake (NOTL,) which is just a short distance away. It is situated in a small village called Queenston off the main road in a very quiet part of Ontario. However the Niagara Falls are just a short drive away but do not affect the place at all. Queenston is an historic part of Canada and seems to be very pro British. The Inn is sort walk down to the Niagara river across which is the United States of America. The border by car is about one mile away.

We arrived very early at about 10 o'clock in the morning a were very pleased that our room for the evening was ready for us. It was a beautiful room in the old part of the Inn, scrupulously clean, beautifully furnished overlooking the gardens at the rear of the building. There was a large king size bed masses of drawers and a substantial cupboard for hanging clothes up. The price of the room was CAN$125 per night, with a discount if you stay more than two nights.

There was no tea or coffee facilities in the room, but you can buy a cup for CAN$1, which will be served in a proper mug and not in a throwaway cup. This was the cheapest we found in Canada by some considerable amount. Breakfast was served if you wished to buy it. We had fruit juice and two rounds of French Toast for $5 each, cheaper than Tim Hortons (a very good fast food chain throughout Canada) .

We found the owners to be very nice people indeed, always helpful with many good suggestions of where to go and what to do.

There are not many bars or restaurants in Queenston but NOTL is just a taxi ride away, and you could probably save more than that by stopping in Queeston rather than the up market higher price NOTL.

We really liked the South Landing Inn it was definitely a hidden gem.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We rented four rooms in this hotel. The hotel sits in the middle between Niagara Falls and Niagara on the lake...in a quielt little part of Queenston. The hotel is VERY WELL kept up...and very clean. Owners were very pleasant and helpful.
I would return here in future.
The only thing that I will comment on is the mustiness of the carpets when you first go into the rooms. I ran the airconditioner for a few hours and that alleviated the problem for me. However my brother found the smell did not go away... he described it as smelling like a bulldog!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnM453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2011

I was pleasantly pleased with quaintness of South Landing Inn and surrounding area.
We have been looking for a getaway retreat for some time,close to Niagara On The Lake and Niagara Falls. Annex building was very comfortable with nice mantle fireplace.
We particularly enjoyed the quite room,as we were informed the Annex building was recently renovated.
We are already planning our next getaway weekend in the summer at South Landing Inn.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller00738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenston
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,281 reviews
6.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,456 reviews
6.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,957 reviews
6.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
461 reviews
6.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Landing Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Landing Inn

Property: South Landing Inn
Address: 21 Front Street South | PO Box 269, Queenston, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake > Queenston
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Queenston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Landing Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Landing Inn, circa 1827, features the quiet, unspoiled charm of a country inn situated in the quaint, historical village of Queenston.Nestled in one of Canada's most popular tourist destinations we are surrounded by history, only minutes from the world renowned Shaw Festival Theatre, fine and casual dining, music, vineyards and wine tours in Niagara-on-the-Lake.Sightseeing and historic sites abound in Queenston and along the Niagara River Parkway.A leisurely drive in the other direction on the Parkway takes you to Niagara Falls and all its breathtaking beauty, excitement and fun activities.If you are interested in more physical activities, you will find fishing, boating, golfing and just steps away, the extensive Niagara Parkway's bicycle / walking / nature trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your South Landing Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Landing Hotel Queenston
South Landing Inn Queenston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing