We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Food - won't be back”

Montana's Cookhouse
Ranked #125 of 321 Restaurants in Peterborough
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing Food - won't be back”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My wife and I went for dinner with two other couples on a Sunday night. Service was a bit slow, despite the friendliness of the waiter. Cutlery was missing, and some appetizers didn't arrive until the entres were ready. I normally like just about everything I eat, but I was vey disappointed in my steak - fatty and over-cooked for 'medium rare'. My wife was disappointed, too, in her wilted and withered salad. Another lady ordered roast chicken, and it was tasteless and over-cooked. Over-all, not a very good meal, especially for the price. Lots of other great restaurants in PTBO, so we won't be back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidLeR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    36
    28
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A darn good meal.”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Ok I get it...it's a chain restaurant, but still the servers are super friendly. The food was pretty darn tasty and the kids were happy to be drawing with the provided crayons on the table. My only negative would be that the kids meal they say go up to a 12 year old...well my 10 year old nephew ate his grilled cheese and very small small serving of fries and was still hungry...the kids portion could be bigger.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4ebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“b-day fun”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

the service was excellent and the food was on point, no one at the table had any complaints

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank aquamarinedragon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good times”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Went their with the family on a trip to Peterborough. The food was delicious. The family had a great a time. The food was hot and tasted good. Good value.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NDG2541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Look elsewhere”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Overpriced food out of a box. Mediocre service. Everything that's wrong with North American restaurant chains. Avoid.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana's Cookhouse also viewed

 

Been to Montana's Cookhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing