We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laura Secord Homestead

Laura Secord Homestead
Book In Advance
More Info
$114.68*
and up
Niagara Falls and Niagara-on-the-Lake Day Tour from Toronto
Ranked #4 of 8 things to do in Queenston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I love to take guests around the area and this days trip was great with at stop at many historical sites. The Laura Secord Homestead makes you feel like you have stepped back in time. The architecture is simple. The colours are soft. The air has an energy from times long past. I just really enjoyed myself there as I did all the historical places we visited in Queenston that day.

Helpful?
Thank Judai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    50
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Staff went out of their way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stopped by after regular tour hours, but Melissa opened the doors to us and assured us that we could tour the site on our own. As it happened, a tourguide was available and more than happy to show us through the house and answer our questions. We appreciated how we were accommodated. Thank you!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreasThiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
704 reviews
332 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Has Place Has Played Its Part In The War Of 1812”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stopped by this historic homestead for a quick tour and it certainly played its part in the War of 1812. Place is very small but what do you expected from a place to live from that period of time. Lot's of pieces of history within the house to get one an idea of what life was like during that time period. I was so impressed by the presentation by the tour guide that I wrote a nice e-mail to the Curator of this location. Nice museum plus gift shop as well. There was also a wedding going on in the chapel located on the property as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank b0b55russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“pretty place but not worth the trip”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We wanted to experience some of the War of 1812 history so we decided to stop here on a trip to Niagara. After winding our way into this place (and one U-turn later) what we thought was to be a homestead turns out to be a house. And a rather small house. It was interesting to see the staff dressed in period dress, but the house was disappointing. The only way to view it is to go through with a tour guide so you have to wait for a tour. Then you are led into the house only to be told the artifacts are NOT original to Laura Secord (but are from the period). Disappointing.

For two adults and one child it cost almost $30 for entry. It was not worth it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank davina_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Renovated visitor centre displays and enthusiastic guides enhance tour of homestead”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our week long holiday cycling the Greater Niagara Circle Tour route took us to lots of cool places, from the Welland Canal and its museum and visitor centres, to Port Colborne and Historic Fort Erie. By the time we got to the Laura Secord Homestead, we were pretty genned up on the history of the canal and war of 1812-14, as well as Laura Secord's famous journey to warn the British.

The tour of the homestead was well worth it in terms of providing further insight into the lives of the people - loyalists, soldiers, immigrants from the aftermath of the American Revolution and First Nations - who were so tragically affected by the war. The guides, in period costume, were informative and enthusiastic, as well as very entertaining.

We learned all about the history of Thomas Ingersoll, Laura's father, and already knew that he was not a United Empire Loyalist: he had fought for the patriots (Americans) during the revolution. We learned more about how the conditions of his Upper Canada (Ongtario) land grant, which lured him to Canada, were changed by the British, and how he lost control of what is now Ingersoll, Ontario. The requirement, for him to settle the land with 40 families had led him to run a tavern in Queenston, Ontario, partly as a means of recruiting settlers. This is where Laura met her husband, James Secord, and later brought him home from the battlefield of Queenston Heights, where he'd been shot twice!

Soooo - bottom line, is that the history of southern (southwestern) Ontario is actually a lot more politically complex and interesting than we are taught in school, and deserves to be paid a lot more attention. When I took Grade 13 History, a million years ago, I wish that I could have had access to this kind of enthusiastically delivered, accurate information. I am glad that times have changed. I can remember learning about the Family Compact and nearly being bored to death. The story of Laura Secord and her family is central to the European history of Ontario, and the fates of the First Nations were sealed during the war of 1812. Yet, most Ontarians are phenomenally ignorant of this basic history.

We have many places right on our doorstep where history is brought alive by knowledgeable guides. Teachers and parents - take note and sally forth!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ecologyprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laura Secord Homestead also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Laura Secord Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing