We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem.”
Review of South Landing Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
South Landing Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Queenston
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed one night at this pleasant inn, we were an "overflow" from the Best Western Hotel in Niagara on the Lake (NOTL,) which is just a short distance away. It is situated in a small village called Queenston off the main road in a very quiet part of Ontario. However the Niagara Falls are just a short drive away but do not affect the place at all. Queenston is an historic part of Canada and seems to be very pro British. The Inn is sort walk down to the Niagara river across which is the United States of America. The border by car is about one mile away.

We arrived very early at about 10 o'clock in the morning a were very pleased that our room for the evening was ready for us. It was a beautiful room in the old part of the Inn, scrupulously clean, beautifully furnished overlooking the gardens at the rear of the building. There was a large king size bed masses of drawers and a substantial cupboard for hanging clothes up. The price of the room was CAN$125 per night, with a discount if you stay more than two nights.

There was no tea or coffee facilities in the room, but you can buy a cup for CAN$1, which will be served in a proper mug and not in a throwaway cup. This was the cheapest we found in Canada by some considerable amount. Breakfast was served if you wished to buy it. We had fruit juice and two rounds of French Toast for $5 each, cheaper than Tim Hortons (a very good fast food chain throughout Canada) .

We found the owners to be very nice people indeed, always helpful with many good suggestions of where to go and what to do.

There are not many bars or restaurants in Queenston but NOTL is just a taxi ride away, and you could probably save more than that by stopping in Queeston rather than the up market higher price NOTL.

We really liked the South Landing Inn it was definitely a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 83 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2011

We rented four rooms in this hotel. The hotel sits in the middle between Niagara Falls and Niagara on the lake...in a quielt little part of Queenston. The hotel is VERY WELL kept up...and very clean. Owners were very pleasant and helpful.
I would return here in future.
The only thing that I will comment on is the mustiness of the carpets when you first go into the rooms. I ran the airconditioner for a few hours and that alleviated the problem for me. However my brother found the smell did not go away... he described it as smelling like a bulldog!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnM453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

I was pleasantly pleased with quaintness of South Landing Inn and surrounding area.
We have been looking for a getaway retreat for some time,close to Niagara On The Lake and Niagara Falls. Annex building was very comfortable with nice mantle fireplace.
We particularly enjoyed the quite room,as we were informed the Annex building was recently renovated.
We are already planning our next getaway weekend in the summer at South Landing Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldtraveller00738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed two nights in an exceedingly pleasant and comfortable two-bed room on the second floor of the old/original building. The only caveat was that we heard some sounds from the neighboring rooms and from footfalls above. Because the clientele when we were there was all adult (mostly over 30), there were no loud noises. The surrounding area is lovely and quiet, and inviting for walks. We chose to go into NOTL for breakfasts and lunches rather than eat in the hotel's modest dining room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

lovely place, quiet, clean, nice owners, not fancy but great value, away from NOTL frenzy...highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strive49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

The place was clean. The place was quaint. BUT, it smelled incredibly musty/moldy. VERY BAD smell. We had cocktails outside. We slept with the fan on, candle going and windows wide open because the mold smell was brutal. The owners were very nice. They were so nice I hesitate to go on about the smell. But trust me; it was BAD. It is about half the price of NOTL. If I had to do it again, I would pay twice the price to not smell the mold.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmoscati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

This Inn was not favoured very highly amongst our group who stayed here during Thanksgiving weekend. We chose this Inn as it looked quaint and off the beaten track. We regularly travel as a group and stay at Inns, and hotels throughout Ontario.
Our dissappointment began when we arrived and we found that our booking had been ill described. We booked for four persons and we were quoted $125 for the night. When we arrived we were told it would be a further $10 per person over the first two. They were impolite as to their mistake.
We were given a room in the overflow lodge across the road. These rooms did not have any ambience that maybe the main house would have offered. The rooms were very small, we had a double queen sized bed set up and there was no room to move. The fireplace was quirky and didn't work properly. There was an old style TV set, no radio or clock, a bottle of shampoo that had been continuosly used by other patrons, tiny bars of soap and no other offerings. One set of sheets showed an old stain on them, rather off putting.
The rooms proved to be very noisy as other patrons returned filled the rooms. You could hear toilets being flushed, feet walking over the floors, not at all pleasant.
A breakfast was offered in the main Inn for $5. It was used by the patrons as there is nothing else close by, unless one wants to drive a distance. However it was not at all worth the money, boring and bland offerings.
The one thing going for the Inn is the position it holds, a beautiful village, quiet and relaxed. One can leave the car and walk in several directions to different historical sites. The main Inn is historical, but we unfortunately didn't get the benefit of enjoying the ambience inside it.
Sorry, but we don't recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovethebestOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenston
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,379 reviews
6.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,746 reviews
6.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
492 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,070 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Landing Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Landing Inn

Address: 21 Front Street South | PO Box 269, Queenston, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake > Queenston
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Queenston
Price Range: $62 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Landing Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Landing Inn, circa 1827, features the quiet, unspoiled charm of a country inn situated in the quaint, historical village of Queenston.Nestled in one of Canada's most popular tourist destinations we are surrounded by history, only minutes from the world renowned Shaw Festival Theatre, fine and casual dining, music, vineyards and wine tours in Niagara-on-the-Lake.Sightseeing and historic sites abound in Queenston and along the Niagara River Parkway.A leisurely drive in the other direction on the Parkway takes you to Niagara Falls and all its breathtaking beauty, excitement and fun activities.If you are interested in more physical activities, you will find fishing, boating, golfing and just steps away, the extensive Niagara Parkway's bicycle / walking / nature trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your South Landing Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Landing Hotel Queenston
South Landing Inn Queenston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing